While settlers were told not to go on Indian Land until the Treaty was made, some went regardless. And, -- they flocked in before the government could get it surveyed.
The following notice went out from the U.S. Land Office in Mineral Point on December 27, 1851, which was published in the Oshkosh Democrat on January 30, 1852: ---
Settlers upon the public lands, after the extinguishment of the Indian title, - and before the surveys, are entitled to the right of pre-emption by virtue of their settlements. After the survey, three months time is allowed to file their declaratory statements; the time of settlements and the proper description of the lands must be mentioned, and pre-empters complying in all these particulars will be entitled to pre-emption in accordance with the requirements of the Pre-emption Act of 1841.
(Signed)G. H. SLAUGHTER, Register.
The first saw mill on the Wisconsin River was built in 1835, or possibly in 1838. It was built by George Whiting at Point Bass, a short distance below present Wisconsin Rapids. Ten years later a large number were operating north of here all the way to Wausau, when the War Department sold public land from Mineral Point on a stretch three miles wide from Point Bass to Big Bull Falls in Wausau.
In the first fifty years perhaps a half billion dollars were added to the U.S. economy from lumber taken from this location which was used in the Civil War and early settlers west of the Mississippi River. And a billion in those days was a heap of gold. Any many lives were lost even in those days by accidents in logging camps, at sawmills, and in the hazardous task of rafting lumber down to the Mississippi River.
Lumber Cribs. A crib of lumber was usually 16 by 12 feet in size, or 16 by 16 feet, piled criss-cross in 12 to 20 layers, each crib containing 3,000 to 4,000 feet of green lumber. Holes were bored usually every five feet in planks where "grub-stakes" were inserted. They were usually cut out of small Oak trees 4 or 5 feet long with a knot at the bottom, shaved down to a certain size, with a saw cut at the top provided for wedging. The first rafts went down the Wisconsin River in 1841. But rafting even continued after railroads came to the Wisconsin River valley as water transportation was cheaper than by rail.
Six lumber cribs made a "Rapids Piece."Each Rapids Piece needed a long oar for guiding through sluices and rapids by the river pilots. Short chains were used for couplings. Three or five Rapids Pieces made a "Fleet."It took 25 to 30 men to guide a fleet to Kilbourn as several were needed on each crib when it passed over a stretch of rapids. The most hazardous places were at Big Bull Falls, Little Bull (Mosinee), the Stevens Point Dam, Conant Rapids, two Clinton dams, Whiting Rapids, Point Bass near Nekoosa, plus the narrows at Kilbourn. The rapids at Little Bull Falls were only thirty feet wide but a half mile in length. In fairly fast water, a raft could make Stevens Point in a day.
In Stevens Point a "sluice" was built thirty feet wide in the center of the dam with piers below the slide anchored with stone. Each Rapids Piece had an elevated safety rope called, "The Sucker Line" for the men to hold on to as they go through sluices or over rapids. When the cribs are submerged, the men can grab hold of the rope and "Possibly" get just their feet wet -- if they are lucky. At Grand Rapids, fast water in the mile-long stretch requires only four minutes for a crib to negotiate the run. At this speed rafts sometimes hit a rock and were smashed into splinters, and lumber, lath, and shingles went in many directions. A man would be lucky to grab a plank to hold until he could hope to reach shore. Some didn't.
Below this place they would couple rafts together and tie up to trees for the night on their way to the Dells.
Wind was a hazard to rafters and often tied them up rather than to be blown on a sandbar, or pushed into a slough. Shifting sandbars were bad, but Sloughs were the nemesis of rafters as high water was the only solution for swampland and mud.
From Grand Rapids to Kilbourn was a broad stretch without rapids. For several days they could think about "The Devils Elbow" and the swirling eddies through the rock formations. Above the Dells they would tie up to prepare for the descent, and hire extra men to help bring the rafts through the "Narrows," and then gig back to ride some more pieces through. When the rafts were over the Kilbourn Dam, they were coupled together in smooth water, three aside each other, and perhaps ten raft-blocks long.
From here to shipping points was usually routine, except for meeting riverboats with barges. They could tie-up evenings and even sleep on shore for a diversion of sorts. Cities built docks for lumber rafts to tie up to, where crews were ready to break up the rafts and haul the lumber on wagons to retail yards.
At Saint Louis a large amount of lumber went into river steamers and up the Missouri to the interior. The early crews returned a part of the distance by riverboat and walked the rest of the distance. Later they caught stage-coaches from Portage to Plover.
After "pay-day" they returned to their homesteads to pay the taxes and the bill at the local store, and adding, "Well, this is my last trip on the river."He would then enjoy family living for the summer months grubbing land and swinging a scythe in the meadows.
But in October when cash was getting low, he would think the only work available is in the pine woods, so he would tell the wife that when the cash is gone, she would have to start a new account at the store again. In the spring he'd say, "Just one more ride on the river, -- wages are higher and I can even ride back on a TRAIN!"
Wages on the river were higher than in the woods or at saw mills. An ordinary Raftsman got $60.00 to $80.00 per month plus board, - and room!An Oarsman $140.00 plus board; cooks $100.00, and pilots $300.00 if they had excellent records.
Prices at the local store in 1853 were not too bad, -- even on credit, and without sales tax!!
Rice was 9 cents a pound; pork 7 cents; two pounds of salt 5 cents; 1/2 pound of tea 5 cents; Box matches 2-1/2 cents; vinegar 4 cents; a pound of coffee 15 cents; sugar 10 cents; A-B-C book 7 cents; gallon whiskey 50 cents; 1/2 pound tobacco 18 cents. Five drinks of whiskey for 15 cents. (He should have been able to hang one on for about 50 cents!!!)
Winnebago County was organized in 1838 with the following townships:Oshkosh, Clayton, Menasha, Neenah, Vinland, Winchester, Winneconne, Wolf River, Algona, Black Wolf, Nekimi, Nepenskum, Omro, Poygan, Rushford, and Itica.
Of villages there were:Oshkosh organized in 1842, Menasha 1848, Neenah 1847, Winneconne 1849, Omro 1849, Medina Junction, Larson, Winchester, Allenville, Waukan, Fisks, Picketts, and others.
The first white settlers, which people know of was Augustine Grignon a half breed and James Porlier. They were pelt handlers at Butte-des-Morts 1818-1837, who were the first residents in the Oshkosh area. On March 8, 1938 was the first marriage performed by Rev. S. Peet. It [joined] Jacob Jacobson and Miss Emeline Wright, both of which were from the Oshkosh area. The first born male child born in the County was George W. Stanley. He was born the 26th of August, 1838. The first female child was Elizabeth Ford, a daughter of Chester Ford. The first religious meeting conducted by Pastor Jesse Halstead at the Stanley residence in Oshkosh in 1841. The first Norwegian service was conducted by Pastor Adolph Carl Preus in 1850 at Winchester. The first 4th of July celebration was celebrated on Merritt Street in Oshkosh. Nearly all the whites in the area were present, plus many Indians who had a merry time. John P. Gallup conducted matters and Joseph H. Osborne read independence quotations.
