It would be inconsistent with the avowed purpose of this book to here enter into details of the settlement of Waupaca, or to review the progress of the place from the days of the pioneers in 1849 to the present time, though those details and the incidents of that development, well treated by a compiler worthy of his work, would constitute a valuable local history far more pretentious than the present little volume, the aim of which is merely to describe the city of the present; yet it is proper to recount a few of the more important facts, dates and incidents of the early times, and with that end in view recourse is had to the "History of Northern Wisconsin," published by the Western Historical Company in 1881, and presumably authentic:
AN INDIAN NAME.
The name "Waupaca" is derived from the Indian words "Wau-buck Seba," meaning "Tomorrow River," or "Pale Water," by which terms the Menominees designated the region now comprised in this county.
The first settlement in Waupaca county, of which Waupaca is the county seat and chief city, was made in 1848, while Wisconsin was yet a territory, and nine years before the region embracing the county was ceded to the state by the Menominee Indians. Alpheus Hicks is credited with being the first pioneer, having located at Fremont in 1843, and being, it is stated, the only permanent settler until 1848.
Our historian records that in July, 1849, when there were yet but few settlers in the county, and those confined to the eastern portion, principally near the mouth of the Little Wolf river, in the present town of Mukwa, E.C. Sessions, W.H. Hibbard and Joseph Hibbard penetrated the forests north ward from Plymouth, passed down Lake Winnebago, crossed the Wolf river above Mukwa, and discovered the "magnificent water-power and site" of the present city of Waupaca. Among the next settlers at this point were Dana Dewey, Captain David Scott, Judge S.F. Ware and W.B. Cooper, C. Dow, Col. Chandler and J.M. Vaughn locating about the same time between Waupaca and Weyauwega – all in 1849.
WAUPACA THE COUNTY SEAT.
The county seat was first established at Mukwa, in 1851, but on the 15th of April, 1853, the county board, by a vote of three to two, ordered
COUNTY COURT HOUSE
its removal to Waupaca. This change was not effected without determined opposition from the eastern section of the county, it being necessary to arrest James Smiley, the first register of deeds, for refusing to deliver to Waupaca the books of his office. As to the "right" of this place to the county seat at that time, and as to the methods of procedure which brought about the change, this book has nothing whatever to offer. It is noted, however, that at an election held in 1855 to decide the claims of Mukwa and Waupaca the latter won by a majority of 946, and that the project of removing the county seat from Waupaca to some more eastern or central point, while it has never lacked agitation to the extent prompted by the jealousy of less prosperous places, has never reached the people at the polls – nor is it likely to, considering the valuable county improvements that have been made here.
SOME FIRST THINGS.
The first entry of government land within the present limits of the city was made September 7, 1852.
Waupaca's first newspaper (also the first in the county) was the Waupaca Spirit, founded by Redfield Brothers in 1852. Having been published continuously till the present time, under different names and the ownership of various men, it is now the Waupaca County Republican, ably conducted by W.H. Holmes.
The first railway locomotive entered the city on the Wisconsin Central road September 28, 1872.
The first member of the state legislature from Waupaca was David Scott, who successfully contested a seat in the assembly with John B. Jacobs, of Menominee, in 1854.
E.L. Browne was the first state senator from this city or county, being elected in 1860.
Mary Hibbard, daughter of Joseph Hibbard, born at Waupaca May 25, 1850, was the first white child born in the county.
The year 1850 saw the advent of the first preacher, Rev. Silas Miller, a Methodist, whose circuit included Waupaca, Lind and Mukwa. His first sermon here was preached at the house of J.M. Vaughn.
The first lawyer in the county was William G. Cooper, who located at the future county seat in 1849.
Rev. Cutting Marsh, the old and respected missionary, was the first physician to locate permanently in the county, coming to Waupaca in 1851.
In 1851 W.C. Lord and Wilson Holt built the first grist mill. In this connection, here is a quotation from our historian: "Robert Palfrey ground the first grist (in the county) in 1851. The mill was located at Palfreyville, town of Dayton, the site for it being donated upon the condition that it should 'grind a bushel of corn before the one at Waupaca grinds a kernel.' The contract was carried out, and Messrs. Holt & Lord, who had erected a mill on the site of the present 'Waupaca Star Mills,' came in for only second honors."
To Waupaca belongs also the honor of the first church in the county, the Methodists building one here in 1853.
The first school house was built in 1851.
Miss Dora Thompson (now Mrs. Le Gro) taught the first school, in 1850. Mrs. Le Gro is yet a resident of this city.
The town of Waupaca was organized in 1851.
In 1850 Silas Miller built the first saw mill.
Captain David Scott was the first postmaster.
Waupaca's first mail route was from Green Bay.
In 1849 W.G. Cooper built the first house.
The first lawsuit – Captain Spencer vs. L.W. Thayer – was heard before S.F. Ware, justice of the peace, in 1850.
P.A. House built the first wagon at Waupaca, and says that it is in use yet (or was two years ago) by E. Baker, of Weyauwega, for whose father it was built in 1855.
Mayor, A.R. Lea; Treasurer, George Howlett; Assessor, A.J. Van Epps; Clerk, Jeff Woodnorth; Police Justice, J.A. Chesley.
First ward – Aldermen, Page Knight, W.G. Packard; Supervisor, A.M. Hansen; Justice of the Peace, Winfield Scott.
Second ward – Aldermen, Orin Hall, S.R. Sherwin; Supervisor, J.W. Evans; Justice of the Peace, Royal Green.
Third ward – Aldermen, Elmer H. Palmer, A.P. Nelson; Supervisor, M.R. Baldwin; Justice of the Peace, William Bendixen.
Fourth ward – Aldermen, W.J. Chamberlain, P.A. House; Supervisor, A.G. Nelson; Justice of the Peace, J.A. Chesley.
President of Council, W.J. Chamberlain; Physician, H.L. Reed; Attorney, (special service); Engineer, (special service); Street Commissioner, Jens Johnson.
BOARD OF HEALTH - APPOINTIVE.
Dr. D.L. Manchester, Health Officer; Orin Hall, P.A. House, L.S. Larson.
POLICE - APPOINTIVE.
Chief, L.S. Larson; Night Watch, Peter Anderson; First Ward, Matt Jensen; Second ward, Rasmus Jorgensen; Third ward, William Nelson; Fourth ward, S. Cornwell.
The fire department consists of volunteer organizations under municipal control. At the head of the department are a chief engineer and two assistants, whose election by the companies is subject to the approval of the common council. There are also four fire wardens, one from each ward, with duties defined by the city charter. The city owns an engine house, a Mansfield steam fire engine, purchased in 1885, an abundance of hose and carts, a good hook and ladder plant, and all other requisite appliances.
OFFICERS OF THE DEPARTMENT.
Chief Engineer, A.G. Nelson; 1st Asst. Engineer, J.B. Simcock; 2d Asst. Engineer, ________________; Sec., Page Knight; Treas., A.G. Nelson. Fire Wardens – 1st ward, A.M. Hansen; 2d ward, W.C. Padgham; 3d ward, W.J. Bendixen; 4th ward, O.M. Buck.
HOSE AND ENGINE COMPANY NO. 1.
This company was organized May 11, 1871. It now numbers thirty-two active members – all volunteers.
Officers – Foreman of Engine, Ole O. Hole; Asst., J.B. Simcock. Foreman of Hose, Page Knight; Asst., W.J. Bendixen.
HOOK AND LADDER COMPANY NO. 1.
This company is of more recent organization, dating from 1878. It numbers sixteen volunteer members.
Officers – Foreman, W.C. Padgham; Asst., Ole Bea. Sec., A.F. Johnson; Treas., George Hanson.
WAUPACA UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT.
City Superintendent of Schools, Miss Belle Smith.
BOARD OF EDUCATION.
Charles Churchill, President; Mrs. R.N. Roberts, Treasurer; Miss Belle Smith, Clerk; A.J. Van Epps, C.A. Spencer, Mrs. H. Nordvi, Mrs. E.L. Browne.
Probate Judge, C.S. Ogden; Clerk, G.A. Murray; Treasurer, Hans Benlick; Register of Deeds, Henry Geible; Clerk of Circuit Court, J.M. Hatch; Sheriff, Ole C. Sether; Surveyor, A.W. Johnson; District Attor-ney, A.L. Hutchinson; Superintendent of Schools, William Fowlie; Cor-oner, (none, the officer elected refusing to qualify.)
UNITED STATES OFFICERS.
Postmaster, George M. Chamberlain; Court Commissioner for the Eastern District of Wisconsin, Myron Reed; Register of the Land Office (Menasha), J.H. Woodnorth.
Waupaca Bank of E. Coolidge & Co., I.M. Dakin, Cashier.
City Bank of R.N. Roberts & Co., W.B. Baker, Cashier.
WAUPACA BUSINESS MEN'S ASSOCIATION.
Organized, 1884; membership, 82.
Officers – President, J.O. Scott; Vice President, D.L. Manchester; Secretary, Elmer H. Palmer; Treasurer, W.B. Baker.
Directors – Myron Reed, President; S.T. Oborn, J.H. Woodnorth, W.C. Baldwin, J.W. Evans.
WAUPACA FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY.
This company, incorporated August 30, 1874, and at present carry-ing about $325,000 insurance, is in a condition of prosperity.
Officers – Pres., Fred C. Fisher, Farmington; Sec. and Treas., Hans Benlick, Waupaca.
Directors – Charles Gibson, Lind; S.A. Barrington, Dayton; M.A. Stinchfield, Waupaca; M.S. Rice, St. Lawrence; Ira Millard, Jr., Mukwa; C.G. Witt, Bear Creek; D. Bliss, Royalton.
WAUPACA ELECTRIC LIGHT ASSOCIATION.
This association was incorporated in April, 1886, with capital stock limited to $10,000. Of this stock, $5,000 has been issued, being all taken up at home. There are twelve stockholders.
Officers – Pres., A.G. Nelson; Vice Pres., H.M. Lea; Sec., Chas. Churchill.
Directors – H.M. Lea, A.G. Nelson, Orin Hall.
The association furnished light first on the Fourth of July, 1886. It owns ten acres of land and a good water power (150 horse power) but a few rods above the Waupaca Star Mills on the Waupaca river. The plant at present consists of one incandescent dynamo with capacity for 300 lamps of 16-candle power each, and one arc-light dynamo with capacity for 65 arc lights of 2,000-candle power each. There are now 34 arc lights on the lines, of which the city pays for 13. The incandescent light has been very generally introduced into business places and residences – it being used at the court house and other public places. On the 5th of April last, high water accompanied by the breaking up of ice partially destroyed the dam and damaged the building and machinery – the loss aggregating $1,500. So far as repairs are concerned, the association has not only recovered from this loss, but has enlarged the building and improved the plant generally – adding fully $1,000 to its value since that time. The association is supplying excellent light, and is therefore giving good satisfaction and receiving fair interest upon the investment.
LOCAL BOARD OF UNDERWRITERS.
Winfield Scott, President; E. Coolidge, Secretary and Treasurer.
The Danes' Home, organized for strictly social purposes January 6, 1877, now embraces a membership of fifty-eight Danish citizens. When the present courthouse was erected in 1880 the society bought the old building and refitted it to meet the requirements of their purpose. Among the attractions of the Home is a good library. Regular meetings are held every Thursday evening.
Officers – Pres., Alfred Johnson; Vice Pres., Hans Nelson; Rec. Sec., Thorwald Nelson; Cor. Sec., Ole R. Olson; Treas., Albert Breit; Adjutant, Henry Neumann; Guard, Chris. Jensen; Librarian and Steward, C. Hansen.
Trustees – W.J. Benedixen, Marten Peterson, Hans Knudsen, C.P. Dahl, Hans Madsen.
WAUPACA CURLING CLUB.
The organization of this successful sporting club in 1879 was due almost wholly to the efforts of H.W. Williams, then a new-comer in the city, who is yet a leader in its affairs. During the past five or six years this club has coupled the name of Waupaca with many victories throughout the Northwest. At Portage, Wis., in the winter of 1883 it defeated Chicago by five points, and again won from that city at the same place in the winter of 1887. Both of these games were for the Morgan medal, for which Chicago and Milwaukee are striving against the Northwest. Each side having won two series of games, the final contest for the medal, to be retained by the side that first wins three times, will take place in Milwaukee the coming winter. Waupaca lost once to Chicago in 1886, but defeated St. Paul at that place the same winter, besides being the victor in various other games in that city with different clubs in the Northwest. The club will be strengthened the coming season. Its capture of the medal for the Northwest is not all improbable. This club is closely related to the Opera House Company, as will be seen by reference to the latter in another place.
Officers – Pres., H.W. Williams; Vice Pres., J.H. Woodnorth; Sec., E. Selleck; Treas., H.M. Lea.
Rink No. 1 – H.W. Williams, Skip; J.M. Ware, H.M. Lea, Paul Browne, M.B. Curran, E.B. Jeffers.
Rink No. 2 – J.H. Woodnorth, Skip; E. Coolidge, George Lines, S.S. Chandler, A.D. Smith, A.J. Holly.
Rink No. 3 – G.A. Bronson, Skip; H.G. Curran, C.R. Hoffman, Jeff Woodnorth, C.R. Hudson, Fremont Chandler.
Rink No. 4 – E. Selleck, Skip; L. Stern, T. Pipe, F.R. Whipple, D. Yarns, Parish Nichols.
WAUPACA OPERA HOUSE COMPANY.
This company was regularly incorporated under state law in June, 1888, with capital stock of $1,400. Its purpose is to maintain an opera house for summer entertainments, and to convert it into a curling and ice skating rink in winter. The company has purchased the opera house originally built for a roller skating rink, and will increase the length of the building to give an area of 60 x 140 feet. Ten feet down one side will be given up to offices and cloak rooms, leaving a rink surface of 50 x 140 feet. Arrangements are being made whereby the standard of summer entertainments in Waupaca will be raised, and their number increased. The officers and stockholders of the company are chiefly from among those interested in the curling club.
Officers – Pres., H.W. Williams; Vice Pres., Jeff Woodnorth; Sec., Paul Browne; Treas., H.M. Lea.