Miss Emeline Cook taught the first district school in Oshkosh in 1840. The first post route was opened between Fort Howard in Green Bay and Winnebago in 1838. The postman had to make use of Indian methods in his delivery. On occasions he was obliged to deliver flour or provisions to Oshkosh, which was nearly 50 miles.
The first bridge in Winnebago County was laid over the Fox River at Oshkosh in 1847. The first saw mill was built by Morris Firman in 1844. All materials for said saw mill had to be hauled to the site by oxen. The first grist mill was at Algona. The first issue of "Oshkosh Democrat" came out on February 9, 1949. The first steamship which sailed on Lake Winnebago, Fox and Wolf Rivers was built in 1849. Its name was the "Manchester."Others that followed were the Peytona, Whitacre, Menasha, Jenny Lind, Oshkosh, Badger State, Mitchell, Knapp, Berlin, and others. The first passenger train (Chgo & NW) came to Oshkosh October 13, 1839. Soon after 3 Oshkosh men were killed (C. R. Baldwin, Charles Petersilea, and John Lant) in a railroad accident at Watertown.
The first election in the town of Oshkosh was held April 5, 1942, - as follows:Chairman, Chester Ford; Supervisors, Chester Gallup and William Isbell; Clerk, John Gallup; Assessors, Thomas Lee and Louis Porlier; Treasurer, Webster Stanley; Collector, Thomas Evans; Constables, Henry Gallup and L. Porlier; Highway commissioners, Robert Grignon, Ira Aiken, and Chipley Gallup. Supt. of Schools, John Gallup and C. Dickinson. Fence Viewers, Chester Ford and Chester Gallup. Sealer of Weights and Measures, Jason Wilkins.
Assemblymen:Bakkelidstulen, Townsend, Hall, Cary, Craftman, Blodgett, Miller, Reed, Rich, Cary, Welch, Allister, Hanson, Russell, Davis, Knapp, Proctor, Foster, Morgan, Wall, Bouck, Chase, et al.
Dr. Christian Lind from Denmark, married to a daughter of Clark Dickenson, 1843, is in practice at Oshkosh, Mukwa, fond du Lac, and Green Bay. His brother Carl Lind drown in 1844. Another prominent man was sawyer, Capt. Gabriel Bouck, who led the First Reg. in Winnebago County in 1861. It contained 89 enlisted men, 2 lieutenants, 5 sergeants, 8 corporals, 2 drummers, and a man to blow taps.
In 1830 the U.S. government made its first attempt to civilize the Indians, in Wisconsin. They arranged to build an "Indian town" at Winnebago Rapids (Neenah). They hired William Dickinson and David Whitney from Green Bay, to build a saw-mill, grist-mill, a blacksmith shop, and 30 small log houses, built ten in each row. Then completed they, hired 5 farmers with a loan of $300.00 to each. Also 5 teachers who should receive $60.00 per year plus board. Many Menominee Indians moved into the log huts, but some preferred to live in wigwams. Some lived beside their hut while others took up the floor and set their tent on bare ground. But the Indians thought it was more fun to go hunting than to "grub and break land."Also more amusing to fish than to learn to read and write. In 1844 Harrison Reed purchased lay-cut and the settlement was discontinued. This was the beginning of Neenah.
At Lake Poygan laid the old Menominee Bay grounds where the Regiments Agent met yearly with Indians from 1838 to 1851, to deal out meat, flour, tobacco, blankets, and some money. A small detachment of soldiers were provided to maintain order and keep away the "hundred" white salesmen who were present to collect accounts and sell merchandise. We quote Mitchell and Osborn's history of pay-day:-----
"Whites and half-breed traders, who for the year past had been scattered over the county, trapping with the Indians for furs, maple sugar, and cranberries would sure manage to be on the ground at pay day. Merchants from Appleton, Neenah, Oshkosh, Milwaukee, Prairie du Chien, Chicago, and elsewhere, would each lay in a stock of Indian goods which about the appointed time were shipped to the grounds. Gamblers in flocks like wild geese, were seen flying northward."
Eating houses were distributed over the ground in profusion. The only thing prohibited here was spiritual liquors, consequently large quantities were offered for sale upon the outskirts of the forbidden grounds, and sub rosa under the very droppings of the pay-house.
The agent, having distributed the goods brought for the purpose, and everything in readiness, he proceed to pay out the money, specie. As the interpreter calls the name of the head of the family from the roll, the individual so called enters the pay-house, walks up to the counter, reports the number of his family, and if this corresponds with the number in the roll, he receives the amount for the entire family, and secreting items far as possible under his blanket, he emerges from the buildings exit and passes along between two files of soldiers who protect him for a considerable distance from a mob of traders, who are greedily awaiting a chance to pounce upon him. He no sooner passes the last soldier than he is seized by several of the motley crowd, each claiming to have an account against him. In an instant he is stripped of everything that could hold a dime. . . . . Whiskey dispensed, most everyone has reaped a harvest as it comes to a close.
It was organized November 11, 1851. In the following spring election 47 votes were register for the following board:Chairman = Johannes Amundson Bakkelidstulen. Supervisors, Anders Jorgenson and George Ohler. Town Clerk = Sherman R. Hopkins. Treasurer = Ola Halvorson. Assessor = Halvor Amundson Bakkelidstulen. Justice of the Peace = Sherman R. Hopkins, George Ohler, and Johannes Bakkelidstulen. Constable = William Hall, Perry Hopkins, and Ola Hanson Dalen.
From 1847, the list of early settlers are as follows:(Foreign residence deleted."& x" means "and wife.")
Jerome Hopkins, Sherman Hopkins, Perry Hopkins, Samuel Rogers, oldster Samuel Rogers, James H. Jones, Charley Jones, William Hall, and George Ohler. First Norwegians:Andres June, wife and son Halvor. Soren Wilson & w, Anders Thompson & w, John Rue & w, Christian Johnson Alterud & w, Per J. Alterud & w, Johannes J. Alterud & w, Knut Nilson Luraas & w, Ola Larson & w, Ola Christianson & w, Per Rolstad & w, Holje Mattison & w, Halvor Olson Lia & w parents of Pastor O. H. Lee.
Ola Uvaas & w, Anders Jorgenson & w, Kitil Skogen & w, Mattis Havre & w, Andres Lia & w, Ola Saubo (Sauby), Johans Saubo & w. Johannes Sauby & w Anlaug Mork got this homestead. John Traae & w, Knut Gjeilo & w. Hans Bjonaasen & w, Holje Maeland & w, Ola Oemnes & w, John Bjondalen & w, Per Stromme & w, parents of writer PER O. STROMME.
Svend Thomason & w, Bent Peterson & w, John Westgar & w, Hans Westgar & w, Legislator, Johannes Amundson Bakkelidstulen & w, Halvor A. Bakklidstulen & w, Halvor A. Bakkelidstulen & w, Kitel Bakklidstulen & w, Halvor Dalen & w, John Landsverk & w, Ola Bo & w, Ola Juv & w, Halvor Juv & w, Johannes Dahlstrom & w, Soren Juv & w.
Per Rasmussen & w, John Olson Dalen & w, who was a sister of Knut Gislesen, bishop of Tromso. Ola Dalen & w, Ola Hanson Dalen & w; Kitil Loftus & w, Ola Waugerud & w, Nil Biken & w, Andres Bestafor & w, Holje Maurud & w, Hans Anderson Kaasa & w, brother Anders married his widow. Knut Borte & w, Hans Dalen & w, Andreas Mollar & w, Ola Klokkerengen & w, Knut Hanson Bergan & w, Knut died in Andersonville Prison & widow married Peder Lund a church singer, Gunnar Larson & w.
Torgrim Torgrimson Romnaes & w, Gregor Olson & w, Halvor Kjendalen & w, John Paterson & w, Jens Halvorson Jorstad & w, Lars Amundson Skei & w.
The first girl to be born in the Town of Winchester was a daughter of a Hopkins family. The first one who died in the township was Samuel Rogers on September 11, 1850 at age 92. The first sermon was preached by Pastor Frederik Partridge in 1850. The first resident pastor was ________ Pastor A. C. Preus who preached in Winchester in 1850. The congregation up until 1860 had several possibly "mission" pastors, namely A. C. Preus, G. A. Preus, R. Brandt, O. F. Duus, and A. Mikkelson. E. J. Homme was the first resident pastor. Later did outstanding church work at Wittenberg, Wisconsin.
In early days the Norwegian Lutheran Synod had a "split" in the ranks which is being deleted in this translation. It involved technical aspects of their religion. They finally joined together again in 1918.
Winchester and Winneconne became "stop-over" stations for many Scandinavians who came to the "Indian Land". At that certain time they came by boat to Manitowoc and Sheboygan, then stagecoach to Fond du Lac, and then boat to Winneconne. Later boats went to Gill's Landing and people were met by friends and taken to Waupaca, Scandinavia, and Amherst from there.
Waushara County was organized in 1851 which included the following townships: - Aurora, Bloomfield, Coloma, Dakota, Deerfield, Hancock, Leon, Marion Mount Morris, Oasis, Plainfield, Poysippi, Richford, Rose, Saxville, Springwater, Warren, and Wautoma.
The first villages were:Berlin, Red Granite, Plainfield, Saxville, Pine River, Wautoma, Wild Rose, Auroraville, Mount Morris, et al. The first settlement being in Wautoma where Schuman Bros. built a saw mill in 1848. Chady & Chamberlain built the first grinding mill in Plainfield, in 1856. Norwegians began the settlement in Mount Morris in 1850 to 1870. The early settlers there were as follows: --
Nils Nilson Haatviet & w, Ole Anderson Lunde & w, Halvor Arveson Lunde, Per Gunnerson Jeen & w, Gullik Arveson & w, Jacob Alfson & w, parents of Pastor A. O. Alfson; Anders A. Peterud & w, Stener Olson & w, Gunnar Haraldson & w, Kjostolf Svenningson & w, Torger Kjostolofson, wife & sons Kjostalf, Eilev, Lars, and Nils.
Reier Olson, wife and sons Ola, Gustav, and Lars, Lars Anderson Songe & w, Jens Hundare & w, Johannes J. Thorstad & w, Ola Person Selseng & w, Chris Johansen & w, Johans Erickson & w, Kristen Person & w, Ola Bendiksen & w, Bendik Bendiksen & w, Anders Stedje & w, Peter G. Li (Lea) & w, Anders Larson & 2nd wife Isabella. Erik Henningson & w, Jens Peterson & w, Iver J. Klurdal & w, parents of Pastor G. Klurdal. Amund Holt & w, & sons Ola, Knut, & Lars. Bernt Lerom m. twice, Hans Aflund & w, Martin Anderson & w, the Lovdahl family, Jorgan Larson & w, Soren Sotholt & w, Lasse Jensen & w, Anders Sjurson & w, John E. Johnson & w, Lars Bjelde & w, Legislator Jens Ellerson & w.
Other prominent settlers were Joseph Bird, Jacob S. Hugh, Emil Kemp, William LaSalle, R. W. Millikin, Edwin Montgomery, Charles W. Moore, Edgar Sears, Byron Storm, William E. Webb, Charles White, et al. . . . Several early settlers of Waushara County were members of the State Legislature. In Pine River and north into Waupaca County, was a large settlement of Danish people. Waushara County also had many early German settlers.
The Holden Norwegian Lutheran congregation was established in 1854 by Pastor O. F. Duus. Waushara was also a part of the so-called "Indian Land".
The first white man known to have entered Waupaca County was Alfons Hicks from Oshkosh, unless a person should enumerate Charles Carron a Half-breed fur buyer from Mukwa who covered the area from 1838 to 1848.
The aforementioned Alfons Hicks came up the main Wolf river in a canoe in 1846 and settled at Fremont, which was the first settlement in Waupaca County.
In 1848 Robert Grignon (a half-breed) and Kimpagne built a saw mill at Mundigen (Royalton) on the Little Wolf River. Elephet Gordon and son, "Dud Gordon" leased this saw mill, cut a lot of lumber and floated it to Oshkosh and other places. Clear #1 Pine brought them $4.00 per thousand feet. The popular Wisconsin Politician, Philetus Sawyer, began there as a hired man in the year of 1848-49.
Willington, Tibbets, Ostrand and two others came up the Waupaca River and settled at Weyauwega about 1849. Simon E. Dow, Oberst W. Chandler, and J. M. Vaughn settled between Weyauwega and Waupaca Falls. G. Caldwell and Jason Rice camped in Walla-walla in Lind Center; Mr. Norman in New London; R. Gastman at Springer Point; Mr. Wilcox at Mundingen on the Waupaca River; Charles Edwards at "Little River"; and G. C. Sessions, J. Hibbard, W. B. Hibbard, Dana Dewey, Capt. David Scott, J. S. Ware, W. B. Cooper, et al at Waupaca Falls.
The Indian Land was purchased from the Menominee tribe in 1852. All "claims" to land therein were unlawful according to a statement made by Indian Agent Mr. Bruce of Green Bay.
In 1848 Theodore Conkey made a Government Survey east of the Wolf River when Outagamie County was organized. In 1852, Samuel Perry made a Government Survey west of the Wolf River when the following townships were surveyed: --- Fremont, Weyauwega, Mukwa, Royalton, Little Wolf, Union, Lebanon, and Bear Creek. Larabee, Dupont, Helvetia, and Scandinavia were surveyed by A. B. Walch. Iola, St. Lawrence, Farmington, Waupaca, Lind, Dayton, and others were also surveyed about the same time.
Waupaca County was organized by legislative act in January, 1851, and was approved the 17th of February of the same year.