Directors – H.W. Williams, Chairman; Paul Browne, Sec.; F.R. Whipple, I.P. Lord, Charles Havenor, G.A. Bronson.
Business Manager – E. Coolidge.
WAUPACA BRASS BAND.
The present organization of the band, not only the most creditable that Waupaca ever had, but one that is gaining a good reputation away from home, was perfected in November of last year. Not only are its members diligent in practice, but they intend to soon incorporate legally to insure stability and maintain a higher standard of excellence.
Officers – Pres., J.H. Hudson; V. Pres., Wm. Rice; Sec. and Treas., M.B. Scott; Manager, F.R. Whipple.
Musicians – J.H. McCullough, Solo B Flat, and Leader; Wm. Donstan, E Flat Cornet; George Kingsbury, 1st B Cornet; George Nordvi, 2d B Cornet; Jeff Woodnorth, Flugel Horn; A.Williams, B Clarionet; John Colure, E Clarionet; Ed Williams, Solo Alto; Grant Sherwin, 1st Alto; Robert Scobey, 2d Alto; Jos. Rosche, 1st Tenor; Wm. Rice, 2d Tenor; M.B. Scott, Baritone; Geo. Bridgeman, Bass Trombone; J.H. Hudson, Tuba; Leslie Bronson, Snare Drum; Andy Poll, Bass Drum; F.R. Whipple, Drum Major.
WAUPACA SKI CLUB.
This club, devoted to the novel and healthful Scandinavian exercise, was organized in January, 1888. Its membership was 30 at the close of last season.
Officers – Pres., Charles Rolin Brainard; Sec. and Treas., Charles Guldager; Chief, Ole O. Hole.
First Methodist Episcopal, Rev. Perry Miller, Pastor.
Danish Methodist, Rev. F.W. Erickson, Pastor.
Danish Lutheran, Rev. A.L.J. Soholm, Pastor.
Scandinavian Lutheran, Rev. P.G. Oesergard, Pastor.
St. Mark's Episcopal, First Baptist, Danish Baptist, Congregational, and United Presbyterian are church organizations with no resident pastors at the present time.
WOMAN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION.
This has been an especially active organization here since April, 1880. It now numbers thirty-eight members. An excellent circulating library is a part of its equipment. Regular meetings are held the second Friday of each month, at 3 o'clock p.m., in the Lord block.
Pres., Mrs. J.W. Evans; Vice Presidents, Mrs. E.T. Bailey, Mrs. N.L. White; Cor. Sec., Mrs. W.B. Baker; Rec. Sec., Miss Laurette Dayton; Treas., Mrs. Page Knight.
RUBY SEAL SOCIETY.
This is an auxiliary of the Benevolent Society, composed chiefly of young girls whose enthusiasm is equaled only by their success. It was organized in May, 1888; present membership, 15.
Officers – Pres., Mildred Howard; V. Pres., Jessie Baxter; Sec., Nellie Guldager; Treas., Hattie Lea.
WOOLEN MILL AND RESIDENCE OF J.W. EVANS.
KING'S SONS AND DAUGHTERS.
The local branch of this new society, destined to become strong and popular, was organized August 8, 1888. Its purpose is to do good in any way that offers, and to restrain its members from evil by mutual admonition. Though designed to include workers of all ages, who are not bound by the rules of intricate organization, the local branch, starting with twenty members, is comprised chiefly of boys and girls. Each member wears a small silver cross bearing the letters "I.H.N.", signifying "In His Name", the adopted motto of the order.
Officers – Pres., Mrs. E.L. Browne; Sec., Mrs. E.T. Bailey; Treas., Mrs. E.S. Donaldson.
YOUNG WOMAN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION.
Organized, February, 1888; membership, 45. It has well furnished rooms in the Lord block, where regular meetings are held the last Friday of each month, at 3 o'clock p.m.
Pres., Mrs. Paul Browne; Vice Presidents, Miss Hattie Lord, Mrs. E.C. Williams, Miss Alice Rich, Miss Annie Benlick; Rec. Sec., Miss Marie Chamberlain; Cor. Sec., Mrs. W.C. Baldwin; Treas., Miss Lottie McArthur.
LADIES' BENEVOLENT SOCIETY.
The good that has been done by this charitable organization of twenty-six ladies dates from the 12th of October, 1887. Its purpose being to relieve the needy and care for the sick, it has worthily performed its whole duty. Regular meetings are held the first Wednes-day of every month, at 3 o'clock p.m., at the rooms of the Business Men's Assocaion.
Pres., Mrs. Myron Reed; Vice Pres., Mrs. G.H. Calkins; Sec., Mrs. T.H. Woodward; Treas., Mrs. A.R. Lea.
LAKESIDE CHAUTAUQUA CIRCLE.
Organized, 1883; membership, 23. Miss Belle Smith is at this date the presiding officer. The circle pursues the customary course, meeting every Monday evening at 7:30 o'clock, at the homes of members. A "memory class" was lately organized.
WISCONSIN VETERAN'S HOME.
It was only a year ago that Waupaca was decided upon as the location of this worthy state institution. The property of the Greenwood Park Association, at the lakes three miles west of the city, was purchased for the Home, and the former hotel is being now remodeled to suit its new use. An assembly hall and hospital are also in course of erection, and various cities are building cottages there for the use of veterans from their localities. Among such cottages now under way are those for Waupaca, LaCrosse, Appleton, Lake Geneva, Oshkosh and Milwaukee. Others will be built. The improvements now being made will amount to about $5,000, while the total valuation of the property at the Home at the close of the year will, perhaps, be more than $25,000. There are now fifty-eight inmates.
Trustees – J.H. Marsden, Appleton, Pres.; A.O. Wright, New Lisbon, Sec.; B.F. Bryant, LaCrosse, Treas.; R.N. Roberts, Waupaca; J.H. Woodnorth, Waupaca; W.D. Crocker, Sheboygan.
Executive Committee – J.H. Marsden, Chairman; J.H. Woodnorth, Sec.; R.N. Roberts, Treas.
Superintendent – C. Caldwell.
G. A. R.
GARFIELD POST NO. 21.
Organized, October, 1882; membership, 84.
Officers – J.W. Evans, Commander; J.W. Baxter, Senior Vice Commander; C.F. Devoin, Junior Vice Commander; J.H. Woodnorth, Officer of the Day; A.J. Van Epps, Adjutant; D.L. Manchester, Surgeon; T. Rich, Chaplain; E. Pomeroy, Quartermaster.
Post Commanders – J.H. Woodnorth, G.M. Chamberlain, W.S. Bemis, J.O. Scott, A.J. Van Epps, R. Tuttle.
A. O. U. W.
WAUPACA LODGE NO. 45.
Organized, 1879; membership, 35.
Officers – H.M. Lea, M.W.; A.D. Smith, Foreman; Orin Hall, Overseer; H. Benlick, Financier and Recorder; M.G. Hansen, Guide; E. Coolidge, Receiver; Ole O. Hole, P.M.W.
I. O. G. T.
GRANITE LODGE NO. 329.
Organized, March 15, 1888; membership, 64; regular meetings every Saturday evening at A.O.U.W. hall.
Officers – A.D. Barnes, C.T.; Mrs. A.D. Barnes, V.T.; Lewis Brown, Sec.; Myrtle Knapp, Fin. Sec.; Miss Grace Evans, Treas.; J.W. Evans, P.C.T.; E.L. Demarest, Lodge Deputy.
I. O. O. F.
WAUPACA LODGE NO. 208.
Organized, April 26, 1872; membership, 90.
Officers – H.H. Suhs, N.G.; Page Knight, V.G.; F.R. Whipple, Sec.; J.H. Woodnorth, Treas.; Fred Rosche, Warden; Thomas Pipe, Past Grand.
CENTENNIAL ENCAMPMENT NO. 63.
Organized, May 10, 1876; membership, 50.
Officers – Thomas Pipe, C.P.; F.R. Whipple, S.W.; George Howlett, H.P.; J.H. Woodnorth, Scribe; S. Ovorum, Treas.; W. Sherburne, J.W.; Jeff Woodnorth, Guide.
K. OF P.
WAUPACA LODGE NO. 29.
Organized, 1884; membership, 40.
Officers – J.H. Woodnorth, C.C.; J.O. Scott, V.C.; M.F. Skinner, Sec.; W.W. Gilmore, M. of E.; M.F. Skinner, M. of F.
WAUPACA LODGE NO. 123, F. & A. M.
Organized, February 23, 1859; membership, 94.
Officers – Myron Reed, H.P.; George Lines, K.; W. Scott, S.; I.P. Lord, Sec.; D. Parish, Treas.
WOMAN'S SUFFRAGE SOCIETY.
Organized, October, 1887; membership, 18; regular meetings, last Wednesday of each month.
Officers – Mrs. G.L. Lord, President; Mrs. Charles Evans, Vice President; Mrs. Myron Reed, Treasurer; Mrs. Charles Roberts, Secretary.
YOUNG MEN'S REPUBLICAN CLUB.
Organized, August 27, 1888; membership, 300.
Officers – F.S. Baldwin, Pres.; J.A. Hudson, Vice Pres.; Jeff Woodnorth, Sec.; H.H. Suhs, Treas.
Executive Committee – F.S. Baldwin, Chairman; I.P. Lord, Ed Williams, John Ovorum, W.C. Baldwin.
Officers - Pres., A.J. Van Epps; Vice Presidents, I.P.Lord, C.P. Ward, Elmer H. Palmer, Paul Browne; Sec., W.H. Holmes; Treas., W.J. Chamberlain.
Executive Committee – H.J. Stetson, J.B. Simcock, C.A. Spencer, M.R. Baldwin, T.L. Jeffers.
SCANDINAVIAN REPUBLICAN CLUB.
Officers – Pres., Ole R. Olson; Vice Pres., A.G. Nelson; Sec., Alfred Johnson; Treas., Ole O. Hole.
Organized in 1886; membership, 60.
Officers – Pres., M.R. Baldwin; Sec., J.W. Evans; Treas., T. Rich.
The same men constitute the executive committee.
DESCRIPTIVE IN GENERAL.
Waupaca is situated in the southwestern corner of the county of the same name, six miles from the line of Portage county on the west, and six and three-quarter miles from Waushara county on the south. The corporate limits of the city include territory two miles square, the four square miles being made up of sections nineteen and twenty, except the north half of the north-east and north-west quarters of each, sections twenty-nine and thirty entire, and the north half of the north-east and north-west quarters of sections thirty-one and thirty-two, all in township twenty-two north, of range twelve east.
This territory was included in the town of Waupaca until the organization of the city under state law in 1875.
127 MILES FROM MILWAUKEE.
The city is one of the busiest stations on the line of the Wisconsin Central railroad, by which it is 127 miles from Milwaukee, and fifty miles from Oshkosh. It is thirty-two miles northward from Berlin, and twenty-nine miles eastward from Stevens Point via the Wisconsin Central.
Waupaca is indeed fortunate in the rare natural beauty of its immediate surroundings. It is built upon both banks of the Waupaca river in a broad valley between high wooded hills on every side except the south-east, in which direction the stream takes its winding course to a junction with the Wolf river (a navigable stream) at Gills Landing, twelve miles distant. At Gills Landing the Wisconsin Central railroad crosses the Wolf river at a point but a few rods from the mouth of the Waupaca. While by the railroad it is but twelve miles to this city, by the Waupaca river it is more than thirty – an indication of the tortuous course of the stream. To those who enjoy the healthful sport of canoeing, and who are at the same time lovers of the beautiful in nature, no trip could afford more genuine pleasure than that from Waupaca to the Wolf river, or to Weyauwega, four miles up the river from its mouth. The whole course of the stream presents a constantly changing panorama of delightful views – the quiet beauty of heavily-timbered hills; wide stretches of meadow land; dark woods so closely crowding either bank that the water is ever shadowed by overhanging foliage; deep pools in which the canoe will circle idly about in cool shades till the paddle urges it forward, when, perhaps in a few lengths, it swiftly shoots through dashing rapids, along past peculiar rock and land formations of more than passing interest to the one who sees in them more than a suggestion of the ancient race and the dead civilization that were familiar with these scenes while yet the Indian was a stranger to them.
It is a trip for an enthusiast, a trip that will make an enthusiast of one observant of things that speak to the eye and heart of intelligence – a trip that might have inspired Bryant, nature's own poet, to write:
To him in the love of Nature holds
Communion with her visible forms,
A various language. * * * *
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
MIRROR AND SHADOW LAKES.
There must be some truth in the old saying that familiarity breeds contempt. If this is true, it is easy to account for the seeming little importance that Waupaca people attach to the local lakes; for, though no one is willing to risk his reputation for great taste by denying their beauty and value, they have of late years come to be looked upon with a degree of outward indifference wholly undeserved, and for which residents will never cease to be rebuked by strangers brought to view them for the first time. Two of these lakes, small, it is true, but as fine bodies of water in every respect as can be found in the state, are wholly within the city limits, the smaller being within four blocks of the court house and business center of the town, and the other not twice so distant. Mirror lake, the smaller, is in appearance what its name implies. It lies in an elliptical depression in the southern part of the city, the glassy surface of its water separated by a border of flat meadow of varying width from the high banks rising with gradual incline to well-improved streets, popular as drives, on the north, east, and west. At the south end of this lake a natural channel, improved to permit the free passage of row and sail boats, connects it with Shadow lake, a perfect gem in a varied setting of woods, hills, meadow and cultivated fields. It is on the high shore of this lake that Waupaca's beautiful and well-kept cemetery is located. A good road skirts the foot of a hill, following closely the shore of the lake on the west side. On the north shore of this lake, on a point of high, wooded ground between it and Mirror, is the favorite grove for picnics and celebrations. The shores of Mirror lake are dotted by a score or more of boat houses. Boating is popular, both for the pleasure and exercise of rowing and for fishing, these lakes having been stocked with speckled trout that are now being taken from them, and their unusually deep and cold waters abounding in black bass and pickerel.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
CHAIN OF LAKES.