The little village of Mukwa became the first county seat (possibly temporarily) following an election at the dwelling of H. Ralphs held April 1, 1851. At that time the entire county was one township. The following residents were elected: ----
Chairman = Captain David Scott
Supervisors = T. Caldwell & P. Meiklejohn
Town Clerk= C. L. Gumaer
Treasurer = George W. Taggart
Justice of the Peace = Moses Chandler, Albion Brandy,
J. C. Ware, & John Boyd.
No assessors or constables were elected.
On the 6th of May the Town Board held its first meeting. It was decided to pay a $5.00 bounty for each wolf shot in the County.
On October 7th somehow it was decided to have two voting places to be held on the same day to decide the location of the county seat at (1) Weyauwega, or (2) Waupaca Falls. At the home of advocate W. C. Cooper in Waupaca Falls, and at the house of A. Tibbets in Weyauwega. The following were elected: ---
Sheriff = John M. Vaughn
Reg. of Deeds = W. C. Cooper
County Treas = C. G. P. Hovart
County Surveyor = George W. Taggart
County Clerk = James Smiley
Coroner = John Boyd.
County Judge and Clerk of Court were elected later. The newly elected officers were then sworn in.
They proceeded to give personal bonds for one another for a thousand dollars each. As they had no cash money, no chattels, & no improved property, the personal bonds were not worth the paper it was written on.
So, -- after they were all applauded, the newly elected county officers were "ready-for-business". A substantial part of the County had now been laid out with some settlers in each vicinity, they soon started the famous "County Seat War". It developed into a long and bitter controversy as to which location should hold the county seat, namely Waupaca, Weyauwega, or Mukwa. Various issues were raised whereby a controversy arose between Chamberlain and Smiley accusing them of "neglect of duty". They were arrested and because the county had no jail, they were taken to the Portage County Jail in Plover!The peace dove finally released them on their own recognition.
Several times they voted on the question, but it would come up again and again. One day ten husky men from Weyauwega appeared to "take over" the county affairs, but soon found they were outnumbered. After a few hefty drinks, they were put on the road and told to return to the places they came from. It could not be said that the Waupaca settlers did not give their "guests" a goodly send-off!
A Swedish saw mill operator, Olaf G. Droiser took up the issue by suggesting a neutral location in the central part of the county, but the "wilderness" did not appeal to the settlers of Waupaca, Weyauwega, and Mukwa. Droiser secured another advocate, Caleb Ogden, to promote Ogdensburg, where they erected a saw mill. This did not meet with public favor as each of the three communities already had their followers out to promote their local interests.
When Droiser finally saw he could not win, he was somewhat undecided where to swing his weight. He had a goodly following amongst the Norwegians, so the people of Waupaca soon befriended him to move to Waupaca. About this time he had a falling out with his partner in Ogdensburg, which helped him to decide to move to Waupaca.
To gather support for Waupaca as the county seat, Droiser helped some settlers in the Town of Harrison to get organized (Town 25N, Range 11 East). Ole O. Wrolstad had begun to build a saw mill in Section #31 (later called Northland). The report went in, plus its support for Waupaca, and the latter finally won out in the conflict.
Town of Lind was the first township to be organized in Waupaca County in 1852 and got its name from the then popular "Jenny Lind" song. The name of the first settler can not be recalled, but it is known he was the first man to plow some furrows in the County. Oberst John Chandler and Simon Dow arrived in 1849.
Organized in 1852 and first known as "Tomorrow River". The first settler was Henry Turtelott, a half-breed whose wife was a Menominee Indian woman named Kemink. He operated a small store and bought fur. This was in 1848. Later that year arrived Amos Dodge and M. Lewis. The settlement was known as "Turtillots Camp". When the little village was incorporated in 1856, the name of both the township and village became "Weyauwega". The chief's body could not rest there in peace as it was a custom in those days to send the skull to the Smithsonian Institute in Washington.
The first newspaper, the Weyauwegan, was started in 1855 with William. E. Tomkins as the editor. The little settlement at Gills Landing, where there was so much traffic in the beginning, is now of insignificant importance, the landing being low ground at the confluence of the Tomorrow River, Weyauwega being located up the river a short distance.
It was organized in 1852 and remembered largely for being in the County Seat War. The half-breed buyer, Charles Carron, lived there from 1838 to 1848.
The first white settler built his cabin there in 1848. In 1850 came Lucius Taft, Ira Miller and others. The village of Northport was first called Stevens Point, after early settler, Mr. Stevens who built a house there in 1851. Then the name was changed to New Boston, and later to "Northport". This area on the Wolf River is a mile west of New London.
New London lying partly in the Town of Mukwa and the east portion in Outagamie County, was first named, "Mouth of Embarass" and built in the fifties. Incorporated in 1877. The first settler being William McMilland and Ira Millard who came in 1852. The first newspaper, New London Times, began by A. J. Lawson in 1857. At this location was an old Indian settlement, the chief of which had many, many wives.
The Town of Dayton, south of Farmington, was organized in 1852. The first settlers being L. Dayton, M. Hitchcock, and Samuel Shaw.
Organized in 1853. The first settler was James McHugh, who came in 1849. John Littlefield and others arrived in 1851.
Royalton was organized in 1853, and the first settlers were, M. Hicks, Leuthold, and Simon Hopkins, who came in 1851. Hicks built the first hut. Royalton had the first apple tree in the vicinity. It had been planted by John Haywood in 1851. White Lake is the largest lake in the township. On an island lived Indian "Weyauwega" who raised Indian corn on said island.
Helgeson includes Lanark in his book, but states that at a later date the five townships bordering on the west, were included with Portage County.
The Town of Bear Creek was organized in 1856. The first settler was Welcome Hyde - 1855. Ludvik Shoepke & L. G. Phipips, and others came in 1856. Their log hut was only 16 by 20 feet, but at one time sixteen slept on the floor.
The little settlement of Symco is in this township on the Little Wolf River.
The Town of Union was organized in 1856, and the first settler was Isaac Ames, who came in 1855. A. W. Johnson, Ben Dean and others came in 1856. Error above. Symco is in this township.
The Town of Fremont was organized in 1865. The first settler was Alfonse Hicks, who came in 1847. In 1849 came D. Gordon, Harman Mumbru, Ira Summer and others. Here was the first bridge laid over the Wolf River. The village was platted in 1850, but not organized until 1888.
The first newspaper "Fremont Pioneer" was started in 1857 by John M. Dewey."Springers Point" was just to the west, but taken in with Fremont soon after.
The Town of Dupont was organized in 1864. The first settler was O. A. Quimby who came in 1857. Marion lies in this township whose first name was Perris Mills.
The Town of Larabee was organized in 1860, and the first settler was Norman C. Clinton. Clinton-ville got its name from this man when it was organized in 1877. Its first newspaper was called "The Dual City Tribune".
It was organized in 1852 under the name "Centerville". The first settler was William Goldberg, who came there in 1848. James Meiklejohn and Peter Meiklejohn and others came in 1850. Manawa is in this township.
It was organized in 1860, the first settler being Roswell Matteson in 1855.
EMBARASS was organized in 1852 - - - - - -
The Township of Waupaca was organized in 1852."Waupaca" is an Indian name meaning "golden waters". The first town meeting was held at the home of Mr. Mackintosh and the following persons were elected: --
Chairman = S. F. Ware
Supervisors = J. V. Hibbard & _____________________
Justice of the Peace = S. F. Ware, Granville Jones,
W. B. Hibbard, & M. Chamberlain
Constable = A. M. Garde
The village of Waupaca was first called "Vermonters Camp", then "Waupaca Falls" and then "Waupaca". The old Norwegians always called it "The Falls" or "County Seat". The village became incorporated under the name "Waupaca" in 1857. Its first officers were:
President = David Scott
Trustees = James Chesley, W. C. Lord, G. T. Miller, W. Scott, & C. L. Bartlett
Village Clerk = Winfield Scott
Treasurer = G. B. Mooney
Street Commissioner = G. B. Mooney.
In 1875 the Village became a city, and its first officers were: ---
Mayor = Charles Wright
Aldermen = First Ward:G. L. Lord, Caleb S. Ogden
Second Ward:J. W. Evans & W. Wheeler
Third Ward:M. N. Baldwin & B. J. Brown
City Clerk = J. J. Wheeler
Treasurer = Edwin Sellect
Assessors = George Howlett & H. H. Chandler
Chief of Police = Edgar Bangle
Police Justice = Samuel Bailey
Street Commissioner = Timball T. Chandler
In the month of June, 1849, Joseph Hibbard, W. B. Hibbard, G. C. Sessions, and others from Plymouth in Sheboygan County, visited the area to look over new locations in the "Indian Land". After a good deal of wandering, they came upon the Waupaca Falls. (They must have come across Lake Winnebago, up the Wolf River, and then west on the Tomorrow River). There they slept the first night under the stars, where the Court House now stands [on Main Street].
The next day they chopped down trees on the north side of the falls and built a hut with walls and roof of brush. This was then called "Vermonters Camp", later called "The Tomorrow River Country".
A couple of weeks after the "Vermonters" brought word about Waupaca Falls, another expedition left from Plymouth. It was Alonzo Vaughn, J. M. Vaughn, W. B. Cooper, John Taylor and others. After considerable wandering, they came upon the Vermonters Camp.
One of the party rolled out some dough on an oak stump in thin layers, and baked it on a fire of coals. The newly arrived guests were very hungry, and proceeded to devour everything in a short time. The cook was told that he could get out in the world with his new profession. He informed them that all provision had been eaten, and that the "festival" would have to be delayed until provisions could be brought from the Henry Turtelott Camp in Weyauwega.
Later that year came S. J. Ware, Capt. David Scott, Dana Dewey and others. In 1850 came W. C. Lord, Methodist pastor, Silas Miler, and the Swedish saw-mill operator, Olaf C. Droiser.
The first boarding house was built by B. C. Cooper in 1849, and the first house by J. M. Vaughn. It was built of Poplar logs and a roof of bark, and chinked with moss and mud. A floor mat was used for a door. IN this house the Methodist pastor held the first religious service in Waupaca County. The first white child, Mary Hibbard was born in May, 1850. The first funeral in 1850 was for Joel Deiter. The first wedding for Thomas Billington and Emma Baxter was held in 1851. The first school house was built in 1851 and its first teacher was Miss Dora Thompson. The first church (Methodist) was built in 1853. The first Circuit Court was held in this building by Judge Cate in 1854. The first Court House was not erected until 1855. When the Methodist built a frame church, the old building was used as a blacksmith shop.
The first store was built by Wilson Holt in 1851. The first saw mill was built by Pastor Silas Miller, and the first timber cut September 10, 1850. The first grist mill was built and operated by W. C. Lord and Wilson Holt in 1851. The first post office was operated by Capt. David Scott in 1851. The first post route from Green Bay to Plover via Mukwa was opened the same year with Olaf E. Droiser as currier. The first sawyer was W. G. Cooper, and the first doctor was missionary Dr. Rev. Cutting March in 1851. The first newspaper entitled "Waupaca Spirit" was printed in 1853.
Others who came in the fifties were Judge Caleb C. Ogden from New York and wife Katherine Hoag. He came first to Plover in 1848 as a storekeeper and farmer. He then built a saw mill and grist mill in Ogdensburg. When it burned he built a mill on the Little Wolf, started the Waupaca Post and New London Times, and was County Judge for many years.
Dr. Linius B. Brainard (1805-18_5) was a doctor, teacher, and mill supervisor. Dr. George H. Calkins from New York, and wife Caroline Jenkins. Also a jurist who became assemblyman in 1874. Dr. George R. Taylor from England and wife Eliza Herron, who first become a tin-smith and later a doctor in Waupaca. Also doctors Theyer, Peasley, and Dimmok. Saw mill operator Edward L. Brown, Myron Reed, and G. Sessions, all assemblymen. Business man Richard Lee and C. N. Roberts, both from England. Banker H. E. Mead.
Of the Swedish were Olaf G. Droiser, O. E. Brown one time county treasurer, and A. G. Nilson, who has been both mayor and assemblyman. Of the Danish were Episcople pastor, M. J. Sorenson who was county clerk for 14 years, Ole R. Olson, one time register of deeds, and business man Ole Larson and others.
Of the Norwegians were Hakon Nordi from Finnmark (1819-1894) and wife Mary Jane Hudson. He studied both in Christiania and Copenhagen and mastered 5 languages. He was called the "living encyclopedia". Business man Andreas Nilsen Brennon from Gausdal, wife Elisa Loberg (1843-1887), who was register of deeds 4 years. Second wife was Maria Anderson. Business man Anton Johnson, and Ola Lodsen from Sogn. Also brand inspector Lars Larson, Andreas Gassman, miller from Fossum, and Clerk of Circuit Court, Ingbrit Ovrom from Skien.
Town of Farmington was organized in 1853. The first meeting was held at the home of John Fisher and the following elected:
Chairman = Granville Jones
Supervisors = Merrik Barton & O. C. Brown
Town Clerk = Francis Beardmore
Town Treasurer = O. C. Brown
The first settlers were Granville Jones and Roswell Hicks who came in 1849. The early Swedish settlers were:O. C. Brown, and wife, Ottis Beck & w, John Norden & w, Hans Olfson (1796-1870) & w Stina, Hans Olfson Jr. & w Margaret Thompson, Johan Dalbrink, Johan Dalbri (1787-1864) & w Anna (1796-1868). His son was born in 1822 & died in 1887, Anders C. Erickson (1830-1889) & w Kristina, Lars Larson from Fjederlund from Helsingland (1809-1892) & w Anna Kristina (1807-1885), Olaf Hedland (1840-1898) & w Martha (1838-1903), Peter Thomason (1802-88) & w Karin (1807-1901), Peter Olfson (1834-88), Erick Fisher, John Peterson, Olaf Peterson, Olaf Johanson with family, Gustav Sodersten (died 1909) & w Berit Torgerson.