There is not to be found anywhere a more charming body of water than the justly celebrated Chain of Lakes, three miles west of this city, nor one outside the inaccessible wilds of the far northern woods that affords better fishing. These lakes have a general trend from northeast to southwest in the towns of Farmington and Dayton for a distance, as the bird flies, of not more than six miles, though the irregular outline of
either shore embraces a distance more than twice as great. Their formation is such that their number is variously stated at from five to twelve. This point is immaterial, for in reality the whole body might be properly called one lake, or at the most two lakes, since the narrow so-called channels are but lesser parts of the body entire rather than outlets connecting separate and well-defined lakes. With the exception of one place, called Indian Crossing, near the middle of the chain, the whole stretch of water is navigable for row and sail boats without obstruction. The irregular shores of these lakes, bluffy and even precipitous in places, and in others sloping gradually to the water's edge, forming smooth and hard sand beaches that tempt the lover of bathing, are in the main heavily wooded with nearly all the varieties of forest growth known to this region. The deep, clear water in its ever varying and always beautiful hues is quick to record every change of sky and wind; while the little islands, dotting the surface of the lake here and there, with their inviting beaches and wooded crests, are the crowning glory of the landscape. These lakes, as well as the numbers of smaller and independent ones immediately surrounding them, afford in the way of fishing, as has been said, all that the most ardent sportsman can desire. Most plentiful are nearly all varieties of the gamey bass, perch and pickerel, while speckled trout, with which the waters were generously stocked by the state six or more years ago, are now being taken out in great numbers.
MAIN STREET - LOOKING NORTH FROM ROBERTS BLOCK.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
WISCONSIN VETERANS' HOME.
At the eastern end of the Chain of Lakes, nearest the city, was located the hotel and other extensive improvements of the former Greenwood Park Association. A view of the place is presented on page fifteen (of original book). The property of the association, embracing seventy-eight acres of land and all the buildings, has been sold to the Wisconsin Veterans' Home Association, and is now devoted to the noble charity of affording all the comforts of a home, not only to the old and dependent soldier, but to his wife or needy widow. Here they are not housed promiscuously under one roof, as in other state and national institutions where the man alone is granted food and shelter, often at the price of separation from the patriotic and sacrificing wife whose sufferings at home while he was at the front perhaps equaled all that he endured. In this Waupaca home – which is a home in truth – there are instances of the old, broken-down veteran taken from some national home for men only, and his aged and dependent wife from some poor house, and here reunited in their own little cottage, never to be parted again or to know the misery of poverty and want while they live, or while patriotism endures in Wisconsin, and fraternity, charity and loyalty remains the watch word of the Grand Army of the Republic. This grand institution, unlike any other in the world, and nobler in its charity than all others in that it cares for the soldier's wife and for the soldier's widow as well as for the old veteran himself, was founded and is maintained by the Wisconsin Department of the Grand Army of the Republic, assisted by the Woman's Relief Corps, and by the benevolence of societies, cities and individuals. The part that Waupaca has done is not inconsiderable. In her bid for its location here, a bid prompted more by patriotic generosity than by selfish interest, she overcame the sharp competition of five rivals. On the 29th of August, 1888, the home was dedicated in the presence of 6,000 people.
MAIN STREET - LOOKING NORTH FROM MASONIC BLOCK.
(From a Photograph by Palmer).
At its southwestern extremity the Chain of Lakes finds an outlet into the Crystal river, near the village of Rural, six miles from Waupaca. If anything was ever fittingly named, Crystal river bears that distinction. The clear purity of this stream at all seasons is remarkable; and it is no doubt due to this condition that it and its tributaries in the towns of Dayton and Farmington now offer the best trout fishing, for which Waupaca waters are becoming famous. Crystal river flows within the corporate limits of Waupaca, affords an outlet for Shadow and Mirror lakes, and a short distance eastward, yet within the city, furnishes power
(From a Photograph by Palmer. Mead Bank at far left.)
for the Waupaca Woolen Mills. Here the mill pond is the favored home of bass and pickerel of huge proportions and seemingly inexhaustible numbers, since it has been an accessible and therefore common fishing ground for many years. Not two miles east of the city, Crystal river forms a junction with the Waupaca. A favorite canoe trip has always been that from the Chain of Lakes to Shadow and Mirror lakes by way of Crystal river.
Memory need not go back but a few years to recall the picture of the uncouth Waupaca of former times. In 1868 and later this region was yet
considered "the wild Indian land of Wisconsin", and Waupaca was looked upon as on the extreme outer verge of civilization. This impression was given form and a basis of truth by the location on the southern fringe of the great northern pineries, into which the pioneer at that time had scarcely penetrated from this section of the state. It is true that to the northward and westward were Stevens Point and Wausau, logging stations on the Wisconsin river, and to the old settler the names of "Big Bull Falls" and "Little Bull Falls", far up that stream, were familiar. Shawano, to the northeast on the Wolf river, was another such point. All of them existed on the one industry of "logging" pure and simple; for those were the days when the manufacture of lumber near the base of supply was almost unknown in this state, owing to the lack of railroad facilities. The getting out of the logs, and the rafting and driving of them to milling points on the lower Fox and Wisconsin rivers, and down the Mississippi river even to St. Louis, at that time told the whole story – if we except the one other industry of transporting supplies to the logging camps. For "Wisconse" waters the great bulk of such supplies came by boat up the Wolf river to Gills Landing, where they were unloaded to be hauled overland by teams. The direct course of this traffic was through Waupaca; and in the days while she was yet a straggling village, while her farms gave but a poor hint of their future magnificent extent and condition, this industry of "teaming" was to her almost of first importance. The situation was really but little improved up to 1872. Since that time, however, while the progress so far as the city itself is concerned suggests nothing of the "boom towns" of later years, the change has been such as to make Waupaca the chief city and primary market for one of the best and most productive agricultural sections of the state. This change dates with the advent of the
WISCONSIN CENTRAL RAILROAD,
in the fall of 1872, and is due in great part to that road and the facilities it first afforded for reaching outside markets with products before their value was consumed in the cost of transportation. When that road was projected in the 60's it contemplated a line from "Doty's Island", at
Neenah and Menasha, to Waupaca and Stevens Point, thence northward to Lake Superior. What an undertaking! To build a railroad from a place of little consequence to begin with, across not more than thirty miles of good farming country, as was then thought to be the case, thence on through 200 miles of unbroken pine forest, with no more definite objective than some point on the shore of Lake Superior in the wild and almost wholly unsettled county of Bayfield or of Ashland, was truly a scheme to excite the admiration of all in whom ridicule left place for it. But the road was built, and has been in through operation from Lake Superior for twelve years. That road is the grandest pioneer Wisconsin ever had. It was the entering wedge that opened to settlement half the territory of a great state. By its own efforts and by its stimulation of similar gigantic enterprises it has contributed vastly more
RESIDENCE OF J.H. WOODNORTH.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
than its share to the marvelous progress and prosperity of a wide extent of territory as rich in varied resources as any in the west. The Central is having its reward. It is now a great through line between Chicago and Milwaukee and St. Paul, Minneapolis, Ashland and Duluth, with one arm stretching southward from Stevens Point to Portage, and another from the Penokee hills to the rich Gogebic iron range of Wisconsin and Michigan.
As is the case with most cities, Waupaca's change in appearance for the better is traceable directly to destructive fires, however unwelcome the agency at the time its work was accomplished. The Waupaca of ante-railroad days met its first considerable change in this respect on the 16th of May, 1872, four months before the arrival of the first train. At that time the old Smith hotel and every building but one in the square with it were burned. This led to the erection of the present Vosburg house, and though that square has since been visited by fire it has been to see it improved by better buildings every time. One of the last destructive fires on Main street occurred January 19, 1878, removing a row of fire-traps from between Union and Fulton streets, and causing that block to become the first uninterrupted row of brick fronts in the city. Instead of the old uncouth aspect before alluded to, Waupaca presents today one of the most compact and substantially built business streets to be found in any city of equal size anywhere. Solid brick rows, presenting an almost unbroken front, extend for four blocks on Main street, and with the building up of Union and Fulton streets leave little that resembles the business places of sixteen years ago. Place the average man for the first time in any city of a few thousand inhabitants, and almost invariably his first question is, "how many people are there here?" and when he is truthfully informed he will as invariably respond, in a tone implying positive disbelief, "where are they?" Bring that same man to Waupaca a stranger to the place, drive him from the depot or from any other quarter of the outskirts, over the splendid streets and under the electric lights, disclosing to his view block after block of business houses, let him out at his hotel and tell him, in response to the invariable question, that the population of the place is about 2,500 and he will exclaim, "is that all!" Now, this is a fact, for that exclamation is often heard; and it is not due to any impression previously formed from exaggerated reports accepted as true, but to the appearance of the place from a business standpoint that, as cities average, would indicate a population twice as great.
A number of years ago the suspicion somehow got abroad that the marvelous city of Duluth (only less marvelous in her actual growth than in her claims and aspirations) wanted the earth. At a splendid celebration of the opening of the new Duluth Board of Trade, January 6, 1886, participated in by large delegations from other commercial centers all over the country, a prominent local attorney was inspired to refute the slander. He said: "Gentlemen: It has been said that Duluth wants the earth. Duluth does not want the earth! But – draw a line from the head of Lake Superior to the head of the Gulf of California, and Duluth does want all the American continent to the northward and westward of that line; and, what's more, she's going to have it, too!" And, by the way, by the very fore of Nature's laws, supplemented by the magnify-cent enterprise of men, that same Duluth is rapidly acquiring business title to all her mighty ambition ever painted as her own. While the modesty of Duluth is cheerfully acknowledged, that quality must be claimed for Waupaca in even greater degree. That Waupaca is not only
RESIDENCE OF J.M. HATCH.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
the county seat, but a prosperous city wherein affairs in general are dominated by a spirit of progress and enterprise, is a thorn in the side and a burr under the coat-tail of certain localities that can not be thus designated with equal justice; and for this reason they have whispered it around, quite audibly, too, that Waupaca wants not only the county seat, but all the county institutions, and perchance the county itself. Let the opportunity here offered to meet that base insinuation with stern denial be improved; let it be known that there are nooks and corners and out-of-the-way places in the county of Waupaca to the possession of which this city does not aspire, and which her worst enemy could not hope to thrust upon her. But she does want all that she has – all that is hers by right of capture and long exclusive possession – material interests, wide in extent, that she has acquired only by methods that redound most to the credit as well as to the profit of a city in these later years that yield the greatest measure of municipal prosperity to business enterprise and public position as the primary market place of an extensive and especially wealthy agricultural section. Waupaca does not want the county; but she wants one of the best portions of it – a generous slice comprising the western half thereof, together with the best towns of Portage county on the west, and of Waushara county on the south. This Waupaca wants, this she has, and will maintain so far as lies in her power by the continuance of wise co-operation and lively individual interest in the public good.
The increase in the population of any town almost wholly agricul-tural in its business interests will not keep pace with the development and growth of the surrounding country, but the volume of its business naturally will. Thus it is that Waupaca, with a population of perhaps less than 800 prior to the building of the railroad, had increased to only 1,392 in 1880, and to 1,810 in 1885, according to census reports. Today various estimates fix the number from 2,500 to 3,000 – the former, perhaps, being more nearly correct. This, as has been stated, is not trustworthy indication of the volume of general business, which is regularly contributed to by the trade of an unusually large territory without railway facilities, to the south and southwest. While the popu-lation is being steadily augmented by those attracted by Waupaca as
A DESIRABLE PLACE OF RESIDENCE,
this increase is more apparent in the growing beauty of the residence districts than in any other way. Perhaps the most marked characteristic of the place is its cleanliness – so apparent everywhere in the compact business quarter, on residence streets, and in private grounds. The critical stranger is impressed with the fact that to keep clean is at once the public care and the pride of the individual. Should that stranger make Waupaca his home, he would soon appreciate that cleanliness, not for itself alone, but for contributing not a little to make the city one of the most healthful places in the state, as it has long been one of the most
RESIDENCE OF C.A. SPENCER.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
beautiful. Its reputation for beauty is wide-spread, of long standing, and well deserved. It is earned by an unusually large number of handsome modern residences; by the perfect forest of shade trees, maple, oak, ash and poplar, that line the excellent and well-kept streets, overhanging the sidewalks and beautifying the lawns in every part of the town; by those two gems of lakes, Mirror and Shadow; and by the delightful natural scenery immediately surrounding all. In short, when are added to these things good schools, refined society, a temperate and law-abiding com-munity, numerous churches, cheap rents and cheap living, good railroad connection, an opera house, electric light, telephone system, adequate fire protection and a low rate of taxation, we have a great proportion of those things that men account desirable in the place they make their home.
THE PRODUCE TRADE.
As may be inferred from foregoing statements, Waupaca's chief business interest – the one upon which all others are in the greatest measure dependent – is the buying and shipping of farm produce. While this term "farm produce" has come to mean in Waupaca almost all kinds of crops known to Wisconsin, the leading export is potatoes. In potatoes the Waupaca district leads the world, both as to the uniformily higher price of the product, due to unequaled quality, and as to the quantity produced per acre. Three hundred bushels per acre is not an uncommon yield, and six hundred bushels have been dug form a single acre. The price at the home market ranges from twenty-five cents to more than one dollar per bushel during the year – forty cents being perhaps a fair average for the bulk of the product. Ten or more great warehouses at or near the railroad station, though not of course given up wholly to this one industry, speak volumes of its magnitude. At no other place on the line of the Wisconsin Central can be found equal evidence of activity in this branch of trade. In truth, Waupaca is the greatest farmers' market on the whole road, and her shipments in pounds are largely in excess of those from many larger places of more varied resources. Reliable estimates for the one shipping year of 1887-8 place the shipment of potatoes from Waupaca at 500,000 bushels. Sheridan, essentially a "potato station", six miles west of the city, shipped enough in the same time to swell the aggregate to 600,000 bushels, and Waupaca's general business is benefited as much by Sheridan's trade as though it was all done here. In the towns of Farmington, Dayton, Belmont, Lanark, Wild Rose and others in Portage and Waushara counties that supply the Waupaca market, thirty, forty, sixty and even eighty or more acres of potatoes are seen in one field. In the fall and all through the winter the constant procession of potatoes into this city on every road leading to it is amazing. More than one hundred loads have been counted within a few blocks at one time. Winter shipments are made in cars warmed by stoves. One of these potato trains, with a long line of box cars, each with a stovepipe project-ing squatter-fashion through the side, presents a novel appearance on the road. Chicago is the chief point to which shipments are made, though during the past season the trade was divided between that city and St. Louis in the proportion of four to three in favor of the former. The famous "Waupaca potato" has always led in price in the great distribu-ting markets. At the beginning of the present season the Michigan pro-duct, Waupaca's strongest competitor, brought thirty-four cents in the Chicago market, while the Waupaca potato was in demand there at forty-five cents.
Though the potato is king and its supremacy acknowledged, it is by no means the only product of this district. In no section of the state has that
wise policy of varied pursuits on the farm found readier and more intel-ligent following than in this. The growth of the dairy interest especially
RESIDENCE OF WALLACE H. LORD.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
has been gratifying. The cheese factory and creamery have of late years come to be familiar objects at the country crossroads. The improvement of stock by better breeding and by scientific methods of feeding and wintering has placed that industry among the leaders in popularity and profit. Corn, wheat, oats, rye, barley, hops and small fruits are extensively cultivated with good success. In all that tends to give a farming community prosperity and certainty of business activity what-ever the season Waupaca is indeed favored above the average.
As to manufacturing, more can be said of what Waupaca needs and offers advantages for than of what she has. As to the enterprises now established here, detailed information can be found elsewhere in this book, where they are treated separately under the head of "Representa-tive Business Men and Industries". They will be found to include flouring mills, woolen mills, planing mills, sash, door and blind factories, wagon and carriage works, extensive granite works, foundries and machine shops, brick yards, marble works, tanneries, breweries, bottling works, and the usual variety of small manufacturing. The granite works, located on the South Branch of the Little Wolf river, four miles from the city, give employment to more men than any other single industry here, the number varying from seventy-five to one hundred and twenty-five, a great proportion of whom are residents of this city. With the building of a spur track of the Wisconsin Central railroad to the quarry, now contemplated, it is expected that the working force will be increased to three hundred or more. The quality of this granite, susceptible of a high and beautiful polish, is unexcelled. Large columns and trimmings for building purposes have been shipped to Chicago, Kansas City, Omaha and various other cities throughout the country. This quarry supplied granite for the Wisconsin monuments on the battle-field of Gettysburg.
The Waupaca river furnishes an abundance of power for small manu-facturing within the city limits, and all along its course are places where power can be easily improved at little cost. This is equally true in regard to Crystal river and the South Branch. The former furnishes power for the Waupaca Woolen Mills; on the latter a granite quarry was opened, and power sufficient for the extensive works was readily developed at that immediate place. On the Waupaca three dams within a distance of less than a mile give power for the electric light plant, two 100-barrel flouring mills, and a planing mill, sash, door and blind factory. At the site of the Waupaca Star Mills there is fifty-horse power to spare, conveniently located in the heart of the city, on a spur railroad track, with dam already built, and the stone foundation of a former mill yet in fair condition. This improved power can be purchased or leased from Baldwin & Bailey at a good bargain if it is devoted to actual manu-facturing. Such is also the case with an unimproved power owned by Mrs. Brainard, about a mile above the Star mills, where there is a natural fall of nine feet in forty rods and with a power owned by Winfield Scott, still nearer the Star mills. There is no lack of available water power in and near Waupaca, adequate to the requirements of small manufacturing
RESIDENCE OF GEORGE DIRIMPLE.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
- and the raw material for a great variety of such manufacturing is also close at hand. It is found in all the woods suitable for hubs and spokes, staves and headings, pails, chairs, woodenware, paper pulp, etc., - with clay for brick and tiles, corn and potatoes for starch, and in short a host of other forms for enterprises of this sort, as would be readily apparent to any one interested. While it is perhaps true that an interior town like this, with as yet but one railroad, cannot hope to become a manufacturing city in the common acceptance of the term, in recounting these advantages, and in the expectation of seeing some of them improved, Waupaca cannot be charged with fixing her aspirations too high. To any who would investigate these things with a view to locating here it can be said that they would receive from the city as a municipality, and from business men in general, all the substantial encouragement, support and concessions to be expected from a public-spirited community knowing its needs and anxious to supply them.
It has been said that the rate of taxation is uniformly low. Following are figures showing the valuation of Waupaca city property and the total taxes on the same as apportioned by the county board for the past six years, from 1882 to 1887 inclusive. The per cent of taxation is also given:
Year. Valuation. Tax. Per Cent.
1882 …. $192,000 …. $6,409.93 …. .032
1883 …. 192,000 …. 7,000.00 …. .036
1884 …. 192,000 …. 6,126.29 …. .031
1885 …. 210,000 …. 7,889.23 …. .037
1886 …. 220,000 …. 5,663.02 …. .025
1887 …. 225,000 …. 4,858.31 …. .021
It is gratifying to note that for the last three years, while the valuation of property has been increasing, the tax has as steadily decreased, until in 1887 the rate was within one mill of two per cent. This is largely due to a local cause – to the completion of a wide range of public improve-ments, and that, too, in such a state of permanency that their main-tenance now necessitates little expense.
REPRESENTATIVE BUSINESS MEN AND INDUSTRIES.
In this department the purpose is to treat in brief review the individ-ual interests of all who are represented in the advertising pages, the aim being to give the paragraphs the nature of business notices rather than biographical sketches. In the matter of dates and incidents, however, care has been taken to make them as nearly accurate as the short time given to the preparation of the work would allow. The list is long, but incomplete – though not because of any bias on the part of the publisher. It was impossible to adhere strictly to alphabetical order throughout; but the index in the front of the book will tend to lessen the inconvenience.
Baldwin & Bailey, Waupaca Star Mills – No name is more familiar in Waupaca and the surrounding country than that of M.R. Baldwin, the senior member of this firm, and no man has been more intimately connected with every step in the progress of the place since his settle-ment here in 1850. Mr. Baldwin was born in Genessee county, N.Y., March 25, 1830. Coming west in September, 1850, he remained at Racine, Wis., until the following spring, teaching school during the winter. In the spring of 1851 he settled on a farm in the town of Lind, this county, making that his home for three years, combining farming with teaching school in winter. Selling the farm in 1854, he removed to Iola and engaged in the lumber and mill business with the Wipf brothers, the firm purchasing a saw mill and building the first grist mill. Selling out in 1865, he came to Waupaca in the spring of 1866, engaging in partnership with Messrs. Dayton and Dewey, under the firm name of Dayton, Dewey & Co., and with them purchasing the old "City Grist Mills" from Ritz & Koontz. This property was converted into a woolen mill the following year, when the firm admitted J.W. Evans to partnership. In the same year, 1866, the firm of Dayton, Dewey & Co. built the new "City Mills" at the falls, the interest in the woolen mill having been sold to Mr. Evans. This new mill was burned in 1871. It was rebuilt of brick the following year, and, after various changes in the management and the firm name, Mr. Baldwin came into sole possession of the property in 1874, soon afterward taking S.T. Oborn into partner-ship, from which time the business was conducted under the firm name of Baldwin & Oborn until the second destruction of the mill by fire, January 26, 1883. It was not rebuilt. In the spring of 1884 Mr. Baldwin associated himself with R. Bailey, under the firm name of Baldwin & Bailey, the firm purchasing the "Waupaca Star Roller Mills" from Lord
WAUPACA STAR ROLLER MILLS.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
Brothers. Since that time there has been no change in this well-known manufacturing enterprise except the making of continued improvements that keep it well abreast of all competitors, as extensive business and wide shipments prove. It is a roller mill with capacity for 100 barrels of flour and two carloads of feed per day. A spur track to the mill from the Wisconsin Central railroad affords good facilities for shipment through-out Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan and other states of the Northwest. Mr. Baldwin has represented the Third ward of the city on the county board for five years, being at present a prominent member of that body, keeping always at heart the best interest of the whole county, while faithfully maintaining the rights of his own constituency. He has been an active member of the common council of the city for five or six terms, and for the past four years has represented the local lodge of the Ancient Order of United Workmen in the Grand Lodge of Wisconsin. Mr. Baldwin is a third-party prohibitionist, and is now president of the prohibition club.
R. Bailey, of the above firm, was born at Racine, Wis., July 18, 1853, removing with his parents to Waupaca in 1856 and receiving his schooling here. In 1871 he engaged in the drug business, continuing it with success until 1884, when he became associated with M.R. Baldwin in the purchase of the present business to which he is now giving his whole attention. There is no young man in the city more worthy of the success he has achieved, for it is due to hard work and reliance upon good business principles.
C.P. Dahl, Boots and Shoes – Mr. Dahl was born February 26, 1852, at Hoyer, in Sleswig, then a province of Denmark. In early life he learned the shoemaker's trade. In 1871, Sleswig having fallen under Prussian control, he sailed for America to escape becoming a Prussian conscript and being forced to fight against his native country in the war then progressing. After a year and a half in Chicago and Indiana, he located at New London, this county, in 1874, removing to Waupaca in 1883 and purchasing the boot and shoe business of M. Hansen. Mr. Dahl's success in Waupaca is such as to cause him no regret for the steps that brought him here.
A.O. Dutton, Bakery and Confectionery – Mr. Dutton is a Waupaca man in every sense of the words, having been born in this city Novem-ber 1, 1857, and passing most of his life in this locality. He first engaged in his present business here about six years ago, and, with few intermissions, has continued it successfully ever since. His bakery, ice cream and oyster parlors and confectionery and cigar store in the Roberts block, Main street, are models in their line. The prosperity of this business but marks the popularity of the young proprietor.
F.C. Hansen, Tinware and Hardware. Was born in Stege-Mien, Den-mark, October 4, 1837. At the age of fourteen years he commence his apprenticeship at the tinners' trade, working at it during his residence in his native land with the exception of sixteen months in the army in 1860-61, and again of nine months in the artillery service in 1863-64, in the war with Prussia. Coming to America in 1867, he settled first at Neenah, Wis., but removed to Waupaca the following year. He worked at his trade and farming at different times till 1875, when he established his present business.
M. Hansen, Boots and Shoes, was born in Lolland, Denmark, April 1, 1840. When fifteen years of age he learned the shoemakers' trade, at which he has worked ever since. He came from the old country to Osh-kosh in 1866, but after the first year he found his way to Waupaca, where he worked at his trade for different men for about ten years, when he commenced business for himself. He spent ten months in Denmark in 1872. In 1883, with his family, he made another ten-month visit to the old country, resuming business here on his return.
Orin Hall, Groceries and Jewelry – This well-known business man and prominent citizen is a "Green Mountain Boy", having been born at North Troy, Orleans county, Vermont, August 15, 1839. In 1843 his
RESIDENCE OF ORIN HALL.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
parents removed to St. Lawrence county, N.Y., where Orin lived till the age of sixteen years. Coming to Wisconsin in 1855, they settled first at Plover, Portage county. In the fall of 1861 Mr. Hall came to Waupaca, having occupied the interval in farming at Plover and in the town of Stockton, Portage county. At Waupaca he worked at the coopers' trade for three years in Adolph Sorenson's barrel factory on the east side of the river, making the first barrel turned out of that place. In the fall of 1865 he went overland to Colorado, remaining in the Central City gold mine for a year and a half. Returning in the winter of 1866-67, he was next engaged for three years in the furniture salesroom for N. Wolcott, and afterwards for three years as clerk in the grocery store of H. & H.C. Beadleston. At the expiration of this last service in 1873 he engaged in the grocery trade for himself. On the 9th of April, 1878, he purchased the jewelry stock and business of George Strickland. For the past ten years he has successfully combined these two branches of business, keeping both fully up to the exacting demands of the times. Mr. Hall is now serving his second term in the city council from the Second ward, and is as good an alderman as he is a good citizen in every other respect.
RESIDENCE OF C.R. HOFFMAN.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
Hole & Johnson, General Merchandise – Ole O. Hole is well known throughout the county. Though of foreign birth, his home has been in Wisconsin since the days of the territory. He was born at Gansdal, Norway, February 8, 1841, coming with his parents to America and set-tling in the town of Ixonia, Jefferson county, Wis., in 1848, remaining there until the spring of 1855, when they removed to New Hope, Portage county. In 1863 he entered upon a two-year clerkship in the New Hope grocery store of John Enelick. For ten years subsequent to the fall of 1865 he was in the general merchandise trade at Iola, at first in company with Louis Louison, but experiencing various minor business changes during that time. In 1875 he was elected register of deeds of Waupaca county and took up his residence at the county seat. He filled the office for two terms with marked efficiency, displaying those qualities which not only insured the faithful performance of official duty, but which have since made him a valuable citizen and successful business man. In 1880 he formed a partnership with Anton Johnson in the present general merchandise business.
Anton Johnson was born in Land, Norway, October 20, 1842. Coming to America at the age of twenty-five years, he settled in Carver county, Minn., remaining there as a day laborer three years. After traveling for a year through Wisconsin and Michigan, he reached Waupaca May 9, 1871, at first doing construction work on the Wiscon-sin Central railroad. After four years as the proprietor of a saloon, he assumed his present business relations with Ole O. Hole in 1880.
A.J. Holly, Furniture and Undertaking – This well-known business man was born in Allegheny county, New York, November 16, 1840. In early life he followed lumbering and boating till 1863, when he entered the Army of the Potomac with the Fourth regiment of New York infan-try. Serving through the war, he came west at its close, spending three months or more in Illinois and adjoining states before reaching Waupaca in December, 1865. Mr. Holly worked at his trade as a joiner till 1882, when, in partnership with C. Lamb, he engaged in the furniture trade. Purchasing his partner's interest in 1885, he has since that time conducted the business alone, and has found in its constant increase the just reward of unremitting hard work and the strictest regard for the pop-ular demand in his line. His trade is not confined to Waupaca and its neighborhood, but extends as far as Ashland and Rhinelander on the north, including intermediate points, as well as others in every direction. Though this business is but six years old, it has withstood the sharp rivalry of six competitors in its comparatively short existence and has witnessed the withdrawal of them all.