Danish families were:John Fisher & w, Jorgen Hansen a tailor (1827-72) & w Maria, she remarried Anders Erickson from Forde, Jens Christenson & w Karen Marie (1813-88), Son Kristen Jensen & w Marie, Christian Johnson & w Isabella Buckanan, Soren Jensen Uhrenholdt & w Kristine Toren, Peder Sorenson and several others.
Norwegian families were;from Seterdalen:Ola Knutson Norenae & w Kjersti, son Knut Olson Ronera & w Gonne Krostu, Olaf Knutson Brendebakke & w, son Knut Braendebakke & w, Thorbjorn Braalson & w Birgit, Lisle Knut Salveson & w Berte, Olov Knutson & w Maria Norenaa, Amund Salveson Torve & w Anne Norenaa, Thomas Gunneson Borgen (1827-82) & w Ingeborg (1823-97).
Mari Krostu (Krostoga) mother of Ola Sigurdson Krostu, Ola Sigurdson Krostu (1809-1885) & w Gro (1808-96). Sigurd Olson Krostue & w Thurid; Gunnar Olson Krostue (1844-1904) & w Tone; Niri Krostue born 1909; Gunnar O. Krostue, a boy; Bug Severson; Gullik Swenson and family; Torjus Torgerson & w Thora Svenson (1843-88); Svend Torgerson & w and others.
From Telemarken:Ola Sandviken & son John and Kristian; Sigurd Gunnusson Grimsrud (1829-1911) & w Lisbet Sandviken (1832-61); Sigurd G. was married to Anne Nykaas from Sande. Anders Nykaas & w; son Tom Anderson Nykaas & w Helga Merde; young man Torfild Anderson; Torger Baa & w Bergit Sandviken; Jorgen Billikson Jaerkaasen & w;
From Holt & area:Hans Peter Johnson (1818-96) & w Ingeborg (1816-75). Son John J. Johnson & w Berit Kvie; Son Anders J. Johnson ((1844-99) and w Jorgine Rosholt (1848-1928); Son Hans J. Johnson, theology candidate & pastor; Ole Anderson Solberg & w Charlotte; Ole married again to Oline Myklebust; Per Anderson & w Ingeborg Lia; Lars Olson & w Maren; Son Ola Larson & w Anderson. Nils Erikson Li & w.
Those who came later were:Anders Erikson & w; Ola Rasmussen & w Stina; Ole N. Rasmussen from Danmark (died 1909) & w 1-Anne, 2-Gurine Dalen & 3-Mathea Thulien; Carl Olson Hval & w Maria; Lars Olson Hval & w Berte from Hadeland; Christian Larson & w Mathea Mortenson; Carl Peterson Hoijord (Hoyord) & w Ingeborg Sether; Isak Isakson & w Mathea; and Simon Hanson Lindveit & w, and others.
Alvin Sether, a three year old son of Isac & Karen Sether, drown in Johan Peterson's mill pond in town of Scandinavia.
W. H. Sipperly was the first postmaster & storekeeper in Farmington. S. Leonard operated the first saw mill and changed it into a grist mill in 1874.
WISCONSIN VETERANS HOME lies partly in Farmington. Indians called the Chain-O-Lakes, "She-she-pe-ko-naw" meaning, -- "Stretching-water".
In Sheridan - Kristian Johanson was the first businessman.
The first district school was built in District #1. The first Norwegian school was conducted by the author Thor Helgeson in 1865. The Norsk-dansk-svensk Lutheran church was organized in the late sixties. They separated in the '70's, -- the Norwegian and the Swedish have their own, and the Danes joined churches in the city of Waupaca.
Town of Scandinavia was organized in 1854, the first meeting having been held at the home of Hans Jacob Eliasson Oksom. The following were elected: --
Chairman:Ola Olson Reine
Supervisors:Jacob T. Rosholt & I. G. Twetan
Town Clerk:Thomas Knoph (Storekeeper)
Treasurer:Kristopher Olsen Saeter
Mr. Tvieten remarked as follows at the next meeting:"We contacted the Swedish professor Ole Droiser to help us organize the township in a lawful manner because we did not understand the detailed routine to follow. It was a question what name should be chosen for the township. Hans Eliason suggested "Oksom" his Norwegian farm name, as he was the first settler. Another person suggest his home area of Eidanger, but said that in Norge they did not always say "Ei-danger", but shortened it to "Danger". Droiser said, "Did you say, "DANGER"?"Yes" the man replied. Mr. Droiser wrote the letter out D-a-n-g-e-r!!!No -- that would certainly not be a good name to call it the "Town of Danger". He then gave the English meaning. Eventually they decided that the settlers from Norway, Denmark, and Sweden would certainly agree that "SKANDINAVIA" should please all of them, and the name was adopted.
Knut Nilsen Luraas was the first settler in the Town of Scandinavia. He came from Winnebago County (Winneconne or Winchester) in 1850. Osten (Austin) Olson Mollerflaten from Telemark (1804-61) & w Lisbet Sandviken (1811-82); Lars Larson Hasler from Eidanger, who married Turi Johnson; Hans Jacob Eliasson (1810-78) & w Anne Kirstine (1813-81). Kristian Olson & w Oline Hasler of Eidanger,. Daughter Ina (Mrs. Magnus Bryneteson was the first Norwegian child born in the township.
Oline Hasler died soon after, and was the first death recorded in the vicinity. Kristian Olson married 2nd time to Marta Kjendalen. Gunstein Toffefson Krostu, from Saetersdalen (1826-1907) & w Sigrid Naeset (1830-91). Their son Taddiev Krostu, born 1850, was the first Norwegian male child born in the area. Tolleiv brother, Gunstein is a pastor at Koshkenong, and Tolleiv's son Oskar is also a pastor. From 1851 and on, many Scandinavians came and settled in the Town of Scandinavia.
Jacob Tollefson Rosholt from Steinsholt in Lardal (1818-1898) & w Johanne Kristiana (1820-1901). Johanne was of English parentage but she was born in the north part of Lardal. A Realf Wright left England as a boy on the "Gildenlove" and married Hanna Morgensdatter. Their son Lars Realfson Wright, and again his son, Andreas Kristian Larson Wright, born in 1723 married Johanne Pedersdatter Linsett, 1725. Their son Lars Andereasson Wright married Johanne Kielman. Their daughter, Kristiana Larsdatter Wright married Jacob Gunderson Smed and their daughter, Johanne Kristiana, (1830-1901), married Jacob Tollefson Rosholt. Their children were: --Tollef J. Rosholt (1843-1910); Jorgine (1845-1938) married Anders Johnson, and lived in Sec. 11 of Farmington; John Gilbert, born in Pine Lake in 1850, took over homestead in Sec. 4 of Scandinavia, ran saw mill at Graham Lake until 1884, then to Alban in 1884, got railroad into village in 1903; James, Julius& Joakim. James farmed in western Minnesota, Julius lived in Minneapolis, and Joakim located in Stanley, Wisconsin and later in Eau Claire.