Charles R. Hoffman, Jewelry – It would be difficult, if not impossible, to find in any city of equal size a more metropolitan jewelry
establishment than that of C.R. Hoffman, in Waupaca – and he has built
it up from a small beginning here not longer ago than 1882. Mr. Hoff-man was born in Chicago, March 10, 1859. At the age of seventeen years he commenced his apprenticeship as a jeweler. After working at the bench three years, he entered the wholesale and retail jewelry house of Giles Brothers, corner of State and Washington streets, Chicago, remaining with them till he came to Waupaca in June, 1881, when he took up work at the bench for W. Chady. At the close of the first year's work he bought Mr. Chady's business, and stocked a store for himself. Since that time all demands of the jewelry trade have been promptly met. The courteous treatment of all patrons is inherent with him, not adopted as business policy. The growth of the business has within the past year necessitated the enlargement of the store and the material increase of stock.
RESIDENCE OF S.A. OAKS.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
M. Jensen, Meats and Poultry – Born in Thidsted, Denmark, January 21, 1850, Mr. Jensen came to this country and stopped at Oshkosh in 1872, working as a day-laborer and at butchering till his removal to Waupaca two years later, when he founded the business that his industry and ability have increased from year to year. It seems an apt illustration of the "survival of the fittest" that during his business career at Waupaca Mr. Jensen has seen the rise and fall of seventeen competitors.
J.F. Knudsen, Photographer, was born in Gustinge, Denmark, June 3, 1861. When he was eight years of age his parents settled at Ray-mond, Racine county, Wis., but removed to Neenah after two years. After fifteen years experience in photography, including service in Nee-nah, Oshkosh and other cities, he purchased his present business in Waupaca from H.J. Perkins in August, 1887. Though this is his first year here, Mr. Knudsen has already, by good business address and pronounced excellence of work, attained a degree of popularity and a reputation that insures his success in the art so long as he makes this city his home.
J.D. Koontz, Wagons, Carriages and Agricultural Implements – Here is a young man thoroughly dominated by the spirit of "hustle", who, by his own hard work, has reached the front ranks of business, and who possesses all the qualifications to keep there. J.D. Koontz was born at Medina, Outagamie county, this state, April 17, 1855. He came to Waupaca in 1864, when his father moved here and bought a half interest in the old "City Mills" with C.H. Ritz. Passing most of his time on a farm in the town of Lind until 1876, he next represented the Waupun nursery of J.C. Plum, his territory including Waupaca and Outagamie counties. In 1880 was laid the foundation of his present extensive business in this city. While his specialties are Studebaker wagons and McCormick harvesting machinery, he is agent for various other manu-facturers in either line; in fact, in agricultural implements, carrying in stock or handling almost all kinds of tools and machinery that can be used on the farm.
Ole Larson, Groceries – The subject of this paragraph was born in Denmark in 1826. He came to America in 1856, settling first at Pine Lake, Waukesha county, this state. After two years in other parts of Wisconsin and in Michigan, he came to Waupaca in 1858, finally locat-ing here in November, 1859, engaging first in shoemaking and continuing it till 1871, from which time he was for one year associated with Lars Peterson in the grocery trade. It was not until two years ago that he established his present grocery business, having been engaged in farming during the interval.
S.A. Oaks, General Merchandise – Mr. Oaks was born at Rose, Wayne county, New York, January 15, 1832. He passed his youth on a
farm, receiving his early education at a district school, afterwards attending the Red Creek Union Academy, at Red Creek, New York. For several years during his residence in the Empire State he was a school teacher and a traveling salesman. He came west first in 1855, pur-chasing several tracts of land in the towns of St. Lawrence and Little Wolf, this county, but returned to New York the same year. Coming again to Wisconsin in 1864, he settled on a farm in the town of St. Lawrence. He was chairman of his town for six consecutive years prior to 1877, and during the last three years of that time represented it on the county board. In 1873 he rented the farm and built a residence at Ogdensburg, living there till 1876, when he removed to Waupaca and engaged in his present business. Mr. Oaks was the first president of the Waupaca Co-operative Council of Patrons of Husbandry, incorporated in 1875, and was a leading spirit in the Granger movement during its continuance. He was largely instrumental in giving life to the Waupaca Fire Insurance Company, which was incorporated August 30, 1874, and was elected secretary of the company, serving in that capacity till January, 1881. Mr. Oaks has always taken an active interest in the cause of temperance, and in this as in all strictly business matters he has ever pursued a course that has won him the respect of a large acquaint-ance.
Elmer H. Palmer, Photographer, was born at Waupun, this state, March 3, 1862. His parents removed to Amherst in 1863, to the town of Dayton at the close of the war, and to Waupaca in 1871. Here Mr. Palmer improved the opportunity for an education offered by the Waupaca High School. His first business training was acquired in the store of A.R. Lea, where he remained from the time of leaving school until 1884, when he purchased the photography business of T. Rich, which he is at present conducting with the natural success of one who is not content without a thorough knowledge and wide application of all the marvelous improvements in his art. Mr. Palmer has worthily repre-sented the Third ward and the city in the common council, to which he was first elected in 1885. He has since been a working member of that
body, and is now secretary of the Business Men's Association. To Mr. Palmer is due much of the credit for the handsome illustrations of Wau-paca herewith presented.
H.R.R. Poppe, Druggist – The proprietor of the popular Lion drug store is a young man, and comparatively a new-comer in Waupaca. A paragraph combining a few incidents of his life will serve to show the steps by which he attained his present enviable position in business. He was born in Little Hammer, Norway, March 20, 1856. Coming to America in 1877, he located at Amherst, Portage county, Wis., where, after a year's schooling, he entered the drug store of Dr. T.H. Guernsey, remaining about two years. He next served two and one-half years as drug clerk for O.O. Wold, East Seventh street, St. Paul. After leaving the latter city, and taking a three months' trip through the Northwest, visiting prominent points in Dakota and Montana, he returned to this state and formed a partnership with Dr. M. Ravin in the drug business at Iola, this county, in 1880. Their store was subsequently removed from Iola to Scandinavia. In 1882 Mr. Poppe joined the Pharmaceutical Association at Oshkosh. In 1883 he traveled in Europe for about eight months. Returning, he established his present business in this city in 1884, gaining since that time a degree of prosperity that must be as gratifying to him as it is apparent to his friends. Mr. Poppe owns a branch drug store at Nelsonville, Portage county.
G.W. Raber, D.D.S., Dentist – Though, perhaps, Mr. Raber is the youngest professional man in the city, and one of the more newly acquired citizens, he comes well equipped to sustain and enlarge the practice built up by his brother, C.K. Raber, whom he succeeded the present year. He was born at McCordsville, Ind., November 8, 1864, and in early life spent five years in his father's general store at Paragon, the same state. For one year he was station agent at the latter place for the Indianapolis & Vincennes railroad company. In 1883-84 he attend-ed the dental department of the University of Pennsylvania, at Philadel-phia. Coming to Waupaca in May, 1884, he was associated with his brother in dental practice for about a year, when in 1885, he located at New London, this county, remaining one year. After another year's practice, this time at Grand Rapids, Wis., he attended, in 1887-88, a course of lectures at the Indiana Dental College, Indianapolis, taking his degree of D.D.S. last March. His return to Waupaca soon afterwards, when he succeeded to his brother's practice, was welcomed by the many friends he had previously made.
George Stoner, Harness Maker, is a business favorite, and deservedly heads the procession in his line. He was born July 22, 1860, in the town of Waupaca, where he passed his boyhood and worked on a farm until 1881, when he adopted harness making as a trade. In 1885 he engaged in that business here for himself. Being complete master of his trade, and combining with that essential good business qualifications, the continuation of his prosperity is as certain as its present existence.
C.S. Ogden, Attorney at Law and County Judge – "Judge" Ogden (by that rightful title has he been familiarly known in this county for nearly thirty years) was born at Cannonsville, Delaware county, N.Y., August 22, 1819. In his boyhood he attended the Knox-ville Academy, at Corning, N.Y. He came west to Niles, Mich., in 1834, removing to Wisconsin soon after her admission into the Union in 1848. He located at Plover, Portage county. He was in the lumber and merchandise business for three years, and for three years more was a farmer. In 1854 he came to this county and discovered the water power at the site of the present village of Og-densburg (so named in his honor). Here he built a store and put in it a $6,000 stock of goods before it was finished, and while his nearest neighbor lived three miles away in the woods. It was due mainly to the efforts of Judge Ogden that the place became a busy little village with strong hopes for county seat honors. It was not long after his settlement that he built a saw mill and a grist mill; but their destruction by fire in 1859 was not only the death blow to Ogdensburg as a place of any considerable importance, but the event that doubtless led to Judge Ogden's removal from the place. Though he rebuilt the mill and kept it running till 1866, he came to Waupaca in that year, and has resided here since. He studied law while at Ogdensburg, and was admitted to the bar at the first term of court ever held at Waupaca. Soon after coming to this place, Judge Ogden commenced the publication of the Waupaca County Republican, about the same time purchasing the Criterion from L.J. Perry and merging it with the new paper. He sold the Republican to C.M. Bright in 1872. To compile a list of the offices he has held – in Michigan and in Portage and Waupaca counties – would be perhaps impossible, even for the Judge himself. In this county he represented the town of St. Lawrence on the county board for a number of years, was elected district attorney in 1875, and county judge for the first time in 1860. This latter office he has held continuously since that time, with the exception of the one term of Judge Winfield Scott, who was elected in 1872. He is now finishing his sixth term, or twenty-fourth year, of service in that capacity. No stronger proof can be given of the strict integrity of the man and the confidence reposed in him by the people. The portrait herewith presented is an unusually good likeness.
The Post Publishing Company, The Waupaca Post – (E.E. Gordon, J.M. Ware, Jeff Woodnorth and George R. Woodnorth.) E.E. Gordon was born at Racine, Wis., September 11, 1854. Five years afterward his parents removed to Waupaca. After life on a neighboring farm, and schooling and printing office experience in this city, Mr. Gordon purchased the New London (Wis.) Times from J.A. Ogden in 1871, conducting that paper till the spring of 1880, when he returned to this city and bought the Waupaca Post from J.A. Ogden and H.K. Pitcher. He has since retained his connection with the paper, being associated at different times in its ownership with Will Stetson, J.A. Ogden, W.W. Gilmore, J.M. Ware, Jeff Woodnorth and George Woodnorth. In August, 1887, Mr. Gordon and L.J. Perry entered into a partnership and purchased the Mining Record, Ironwood, Mich., the former assuming the business management. Selling his interest in that paper to Frank Poll early in the year, he returned to Waupaca the present summer, taking charge of the business department of the Post.
Jeff Woodnorth was born in the city of New York, July 20, 1855. His parents came to Royalton, this county, when he was two years of age, and to Waupaca two years later. Jeff lived on a farm near the village and attended school in town until the spring of 1873, when he commenced his apprenticeship as a printer in the office of the Waupaca County Republican, then published by C.M. Bright, remaining there till Mr. Bright sold the paper in 1880, or nearly seven years. During the last four years of this service he was in partnership with his brother in the drug business, the firm being J.H. Woodnorth & Bro. After several years on a farm in the town of Lanark, Portage county, he read law with E.L. Browne from January, 1885, till March, 1887. In 1886 he was first elected city clerk, and has been twice re-elected in recognition of faithful service. During the first term of the present year he held the office of Noble Grand of Waupaca Lodge No. 208, I.O.O.F., and is a member of the Grand Encampment of the state. In March, 1887, he took hold of job printing in the Post office, assuming the management of the business the following August. With his brother, George W. Wood-north, he purchased the interest of W.W. Gilmore in the paper in April, 1888, and has since been in editorial charge. He is vice president of the Waupaca Opera House Company.
George R. Woodnorth was born in the town of Royalton, this county, February 20, 1857. His early life is a parallel with that of his brother, except that he entered the same printing office two years after Jeff did, and remained but two years. Since 1877 he has been chiefly occupied on the Lanark farm, passing two winters, however, in the drug store of his brother, Frank Woodnorth, at Manawa. Returning to this city in November, 1886, he finally joined Jeff in the purchase of a quarter interest in the Post.
I.P. Lord, Attorney at Law – Irving P. Lord is the eldest son of George L. Lord, a pioneer of 1850. He was born at Waupaca, October 10, 1858. Attending the High School in early youth, he was a graduate in its first class in 1876. After spending a year on the Pacific slope as a pleasure seeker and a teacher, he returned and for one year pursued a special course of study at Lawrence University, Appleton. Afterwards he studied law with F.F. Wheeler, at Waupaca, and was admitted to the bar in March, 1881. He has since been engaged successfully in his profession, combining it to some extent with insurance business. Mr. Lord was city attorney by appointment in 1884. For a young man he has an unusually large acquaintance throughout the state and else- where, and this advantage he has always loyally used for the good of Waupaca in every way possible. He was one of the first to take an active interest in calling outside attention to the advantages of Waupaca as a summer resort and a desirable place of residence. Mr. Lord is a director of the Waupaca Opera House Company.
Nels Jensen, Meats, Fish and Poultry – Nels Jensen was born in Thidsted, Denmark, June 18, 1858. In 1874 he commenced the trade of carriage making, serving a regular apprenticeship of four years. He came from Denmark directly to Waupaca, arriving here August 26, 1878, and worked for his brother Matt at different occupations, including butchering and farming, till 1884, when he engaged in his present business.
E.C. Williams, Hardware and Tinware – Mr. Williams was born at Palmyra, Jefferson county, Wis., January 21, 1858. Passing his youth with his parents at that place and at Waterford, Racine county, he went to Marinette, Wis., in 1874, and in 1877 commenced the tinners' trade at that place, making it his home and working at his trade there most of the time until he came to Waupaca in July, 1887, when he purchased the interest of James Simcock in the old and well established hardware business of Simcock Brothers. The firm was Simcock & Williams until July of the present year, when Mr. Williams purchased the interest of his partner, William Simcock, and assumed sole management of the busi-ness. Although a newcomer, he has already given evidence of qualities that are bound to increase the trade even beyond the prosperity his pre-decessors have enjoyed.
A.W. Hollenbeck & Co., Waupaca Bottling Works – Mr. Hollen-beck, the founder of this growing business, was born at Pine River, Waushara county, Wis., June 20, 1857. At sixteen years of age he com-menced his trade as a moulder at Fort Atkinson, remaining there five years. After working at Geneva Lake, Jefferson, Winona and other cities, he located at Marinette and followed his trade there for eight years. Coming to Waupaca in May, 1887, he was quick to recognize the value of the pure springs on Crystal river, within the city limits, and at once established the present works. At the close of the first year J. Bowers was admitted to partnership in the business, which has so far exceeded the expectations of its founder that the firm will next spring double the capacity of the works. They are making constantly increasing shipments in all directions, but principally northward, sending from sixty to seventy cases of goods per week to Stevens Point alone.
J. Bowers, of the above firm, is a native of Yorkshire, England. He was born November 14, 1834. His life work has been the manufactur-ing of woolen goods, his experience therein dating from 1840, at Morley, England, where he was engaged till he came to America in 1865. Locating at Laconia, N.H., after a year he moved to Boston, thence to Connecticut, and to Wisconsin in 1869, living two years in Waukesha county. In 1871 he came to Waupaca, where he has since occupied his present position as foreman of J.W. Evans' woolen mill, with the exception of an absence in southern Wisconsin and in Memphis, Tenn., dating from the spring of 1875 till 1883. During the present year he became associated with A.W. Hollenbeck in the owner-ship of the Waupaca Bottling Works.
Myron Reed, Attorney at Law – The requirement of brevity in a book such as this renders it impossible to sketch, as they deserve, the inci-dents of the life of a man of such prominence and wide influence as Myron Reed. He was born at Messina, St. Lawrence county, N.Y., September 19, 1836. Receiving a common school education at this native town, he afterward attended the union academy at Belleville, N.Y., entering the law school at Albany University in 1857, and being admit-ted to the bar upon examination the following year. In 1859 he came to Waupaca, forming a law partnership with M.S. Sessions, and continuing it till 1871. In that year he was elected state senator over his former partner who was then the incumbent. Being nominated for a second term, he declined to run. In local affairs he has been a leading character, before the organization of the city in 1875, and since – having filled the positions of clerk, supervisor and president of the old village, and alderman, supervisor and mayor of the city. He was the second mayor, holding the office in 1876. In that year he was conspicuous for good service for the city in the apportionment of the bonded railroad indebtedness between the newly organized city and the town of Waupaca. Mr. Reed has long been a prominent Mason, and has been High Priest of Waupaca Chapter, R.A.M., ever since its organization in 1868, as well as for many years Master of Waupaca Lodge No. 123, F. and A.M. In June of the present year Mr. Reed's popularity and the qualities that fit him so well for high position received marked recognition in his election as Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Wisconsin, F. and A.M. This places him at the head of about 230 lodges throughout the state. In politics Mr. Reed is a democrat; but such a democrat, and such a man, that, when he comes up for congress (as he undoubtedly will some day), hundreds of staunch republicans who know him will meet their first temptation to vote the democratic ticket at an election involving national politics – and many will yield to it, too. A writer in the Oshkosh Times in 1886 said of Mr. Reed: "He is a quiet, modest, unassuming man, but of great power and keen judgment in law and politics, and in business generally. He is not a man who cherishes lofty political ambitions; and although he has been frequently urged to accept a congressional nomination he has stubbornly refused. But it is within the possibilities, and not highly improbable, that Myron Reed will yet be the candidate of the Ninth district democrats."
Winfield Scott, Real Estate and Abstract of Title, is a son of one of the old pioneers of '49, David Scott, of whom mention is made in a preceding part of this book, and is himself an old settler. He was born at Attica, N.Y., in 1833. In early life Mr. Scott was in partnership with his father in an extensive milling and merchandise business at Attica. The destruction of property by fire in 1847 caused him to come west three years later. Locating first at Appleton, Wis., he was in the employ of Reeder Smith for five years, during which time he became secretary of the Winnebago Lake and Fox River Plank Road Company. He was the first telegraph operator at Appleton. He came to this place and engaged in his present business in 1856, and has met with continued prosperity, being one of the heaviest property holders in the city. In 1859 and 1860 he was clerk of the circuit court and deputy county treasurer. In 1861 he was elected clerk of the court, and was re-elected in 1863. By appoint-ment and election, Mr. Scott has filled, as principal or deputy, nearly all the county offices in a strong republican county, in spite of the fact that he is a sturdy democrat; and he was a most efficient officer in all these positions. He was elected county judge in 1872, serving four years.
E.L. & Paul Browne, Attorneys at Law – There are doubtless many in this state and elsewhere whose first thought, upon mention of Waupaca, is that it is the home of E.L. Browne, who for years has occupied a high position at the Wisconsin bar, wielding an influence in both law and politics that has made his name familiar among public men of the state. From an authorized sketch in the United States Biographical Dictionary the following is condensed: E.L. Browne was born at Granville, Washington county, N.Y., June 27, 1830. He worked on his father's farm and attended school until he was fifteen years of age, when he removed with his father to Wisconsin, settling on a farm in Milwaukee county. After the first year there Mr. Browne spent much of his time at the select school of Amasa Buck, Milwaukee. Com- mencing to read law at nineteen years of age, he was admitted to the bar at Fond du Lac in 1851, practicing first at Dubuque, Iowa, and afterwards spending a year in Milwaukee. In November, 1852, he settled at Waupaca. He was state senator from this district for two terms, in 1861-62 and in 1867-68. Though a new member in 1861, he took an active part in all matters in which this was interested in pertaining to the war, no man in the senate showing more patriotic enthusiasm in that regard. He was on the judiciary committee during the four sessions, being its chairman in 1868. He was defeated for congress in 1862, because 3,000 republicans from his district were in the army. He was a delegate to the republican national convention in 1868, Mr. Browne is a Royal Arch Mason, and has been Master of Waupaca Lodge No. 123, F. and A.M. In the campaign now progressing, Mr. Browne was a candidate for the con-gressional nomination in the Ninth district. He received the support of the county delegation, but was defeated in the convention. The fol-lowing editorial reference to Ninth district politics, made by the Mil-waukee Sentinel some weeks before the convention, is just as true now as then, if not so timely: "If the district wants a representative who can take rank among the men who really do the work of legislation, who will be heard in the committees and on the floor of the house, it probably could not do better than to elect Mr. Browne." But the district has chosen a continuance of "silent member" representation. In the late republican state convention, Mr. Browne made the speech nominating W.D. Hoard, the successful candidate for the gubernatorial nomination.
Paul Browne is associated with his father, E.L. Browne, in an exten-sive law practice. He was born at Waupaca, August 18, 1858. Receiving his preparatory education at the Waupaca High School, he attended the Wisconsin State University, at Madison, for four years, from 1875 to 1879 inclusive. Upon leaving school, he continued the study of law with his father, and was admitted to the bar in January, 1882. He has been a member of the county board of supervisors for five consecutive terms, from 1883 to 1887 inclusive, taking an active and intelligent interest in county affairs from the first. A strong endorsement of his official course in found in his long term of service. He held, by appointment, the office of city attorney during the years 1883, 1885 and 1886. Mr. Browne took a lively interest in the organiza-tion of the Business Men's Association in 1884, and was one of the first directors. He is secretary of the Waupaca Opera House Company.
J.W. Evans, Waupaca Woolen Mills – Since 1884 Mr. Evans has been sole proprietor of the above well known mill, and has pushed its pro-ducts with such success that they are very generally distributed through-out the northern parts of Wisconsin, Michigan and Minnesota. He was born in Wales in 1843. His parents came to America and settled in Oneida county, N.Y., when he was a child. He removed soon to Madison county, where, at the age of eight years, he commenced work in a woolen mill. During the war he served eighteen months with the Third regiment of New York light artillery, in the army of the James. Coming to Waupaca in 1866, he bought an interest with Dayton, Dewey & Co. in the old City Grist Mill and took charge of remodeling it into a woolen factory, soon purchasing all other interests in the property and owning it alone till 1879, when Charles Evans was admitted as a partner with a quarter interest. The latter withdrew in 1884, leaving the enter-prise, as at present, under the sole management of J.W. Evans. The factory gives regular employment during the year to about fifteen hands. The good quality of the product is well attested by the enduring demand for it wherever introduced. Mr. Evans was in the city council in 1878, and has for three years been on the county board from the Second ward. He is present commander of Garfield Post No. 21, G.A.R. Mr. Evans has recently accepted the nomination of the prohibition party for mem-ber of the assembly from this district.
Woodnorth & Whipple, Druggists – If the fact that J.H. Woodnorth, the senior member of this firm, has been so often called to official posi-tion is not wholly due to the ability fitting him so well for public place, then it may be accounted for by his generous disposition as a friend and his public spirit as a citizen. He was born in New York, December 17, 1843. In his youth he attended the Fourteenth street academy in that city. Removing with his parents to Royalton, this county, in 1856, and to Waupaca two years later, he finished his schooling in this city. In 1863 he enlisted as a private in Company G, Twenty-first Wisconsin Infantry, and served through the Atlanta campaign. He was promoted first lieutenant in 1861, and made chief clerk in the inspector general's office, attached to the staff of General George H. Thomas. Fighting at the battles of Franklin and Nashville, he was brevetted captain at the former, but was not mustered in. Mr. Wood-north's first training in the business he now follows was gained in the drug store of Ole Oleson, in this city, after his return from the war. After four years in merchandise trade, he established his present business in 1874. He was chief engineer of the
fire department for seven years, from
1872 to 1878 inclusive. Though al-ways a staunch democrat, in 1879 he ran for the office of register of deeds as an independent against a republican opponent, and was elected in a strong republican county. He was re-elected to the office in 1881, holding it three years under the amendment to the state constitution establishing biennial sessions of the legislature. He has served nine years as city superintendent of schools. In 1883 he was Noble Grand of Waupaca Lodge No. 208, I.O.O.F., and has held all the other offices in that lodge; in 1876 he was the first Chief Patriarch of Centennial Encampment No. 63, I.O.O.F.; has held various offices in the Grand Encampment of Wisconsin, being Grand Patriarch in 1887, and in September of the present year he was the representative of the Grand Lodge at the meeting of the Sovereign Grand Lodge at Los Angeles, Cal. He has been District Deputy Grand Master, I.O.O.F., for twelve consecutive years. He was the first Commander of Garfield Post No. 21, G.A.R., in 1882, and Junior Vice Department Commander of the state in the same year. In 1883-84, under special appointment of the Department Commander, he mustered in and organized the G.A.R. posts at Fremont, New London, Antigo and Manawa. He is one of the trustees of the Wisconsin Veterans' Home, at Waupaca, and secretary of the executive committee. His connection with this institution dates from August, 1887. He was largely instrumental in securing its location here. Mr. Woodnorth was a presidential elector in 1884. For four years prior to 1887 he was chairman of the Waupaca county democratic committee, and in May of this year he concluded four years of service on the state central committee. Two years ago he was the democratic nominee for the state senate from this district, but was defeated. In March, 1888, he was appointed and confirmed register of the United States land office, at Menasha.
F.R. Whipple was born at Clayton, Winnebago county, Wis., February 26, 1849. In 1861 he removed with his parents to Portage county. In 1870 he attended the Northwestern Business College, at Galesburg, Ill., receiving a diploma. His first business experience was at Spencer, Wis., in 1876, as bookkeeper and in charge of a store for A.L. Robinson & Co. This service he continued two years, or till his appointment, in 1888, as postmaster at Spencer, which office he held six years, being also engaged in the drug business for the last five years of that time. Leaving Spencer in 1884, he conducted a drug business at Sauk Rapids, Minn., for six months. Coming from the latter place to Waupaca, January 1, 1886, he purchased a half interest with J.H. Woodnorth, and is now giving his whole attention to a business that has been strengthened and increased by his connection with it.
W.C. Baldwin & Bro., Wholesale Potatoes – The short but successful business career of W.C. Baldwin demonstrates that there is some times room enough for the boys at the old home, if they will only make it for themselves by determined push in whatever they undertake. W.C. Bald-win is a Waupaca man in everything but birth, having been born at Iola, this county, January 18, 1860. In 1866 his parents moved to Waupaca, where he received his education at the High School. At the age of seventeen years he entered the drug store of R. Bailey, in this city, serving five years, and receiving a pharmaceutical certificate. Since 1882 he has been engaged in handling farm produce, and in general speculation, making a specialty of the justly celebrated Waupaca pota-toes – being at present decidedly the heaviest shipper of that staple pro-duct to outside markets.
RESIDENCE OF W.H. HOLMES.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
F.S. Baldwin is a brother of W.C., and has but recently become associated with him as a partner, though he has for the past five years been connected with the business, both as a buyer and as a representa-tive on the road. He was born at Iola, December 31, 1861. Receiving his education in this city, where he has lived since boyhood, he is a graduate of the High School, class of '79. Teaching school in the winter of 1879-80, he afterwards entered his father's flouring mill and served an apprenticeship of three years. In 1882 he formed a partnership with E.E. Gordon in the grain trade at New London, the firm building an ele-vator there that year. He was in this business two years. Since that time he has been engaged chiefly with his brother in produce buying, much of the success of that business being due to his activity and good judg-ment. He is now president of the Young Men's Republican Club.
W.H. Holmes, Waupaca County Republican – Mr. Holmes was born at Concord, Jackson county, Mich., December 18, 18813. When he was five years of age his parents removed to Pulaski, same county, where he spent most of his time for ten years on his father's farm, and where he received his early education at a district school two miles from home. In the winter of 1858-59 he attended the East Side Union School, at Jackson, Mich., and in the following summer commenced his appren-ticeship as a printer in the office of the Jackson Weekly Citizen, at that time edited by C.V. Deland, afterwards colonel of the First Michigan sharpshooters. Remaining in that office till the winter of 1861-62, Mr. Holmes then attended the First Union School of Jackson for six months, soon afterwards taking the foremanship of the Ann Arbor Courier, retaining it till the fall of 1862. From this time till 1870, with the excep-tion of two years back on the old farm, Mr. Holmes was foreman or business manager of various papers in Marshall, Kalamazoo and Charlotte, Mich. In 1870 he entered the office of the Hastings Banner as foreman, holding that place, and a business interest part of the time, till the spring of 1873, when he purchased a half interest in the Hastings Journal, of which he was business manager and assistant editor till the spring of 1881, at which time he removed to Ripon, Wis., taking the foremanship of the Ripon Free Press and holding it till early in 1882, when he was elected secretary of the Northwestern Colony Association, in that capacity assisting in locating a colony and laying out the town of Park City, Montana, on the Northern Pacific railroad. In January, 1883, he purchased the Waupaca County Republican. The paper is rewarding his management with considerable more than the average success of the county publisher.