Jacob Jensen Listul from Gjerpin & w Berte. Their daughter Ingeborg was first married to Gjeruld Jorgenson. Her second husband was Svenning Ellefson from Holt.
Jacob Lystul came up with Jacob Toffefson Rosholt from Pine Lake (Oconomowoc) in 1851 to look at the "Indian Land".
Andreas Waller from Gjerpen & w Jorand Listul, daughter of Torfel J. Listul. Their son Albert Waller died quite young. Torkel Johnson Listul from Gjerpen (1795-1878) & w Turine (1797-1877), -- son John L. & w Ingeborg Jacobson Tudal, and their son Ola T. Listul & w Johanne.
Ingebrit Erickson Tveitan (1819-96) from Slemdal & w Ingeborg (1830-87), a daughter of Ola Anderson Colverud. Their son Peter Erickson & w Agnete Hanson from Gaustal have acquired their homestead. Ingebrit's father died on the Atlantic, and his son Johan C. died quite young.
Ola Rollefson (1821-96), from Nesherrid, & w Margit (1812-92). Son Halvor R. & w Gina Kjendalen acquired the homestead. A son, Rollef, died quite young.
John Torkelson Bestul, (father of Rasmus J. Bestul, Torkel J. Listul, and John J. Swenholt), fell aboard ship, lived several months and died at the home of Amund A. Brekke. He was on e of the first adults to be buried in the Scandinavia Cemetery.
Rasmus Johnson Bestul from Gjerpen (1799-1883) & w Dorthe Hogstad from Slemdal. Son John Rasmussen Bestul & w Sigrid from Gausdal. Son Nils R. Bestul & w Gurine Brekke from Sandaver. Son Jacob Bestul & w Inger Marie Lysekjon from Slemdal. Son Ole R. Bestul & w Maren Kvie from Vang, Walders. Jonas, son of John R. Bestul is a pastor in the west, and Jacob Bestul's son Redvin Bestul is the banker in Scandinavia. Jacob & Ole Bestul acquired Rasmus Bestul's homestead.
Anund Amundson Brekke from Sandsver (1822-1908) & w Ingeborg Rasmusdatter Bestul (1827-1901). Their two oldest sons, Andrew and Rasmus moved to Alban, and their third son Lewis Brekke has acquired the old homestead, with sisters Maren and Ida.
Peder Olson Hoijord & w Anne. Son Ola P. Hoijord & w Anne Karine Voldengen from West Toten, also Mathias & w Bolette Voldengen, acquired the homestead. Ola Hoijord died suddenly on May 8, 1914.
Gardner Torger Hanson from Naes, born 1785 & died suddenly December 21, 1859. Gardner for Jacob Aal, became involved in the Swedish War. While being sent to Kobenhavn, the boat was captured and taken to Goteborg, Sweden, and taken to a prison. There he became gardner for an army officer. After many months he was released on a pass as a courier and got back to Norge. He came to Amerika with his son J. J. T. listed below.
Son Jens Jacob Torgerson(1810-1911), and 2nd w Anne Anderson (1822-87), Jens Jacob celebrated his 100-year birthday on December 13, 1910. Son Rev. Torger Andreas, became Pres. of Norwegian Synod's Iowa District. His son August inherited the same position. His son Fritjof Torgerson (190__ lives near the old country home at Northwood, Iowa. Other children were:Andreas, Bolette, Anne, grandmother of translator, Lester Peterson, Mathilde, mother of Norman, Jacob, Jens, Carl, Milton, & Laura; Lovise; Thomas, Strom, Adolph, and Duus who took over the homestead in Section 3.
Harald Evenson Gulset from Skien (died in 1907) & w Karen Helgeson (died 1910). Their son Edwin was a graduate of Luther College and the University of Wisconsin. Their son Gustave Adolph (1858-85), was a student at Luther College.
Herman Hermanson (Lilleholdt) from Holt (1819-92) & w Gunhild Anderson (1816-89). (Gunhild was a sister-in-law of J. J. Torgerson). Son Herman Andreas (1852-98) & w Clara Hoijord, lived on homestead for a while. Now it is owned by Peder Bestul.
Ole Kristenson Gurholt from Slendal (1823-1905) & w Gunhild R. Bedstul. One of their sons now has their homestead. Per Kr. Gurholt (1822-1911) & w Berte. Their daughter who is married to Thomas Kvie, now owns the farm.
Jacob Krist Gurholt & w Guri Riste, - mother Marta Gurholt (1793-1858). Young man Oluf Pederson residing at Hellom Lake north of cemetery. Joakin Fleischer. Andreas Vaage & w Daniel Tollefson from Oslo & wife.
Hartvik Pederson from Kragero (1786-1897) & w Anne (1801-73). Son Johan Hartvik (1826-1913) & w Randi Hageman (1827-83), acquired this homestead which is now owned by John Harviks son, Halbert H. & w Stina Mortenson from Ringebu. Thor Hartvik died in the "Citizen's War".
Kristian Pederson Hagehaugen from Gausdal & w Oline. Kris was married again to Torine Ronningen. He was better known as Kristian Nygaard. Sons Ole & Peter & daughter Lovise inherited each a farm.
Jacob Pederson Kjendalen from Eidanger (1790-1869) & w Kari. They had three sons, Soren, married to Anne Juv (1835-84); Anders (1827-75) & w Anne Olstad; & Ola & w Lena -- they had three daughters.
Hans Anderson Tveitan from Lundeherred (1825-1900) & w Ragnhild Kjendalen. Son Henry & w Ida acquired their homestead.
Jens Thorsen Hellom from Modom (1809-72) & w Karen Hagemoen. After several owners came Doctor Michael Ravn of Merrill, Wis., regarded as an out-standing doctor of his day. (A quarter mile north of Cemetery).
Single men Mathias & John Jesse from Gausdal. Young man, Ola Rustad from Gausdal, better known as "Ole Bull". Single man, Levor Letmolien, Thorstein Thorsteinsom from Hellingdal, C. Jensen, better known as "Fisher Jensen", who had a small shop where he sold fish and herring.
Jacob Larson Hasler from Eidanger, who had several nick-names, & w Birgit (1818-05/25/1880). Son Martin, and son Olaves acquired the homestead. Hans Anderson Valstad (or Balstad) from Gjerpen sold his farm and moved to Antigo and died there. Their children are:Anna, Ida, Andrew, Otto, Laura, Emma, and Amanda.
Lars Erickson Tveitan (1827-1908) & w Maren Gurholt, both from Slemdal. Sons Kristian & Edward own this homestead.
Jacob Jacobson Nygaard from Haugesund (1793-1853) & w Anne Katrine (died in 1884). Her grandfather was from Holland. Their son Stephen Jakobson Nygaard & w Thora Knutson, a daughter of Bent Knutson Myra from Holt. His brothers, Tallaf and Torkel, located in the west. He established a record of being on the Town Board many years.