W. Chady, Stationery, Books, Confectionery and Musical Instruments – He was born near Prague, Austria, in 1834, and came to America with his parents in 1855, settling at Hartford, Conn., but removing two years afterwards to Waupaca, where he commenced work as a carpenter. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, Twenty-first regiment of Wis-consin volunteer infantry. He was disabled for three months by a wound received in the battle of Perryville, October 8, 1862; was orderly in a New Albany, Ind., hospital for a year, and then joined his regiment on Lookout Mountain. At Marietta, Ga., he fell out of the march to the sea, and went back on sick leave, doing hospital duty at Lookout Mountain till the close of the war. Returning to Waupaca, he was in the saloon business for a year, but since that time has handled groceries, jewelry, stationery and musical instruments. He was for many years in partnership with E.B. Thompson, former postmaster, or until the latter's removal to Virginia in 1884. In 1882 Mr. Chady sold his jewelry stock to C.R. Hoffman, and has since confined his trade to the lines above noted.
RESIDENCE OF C.J. SHEARER.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
Shearer & Jeffers, Eagle Planing Mill – C.J. Shearer, the head of this prominent manufacturing industry, was born at Waupaca, July 5, 1858. After attending school here he entered the planing mill of his step-father, John Jardine, gaining a thorough knowledge of the business in seven years of service. In 1879 he attended the Eau Claire Seminary for a year. After a short but unusually successful experience in handling pianos and organs at Chippewa Falls, he returned to Waupaca and com-menced the study of law with E.L. Browne, continuing it two years. Upon the death of his step-father in 1882, three months before he should have been admitted to the bar, he assumed management at the planing mill, conducting the business the first year in the firm of Jardine & Chamberlain, then buying the Chamberlain interest and enough of the Jardine interest to make him equal owner with O. Hambleton, who had purchased the remainder. The firm was Hambleton & Shearer for four years, or until T.L. Jeffers bought out Mr. Hambleton in February, 1888, when it took the present form of Shearer & Jeffers. Mr. Shearer was city clerk in 1881, and was elected to the common council from the Second ward in 1885, for two years. The Eagle Planing Mill employs about ten men throughout the year, the number at times being far in ex-cess of that. During the past summer the firm built a large addition to the mill, and put in much new and improved machinery. Aside from the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds, the firm deals in lumber, lath and shingles, and does contracting and building. The business was founded in 1859 by C.H. Allen, now of Omro, coming into the possession of John Jardine in 1865. (For T.L. Jeffers see elsewhere, as per index.)
Knight & Nelson, Carriage Making and Blacksmithing – Page Knight was born at Oshkosh, December 9, 1852. When he was two years of age his parents moved to Waupaca. In 1866 he went to Parma, Monroe county, N.Y., and learned the carriage-making trade with his uncle, William J. Dunn, remaining with him until 1875, when he returned to Waupaca and established his present business in connection with Jacob Nelson, who manages the blacksmithing department. In 1887 Mr. Knight was elected alderman from the First ward for two years. He has been a fireman ever since his coming here in 1875, being now foreman of Hose Company No. 1.
Jacob Nelson was born in Maribo, Denmark, July 8, 1838. From the time when he was fifteen years of age till he came to America in 1867 he worked at blacksmithing, with the exception of ten months in 1864, when he served in the war waged against Denmark by Prussia and Austria. After coming to Waupaca, in July, 1864, he worked for eight years for Sam Silverthorn and P.A. House, engaging in business for himself in 1872, and three years afterwards becoming associated with Page Knight under the above firm name. Making a specialty of fine car-riage building, they are doing their full share of work in that line.
W.J. Chamberlain, Waupaca Brick Yard – Real Estate and Pension Agency – Mr. Chamberlain was born April 10, 1826, at Ellsworth, Hancock county, Maine, where he passed the early years of his life in mercantile pursuits. Coming west in 1851, he settled on a farm in the town of Dayton, this county, on the 14th of May of that year. With the exception of the year 1856, when he was in business in Waupaca, Mr. Chamberlain was a resident of the town of Dayton till 1875, dividing his time between farming and mercantile business at Rural, of which village he was postmaster for fourteen years. He served as clerk, treasurer and chairman of the town of Dayton for a number of years, and in 1875 was elected county treasurer. To this office he was twice re-elected, his last term expiring January 1, 1882. From 1880 he was a member of the board of education of this city for seven consecutive years; was city treasurer in 1882 and 1883, and is now serving his fourth term as alder-man from the Fourth ward, and his second term as president of the city council. In 1881 he was one of the incorporators of the Greenwood Park Association, being also its treasurer and one of the directors. Mr. Chamberlain's brick yard is located on the Waupaca river about two miles east of the city. Its machinery, consisting of Marin's latest improvements, is driven by water power, and all brick are rack-dried under cover. The yard's capacity is one million brick per year. It gives employment to thirteen men and four boys during a season of four months. The quality of the product is excellent. The court house, school house and nearly all the business blocks of this city are built of this brick; and during the single season of 1887 250,000 brick from this yard were shipped to Marshfield, Wis., alone. Contractors there declared them the best brick used in rebuilding that city after the destructive fire of May, 1887. Mr. Chamberlain's successful experience as a real estate and pension agent dates from 1862, at Rural.
CRESCENT ROLLER MILLS.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
F.B. Vosburg, Vosburg House – In the Vosburg House Waupaca has a hotel in every way worthy of the place. The traveling public is well acquainted with F.B. Vosburg as the man who has successfully catered to their wants at Waupaca for the past twenty years. He is a native of Gowanda, N.Y., but came west previous to the war. In 1864 he came to Waupaca from Fond du Lac, Wis., where, for five years, he had been in charge of the Fond du Lac and Stevens Point express route. In 1869 he purchased the old Smith Hotel from E.I. Putnam. This house, a ram-bling, two-story frame building, was burned in the extensive fire of May 16, 1872. Within ten weeks after the fire the present hotel, a three-story, 50x60 foot brick structure, and well appointed throughout, was opened to the public. It has ever since been owned and managed by F.B. Vos-burg, and is known far and near as a first-class house in every respect.
Roberts & Oborn, Crescent Roller Mills – R.N. Roberts, the senior partner of this firm being briefly sketched in another place, it remains to note, in connection with the Crescent Roller Mills, a few of the incidents in the business life of S.T. Oborn, who is in immediate management of the enterprise. He was born at Ulysses, Schuyler county, N.Y., February 14, 1849. At an early age he came with his parents to Neenah, Wis., at which place, when eighteen years of age, he commenced the milling business, having previously attended Baldwin University, at Berea, Ohio, for three years. Following milling in Neenah, Chicago and other places until 1876, he came to Waupaca in the spring of that year and at first took charge of the City Mills for Dayton, Baldwin & Co. In 1878 he purchased an interest in the property, the firm becoming Baldwin & Oborn, and so continuing till the mill was burned on the 26th of January, 1884. In the summer of 1884, associated with R.N. Roberts under the firm name of Roberts & Oborn, he built the Crescent Mills, having them ready for operation in September of that year. This is one of the best equipped mills in the state; and for its size (its capacity being 100 barrels of flour per day) it has no superior, being fitted with all the latest improvements in machinery – the best that money can buy. The
firm makes a specialty of furnishing lumbermen. A railroad track at the doors of the mill is a convenience in its shipments to all parts of Wis-consin and neighboring states.
RESIDENCE OF S.T. OBORN.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
A.G. Nelson & Co., Waupaca Planing Mill – Lumber, Lath and Shin-gles – A.G. Nelson is one of the few natives of Sweden who found their way to Waupaca and remained here. The place would gladly welcome others of his character. He was born in Warmland, June 15, 1849. Be-ginning at the age of fifteen years, he served two years at his trade as a carpenter and joiner, and was then for a year and a half in the wholesale grocery house of an uncle at Gottenburg. Immigrating to America, he reached Waupaca August 1, 1871, and began work for Jardine & Howlett in the Eagle Planing Mill, remaining there two years and a half. In 1873 he was in partnership with his brother, J.P. Nelson, and Ole Olson in the purchase of the planing mill from C.H. Ritz, the firm name being Nelson, Olson & Co. till the burning of the property on the 14th of July, 1877. The mill was rebuilt and in operation within three months, under the ownership of J.P. & A.G. Nelson, to which style the firm name remained until Charles Churchill purchased J.P. Nelson's one-half interest last spring, when it became A.G. Nelson & Co. The origin of this business was in 1864 or 1865, when S.R. Sherwin, of Waupaca, and George W. Taggart, now of Weyauwega, built the first mill. The firm handles on an average a million feet of lumber per year, giving regular employment in the mill and yard to from five to eight men. There is at present a project on foot for the removal of this business to the east side of the river, not far from the Waupaca Star Mills, where a larger mill will be built, the yard room increased, and where will be had the added shipping facilities of spur railroad tracks. Mr. Nelson was for three or four years an alderman from the First ward; has represented that ward on the county board; and is now a member of that body from the Fourth ward. In 1885 he was elected to the state legislature from the First Assembly district of Waupaca county, serving one term. He is president of the Waupaca Electric Light Association.
Charles Evans, Boots, Shoes and Groceries – He was born at Newtown, Wales, April 7, 1851, but while he was yet a child his parents came to this country and settled in New York, first in Madison county for a few years, and then at Marcellus, Onondaga county, where, at an early age, he commenced work in the woolen mills. He came to Wisconsin first in the fall of 1868; but in 1869 he returned to New York, again working in the mills. In the winter of 1872-73 he attended school at Cassonovia Seminary. In 1879 he came to Waupaca and purchased an interest in the woolen mills with J.W. Evans, taking upon himself the outside business of the firm. Disposing of his interest in the mill to his partner in 1884, in the following year he engaged in his present business. By the squarest kind of dealing, Mr. Evans is building up a good trade in his specialties – fine boots and shoes, and groceries.
F.M. Benedict, Professor of Penmanship – Mr. Benedict was born at Dale, Outagamie county, Wis., June 9, 1853. In 1854 his parents removed to the town of Farmington, this county, where he received his first schooling in District No. 2. In those days the pupils of that district were fortunate in having the instruction of Prof. Duncan McGregor for three terms, John McGregor for two terms, and Andrew Hutton and Archibald McArthur for one term each – with an equal number of eminent female teachers. Mr. Benedict finished his education at the Waupaca High School and the Oshkosh Business College. As a penman he has few superiors in execution, and perhaps none as an instructor in the art. He is author of a drill book of penmanship that deserves adoption in every school in the country where real progress is desired. He has given about 3,000 lessons in plain and ornamental penmanship in different parts of the country but proposes hereafter to confine his ef-forts to this county and vicinity.
J.M. Ware, Harvesting Machinery, Wagons and Agricultural Imple-ments. Though John M. Ware has a number of years been one of the best known business men of Waupaca, he has not been a resident of the city for the past twenty years; but has lived on a farm two miles north of the town. He was born in Erie county, Pa., January 10, 1847, and came with his parents to Waupaca in the spring of 1850. Until five or six years ago Mr. Ware spent most of his time on the farm in the town of Waupaca, where he yet makes his home. He has 260 acres of land, nearly all under cultivation – the largest farm in the county, and decidedly one of the best. Six years ago he engaged in his present busi-ness in this city, building a large warehouse here in the summer of 1886. In 1884 he became one of the proprietors of the Waupaca Post. He still
RESIDENCE OF J.M. WARE.
(From a Photograph by Palmer.)
holds a quarter interest in that paper, but gives it little personal attention. In 1874 he represented the village and town of Waupaca on the county board. From 1875 he was treasurer of the town of Waupaca for ten con-secutive years; and he is now serving his third term as chairman of the town, representing it on the county board. He was chairman of that body in 1886. He is a Royal Arch Mason, and has been Master of Waupaca Lodge No. 123, F. and A.M., for ten terms, at one time holding that office for seven years in succession. Mr. Ware is an earnest democrat.
Jeffers & Hudson, General Merchandise and Farm Produce – E.B. Jeffers, the senior member of this firm, was born at Henderson, Jefferson county, N.Y., in 1849. Like his brother, T.L. Jeffers, he was in early life an employee of the Union Steamboat Company, of Buffalo. In the fall of 1864 he enlisted in the 103d regiment of New York volun-teers, and served in the Army of the Potomac till the close of the war. He again entered the service of the Union Steamboat Company, remain-ing till the spring of 1872, when he came to Waupaca. In the spring of 1873 he formed a partnership with R. Bailey in the drug business, under the firm name of Bailey & Jeffers. This partnership continued till the summer of 1877, when Mr. Jeffers returned to his old work in Buffalo, where he has since resided. His equal partnership with C.R. Hudson in the general merchandise business dates from the 1st of April, 1886.
Charles Ripley Hudson, of the above firm, is a native of Fort Howard, Brown county, Wis. He came to Waupaca when about thirteen years of age, and clerked in H. Nordvi's store for a year and a half, when he returned to Fort Howard and received a four years graduating course under Prof. Werden Reynolds, preparatory for college. Instead of completing a collegiate course, he returned to the mercantile business with H. Nordvi, where he remained fourteen years, having for eight years a share in the profits of the business. In this position he became well acquainted with the various markets; and, being impressed with the maxim that "goods well bought are half sold," the several years of experience in purchasing all kinds of merchandise has made him a careful and shrewd buyer; he knows when to buy, what to buy, and how to buy cheap. Legitimate competition rarely effects the success of merchants who are good, sharp buyers, and who attend strictly to busi-ness. This truth is demonstrated by the business of Jeffers & Hudson, of which the latter member of the firm is in immediate management. Not-withstanding his fluent Scandinavian tongue, light hair and blue eyes, Mr. Hudson is a Yankee.
T.L. Jeffers, of the firm of Shearer & Jeffers, proprietors of the Eagle Planing Mill, was born at Henderson, Jefferson county, N.Y. February 24, 1845. In 1857 he entered the service of the Union Steamboat Company, of buffalo, remaining with them till 1862, when he enlisted in the army, serving till the close of the war. Returning to Buffalo, he was again an employee of the Union Steamboat Company till 1879, when he came to Waupaca. In 1881 he formed a partnership with A.M. Penney, under the firm name of Jeffers & Penney, engaging in the farm produce business. Mr. Jeffers disposed of his interest in this business to his partner on the 7th of September, 1888. November 23, 1887, he bought the one-half interest of O.T. Hambleton in the Eagle Planing Mill, the firm becoming Shearer & Jeffers. Mr. Jeffers has served two terms in the city council from the Second ward.
Dr. J.O. Scott, Dentist – Dr. J.O. Scott has practiced dentistry in Waupaca since the autumn of 1866, coming here from New York. He was born in Clinton county, N.Y., April 24, 1835, and received a common school and academic education. In May, 1861, he entered the army in the Thirty-fourth Regiment of New York Volunteers, and was commissioned First Lieutenant of Company D, of that regiment, May 22, 1861. He assisted in raising his company at his former home, Champlain, N.Y. The regiment participated in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac during the Peninsular campaign, and in the battles of South Mountain and Antietam, Md., September 19, 1862; Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862; and again at the latter place, May 3, 1863. He was promoted Captain of his company, the commission dating May 30, 1862. On the 31st of May, 1862, he was wounded at the battle of Fair Oaks, Va. He was mustered out of the United States service with his regiment May 30, 1863. Coming to Wisconsin soon after the war, he decided to make his home at Waupaca. Dr. Scott has held the office of mayor of Waupaca two terms, having been elected in 1883, and re-elected the following year. He was commander of Garfield Post No. 21, G.A.R., three years ago; and is now president of the Waupaca Business Men's Association.
Suhs & Rosche, Pioneer Foundry and Machine Shop – the Pioneer Foundry was established by John Rosche in 1871. It is now owned by H.H. Suhs and Fred W. Rosche, son of John Rosche. Mr. Suhs was born in Milwaukee, August 7, 1854. In 1856 his parents moved upon a farm near Ogdensburg, this county, where he first attended school. He finished his education at the Waupaca High School, and in 1875 commenced to teach. He is a teacher in the fullest and best sense of the word, as his enviable success in an experience of twelve years amply proves. Among the schools in this section of which he has had charge are those of Amherst, Iola, Ogdensburg and Scandinavia. In 1884 he was the republican nominee for the office of county superintendent of schools of Portage county, but was defeated by fusion of democracy and prohibition. As an independent candidate, he made a creditable though unsuccessful contest for the same office in this county in 1886. On the 1st of February, 1886, he formed a partnership with Fred W. Rosche, under the firm name of Suhs & Rosche, the firm purchasing the Pioneer Foundry and Machine Shop. Though not a practical iron-worker, Mr. Suhs brings to the enterprise a general business ability and a force of character that are making themselves felt in results.
Fred W. Rosche was born in Milwaukee, October 16, 1857. His parents removed to Berlin in 1863, afterwards to Weyauwega, then to Rural, and to Waupaca in 1871, when his father established the present business. Fred attended the Waupaca High School and worked in the foundry until 1880, when he worked for six months at Stevens Point. From January, 1881, till 1886 he was in the employ of the Murray Manufacturing Company, of Wausau, Wis. It was at the close of this service that he assumed his present business relations with H.H. Suhs, as noted. He has immediate supervision of all work in the foundry and machine shop, employing five or six men through the year. While they do all the work in their line, a specialty is made of the justly celebrated Waupaca Chilled Plow, that has well stood the test of time since John Rosche introduced it here more than fifteen years ago. Both are young men in good business habits, and rich in the confidence and esteem of this community.
Jens Hansen, Wagon and Carriage Making and Blacksmithing – Jens Hansen was born in Boesholm Town, near Hellisinger, North Sjalland, Denmark, July 1, 1838. He learned the blacksmith and carriage-making trade with his father, who was the maker of the best carriages then known in that country. In 1864 he was in the artillery service of the army. He worked at home again till 1869, when he came to America, reaching Waupaca on the 29th of May of that year. He first worked as a blacksmith for H.D. Prior, but purchased the business before the close of 1869. In 1870 he went to Denmark, returning in the fall of that year with his father, H.C. Rasmussen, with whom he conducted the business in partnership for some years. The growth of this business furnishes a good example of Scandinavian thrift and industry. Mr. Hansen adopted as his motto and the name of his shops "Live and Let Live." He is employing from six to a dozen men in the manufacture of wagons, carriages, plows, etc., and in general blacksmithing. The "Live and Let Live" shops enjoy a good reputation all through this part of the state.
Penney & Downey, Waupaca Marble Works – T.H. Penney was born in the town of Farmington, this county, May 15, 1856. Most of his time was passed on his father's farm in that town until nine years ago, when he purchased a farm for himself in the town of Lind, which he yet owns. August 2, 1886, he bought a half interest in the Waupaca Marble Works from A.L. Bailey, the firm becoming Penney & Downey. Mr. Penney devotes most of his time to outside business.
D. Downey has achieved business success by industry and persever-ance. He was born in Boston, October 5, 1858. In 1860 his parents removed to Ogdensburg, this county, and the following year to Waupaca, where he received his schooling. In 1875 he commenced the marble cutters' trade with S.W. Bailey, at Waupaca, serving an appren-ticeship of three years. In 1878 he bought the interest of S.W. Bailey in the firm of Bailey Brothers, conducting the business in partnership with A.L. Bailey, under the firm name of Bailey & Downey, until the 2d of August, 1886, when T.H. Penney purchased A.L. Bailey's one-half in-terest, the firm name taking its present style. The Waupaca Marble Works give regular employment to seven men during the year. The proprietors give almost their entire time to the outside demands of a rapidly growing business. In spite of sharp competition from other cities that for years had its own way in this section of the state, this firm has won for itself a territory embracing the greater portion of Waupaca, Portage, Waushara and Outagamie counties. The firm manufactures from all kinds of domestic and imported marble, granite, limestone, freestone, etc., and is today carrying the largest stock of finished work, from domestic and foreign stones, to be found in North Wisconsin.
H.W. Williams & Co., Hardware, Stoves and Farm Machinery – This firm is doing the largest hardware business in Waupaca county. Its affairs are under the immediate management of H.W. Williams, the resident partner. He was born in Columbia county, Wis., in 1849. In early life he attended school at Portage, and taught a district school in that vicinity. In 1869 he took the course at the Portage Business College, receiving a diploma. In 1861 he commenced clerking in the hardware store of I.W. Bacon, at Portage. In 1868, on the death of Mr. Bacon, he was associated with J.E. Wells and P.J. Barkman, clerks in the store like himself, in the purchase of the business. They are yet Mr. Williams' partners at both Portage and Waupaca. The Waupaca business was established in December, 1878, S.J. Craig owning an inter-est for the first three years. The continued growth of this business since ten years ago to its present metropolitan proportions has been a matter of general pride in this community, where its manager is respected, not only as an enterprising business man, but as a public-spirited citizen in every respect. Mr. Williams is Past Grand in the order of Odd Fellows, and Past Chancellor in the Knights of Pythias. He is president of the Curling Club, and also of the Opera House Company. For two years he was alderman from the Fourth ward.
P.A. House, Wagons, Carriages and Agricultural Machinery – P.A. House was born in Herkimer county, N.Y., July 1, 1823. His ancestors settled in the Mohawk valley prior to the Revolution. At the age of fifteen years he went to Jefferson county, where he learned the wagon-making and blacksmith trades. In 1847 he went to Syracuse, where he resided seven years, or until he removed to Waupaca in the fall of 1854. In that year he built the first wagon ever made at this place. He was among the losers in the fire of May 16, 1872. He is at present dealing in wagons and carriages, and is agent for D.S. Morgan's celebrated Triumph reapers and binders, and for the Clipper mower, made by the same manufacturer. Mr. House is a Royal Arch Mason. He is serving his second term in the city council from the Fourth ward.
Charles Churchill, Real Estate, Loans, Abstract of Title, Insurance, Etc. He was born in Fulton county, N.Y., December 24, 1846. In 1852 his parents came to Wisconsin and settled on a farm in the town of Waupaca, three miles east of this city. Here he received a common school education, and in 1865 and 1866 attended the first Waupaca High School. He afterwards taught district schools in this county for three years. In 1868 he attended the Eastman Business College, Chicago. In the fall of 1869 he was elected clerk of the circuit court for Waupaca county, and was re-elected five times – holding that office twelve years – and being deputy clerk of the court for two years after the expiration of his last term as principal. He was deputy county clerk for six years; deputy register of deeds for six years; and deputy county treasurer for four years. In 1874, while clerk of the circuit court, he commenced work on an abstract of title of all lands in Waupaca county. In 1879 he added real estate and loaning to his business; and was admitted to the bar in the spring of 1882. By the closest application, and strict integrity in his relations with men, Mr. Churchill has built up an extensive business, the special features of which are real estate and loaning; and, in connection with these, the practice of law so far as it pertains to real estate and collections. In the summer of 1886 he built the handsome office block on Union street, a cut of which appears on page 33 [of ori-ginal book]. Aside from the official service noted, he was clerk of the town of Waupaca for four years; city clerk for four years; and for ten years has been a member of the board of education, being now president of that body. He is one of the incorporators of the Waupaca Electric Association, and is its secretary. In the spring of 1888 he purchased a half interest in the Waupaca Planing Mill, the firm becoming A.G. Nelson & Co.
R.N. Roberts, City Bank of R.N. Roberts & Co. – R.N. Roberts was born in England in 1842. Two years afterwards his father, R.R. Roberts, came to America, locating at Racine, Wis. In 1856 he removed to Wau-paca and established a general merchandise business, to which R.N. Roberts succeeded in 1873. In the winter of 1863-4 R.N. Roberts enlisted in the army, going out as Captain of Company B, 38th Regiment of Wisconsin Volunteers, and serving till the close of the war. He was commissioned Major in September, 1864. On his return to Waupaca he gave his attention to his father's extensive business, succeeding to the management of it in 1873. Since that time he has been generally recog-nized at home and abroad as among the first of Wisconsin's public-spirited men. While he has been uniformly successful in private enter-prises, they have been generally of a character to materially advance the interests of the whole community. In 1882 he became associated with George Dirimple, of this city, in the establishment of a general merchandise and lumbermen's supply business at Fifield, this state, under the firm name of Roberts, Dirimple & Co. In 1884 he founded the private banking house known as the City Bank of R.N. Roberts & Co. In the same year he formed a partnership with S.T. Oborn, under the firm name of Roberts & Oborn, the firm building the Crescent Roller Mills. This firm is also conducting a grocery business in this city. Though at present he owns but a nominal interest in the Waupaca Granite Works, he has been largely instrumental in the development of that enterprise from the first. Mr. Roberts is one of the trustees of the Wisconsin Veterans' Home, and treasurer of the executive committee. He was mayor of the city in 1886 and 1887.
A P P E N D I X.
ANCIENT, OR PREHISTORIC WAUPACA.
By F.M. Benedict.
One and one-half miles west of this city are the ruins of an ancient town which we term Ancient Waupaca, just as the Indian occupancy of the present site may be termed Medieval Waupaca, and the present city Modern Waupaca.
Here, on the level tract of land comprising the farms of Mort. Taylor, Hans Erickson, and F.M. Benedict, lying at the head of the celebrated Chain of Lakes, we find indications of a once populous city.
There are alter mounds; mounds for cremation; burial mounds, where the dead were almost hermetically sealed in a little mound of cement made of marl and sand before the earth was piled above all, and which have done their work of preservation so well that an entire skeleton was disinterred from one; mounds and pits that formed the foundations for dwellings; and monuments of earth of various forms, erected, probably, to the memory of some persons or events of importance. One of these lies with head and arms in Mound Grove, near Mr. D. Taylor's house, and body extended E.N.E. for sixty rods. It would be a costly memorial to rear today with our teams and appliances for grading; and, even though the "bison may have bowed his maned shoulder to the yoke" to aid in its building, it must have required a long time and much labor to rear it. Still others, of round or oval form, have head, tail, and four arms or legs. There is a series of oblong form; here a row of pits.
These works are nearly all in one neighborhood, as though the place had been set apart for that purpose. Farther north, near the clear springs at the head of Otter Lake, seems to have been the residence center. Here the earth is full of pottery, variously ornamented. Sixty different varieties have been preserved from this locality; while all around are implements of flint, polished stone, and copper. Here, also, are rows of Kjockenmoeddings (get your Danish neighbor to pronounce it for you), or, as near as we can get it in English, kitchen refuse, that show where the back doors were as plainly as though a wagon load of black muck, interspersed with fragments of bone, etc., were spread over a square rod of earth opposite each one Think of corn growing larger in these places, A.D. 1888, in consequence of garbage thrown from plenteous tables while perhaps the children of Israel were wandering in the wilder-ness!
Bryant, one of our most philosophical poets, says:
* * A race that long has passed away
Built them; a disciplined and populous race
Heaped, with long toil, the earth, while yet the Greek
Was hewing the pentellticus to forms
Of symmetry, and rearing on its rock
The glittering Parthenon. * * *
If that be a reasonably true date, then their age is not less than twenty-three hundred years.
Another way in which an approximate age may be given them is by comparing the accumulation of peat in marshes east of the site with that formed over works of the Romans in England, made about the begin-ning of the Christian era. We would in this case assume that these marshes were ponds, which is probable.
Moreover, the Indians knew nothing of this race, notwithstanding their traditions covered a thousand years or more.
That this people practiced cremation is certain; but whether as a means of disposing of their dead, or for sacrifice, we cannot tell. Under some mounds may be found a layer of charred human bones, ashes and charcoal, the latter as fresh as though it came from the fire that died on our hearth last evening instead of from the flame that, two thousand years ago, reduced a human form to the elements from which it came.
One more question that arises whenever we make a "find" of a flint arrow-head, lance, stone ax, or implement of copper, is: Did this race of men, whose empire was the Mississippi valley, pass through all the stages of a civilization and die of old age; or were they cut off while still moving onward and upward?