Amund Aslakson Lonvik & w Anders Nilson Lindom. Steffen Torkelson Leite, from Haugesund & w Berte Mygaard. They were married in 1853 by Pastor Herman A. Preus in Steffen Nygaaard's first house, and were the first married couple in the area.
Ola Tobiasson & wife. He was better known as "Ola Littleman". His wife was the first child to be baptized in Scandinavia. She lies buried in the school lot of the Ytterbo farm, being laid to rest in 1853.
Per Ellertson & wife. On his "claim" came Hans J. Bekka & w Sigrid, both from Gausdal, and sons Per, Johannes and others. Also Hans Bekka Sr. Samson Aslakson, form Lislerud from Tind.
Gudbrand Kristenson Surka, from Hadeland (1817-94) & w Marte. His two older brothers were in the Swedish War from 1807 to 1814. One of them was honored for special contributions to the war effort. Gudbrand's son Kristen (died 1908) & w Marte. Their son Gudbrand Gudbrandson (Gilbert Gilson) & w Ingeborg (1838-1908). He was a member of the Town Board many years, and Justice of the Peace a long time.
Big Knut Knutson from Satisdalen & w Margit. Hans Kristopherson Melby from Hadeland (1802-79) & w. Son Christopher Hanson Melby (1831-98) & w Berte Gudbrandson. Anders Haugen & w, Ola Haugen & w Marte, John Hanson Volden from Gausdal & w Karen Gutu from Ringbu.
Per Nilsen Kankrudlykjen from Gausdal & w Birgit Ytterbo from Brunkeberg, Telemark (1831-1903). His parents, Nils & Anne Lykkjen.
Helge Ytterbo from Brunkeberg, Telemarken, & w Ingeborg. Son Ola Ytterbo & w Anlaug Holden. Johan Torgerson Trinrud from Gausdal & w Sigrid Nyflot from Ringbu. Tollef Lislerud from Lind & wJorand. Ola Torkelson Lislerud & w, Simon T. Lislerud & w Gro Vaassen.
Anders Torkelsen Ura from Gjerpen & w Anne Dalen. His first wife was Gusta Kalvel from Gjerpen. Ola Torgerson & w Aedel. Daughter Severene Fjelbo, -- Ingeborg Hogstad, Birgitte Halvorsdatter, -- Anne Eikehaugen, --Maria Thorvildson, -- Anne Abrahams. The latter passed away while living in Wausau.
Knut Svendson Dalen & w, Hans Gullikson & w. Thorsten Nilson Kvie & w Sidsel. Ola Olson Reine from Moe & w Maria Nygaard. Rasmus O. Reine from Moe (1837-71) & w Maren Jensen from Danmark. Rasmus sang for funerals. Mikkel Olson Reine & w Astrid (1832-99). Mikkel became shipwrecked and Astrid married Hans Rambek from Vardal.
Ola Hanson Lia from Holt & w Mari. Son Hans Olson Lia & w Maria Moe. Son Knut Olson Lia (1837-1900) & w Asle Vegerstol. Single man Lars Olson Lia (1850-1875). Son Andreas Olson Lia, (died in 1909) & w Matea Flottero. His 2nd wife was Gyda Hasvold. Son Ola was drown in Bent Knutson's mill pond. Ole Jorgenson Sillekjaer from Oiestad (1813-97) & w Karen (1827-95). Children:Ola, Even, Lars, Karen, and Emma.
Hans Olson Kasin from Lisleherred (1829-86) & w Berte Skaslotten from Ringebu (1841-90), Tengel Larson Vegerstol from Risor (1806-91) & w Kari (1816-1882). Tailor Kristoffer Anderson from Danmark & w. Anders Simonson from Froland& w Anne Gundesdatter (1827-1884), and her parents Grunde Nilsen & w, Ola Simonson & w Tober. Son Simen S. Simonson acquired their homestead. Per Knutson from Holt, lived for awhile on the Hellestad farm.
Mathias Anderson Flottero from Porsgrund (1817-98) & w Margrete (1821-1903). Son Henry & w Amelia Murat acquired their homestead. Anders Person from Holt & w Anne. He was also known as "Little Anders".
Jorgen Postmyr from Drongedal & w. Ola Postmyr & w Elisabet Nyaard. Ship captain Samuel Morris from Germany (1817-95) & w Anne (1826-1902). Klaus Jorgensen from Danmark (1825-1879) & w.
Ola Olson Hellestad from Lundeherrid (1821-73). He was a carpenter. His wife was Anne K. Skogen from Hjartdal (1821-78). His son Kristian Hellestad (1849-1911) & w Karen Sille Kjer acquired this pioneer homestead in SW of Section 26. Their son Oscar was a missionary in China. Ida Hellestad & husband Ola Sillekjaer have the old place.
Bent Knutson (Myra) from Holt (1812-72) & w Kirsten. Bent was a carpenter, farmer, & mill sawyer. Hans Olson Lia from Gjerpen & w Inger (1843-74), daughter of Bent K.
Per Person Hagehaugen from Gausdal & w. He was best known as Per Laerred. Hans Iverson, a blacksmith from Larvik (1829-1903) & w Marie Gustava. Amund Evenson Riser from Oiestad (1818-82) & w Gunvor, who died in 1909. Ola Nilson Kvie from Hurum & w Berit Kjos (1831-84). She was married again to Kristen Fleck from Porsgrund. Henrik Alf Anderson, a furrier (1829-97) & w Gunhild (1828-1902). Son Charles Anderson & w Ida Rokstad who acquired a part of the homestead & Bendik Erickson the balance.
Ola Nilson from Gjerpen (1827-1900) & w Gunhild Flaten. Ola Erickson Skrovik from Valders & w Oline. Young man Kristian Skjulerud. Ole Johnson Lislerud-kaasa from Lind & w Anne Lislerud. Mikkel Helle from Lind & w Ingeborg Haldorson, from Valdes. - he was married three times, his last wife being Ragnhild Skrovik. He was also known as "Mikkel Kubakken".
Ole Olson Sannes from Satisdalen (1821-94) & w Margit. Torjus Olson Sannes, a carpenter (1839-1903) & w Thorbjorg. He died on a Green Bay & Western train. Son, Torjus Sannes Jr & w Thora died 1812. Isak Osmundson from Saetisdal & w Tone. Osmund Osmundson & w Anne. Peter Peterson from Sweden & w Stina. John P. Peterson Jr (1827-1909) & w Helene Hoijord (1835-89). Their son Karl acquired the farm.
Per Christenson Voie from Moland & w Marte (1819-98). John Voie who died in 1910 & w Anne. Jorgen Knutson (1811-89) & w Anne Voie (1828-1901). Young man, Jens Voie. Young Kristoffer T. Voie from East Moland (1812-1881). Big Osmund Gunnarson Aanland from Saetiesdalen (1831-96) & w Anne Sannes (1845-1903). Jo Berg from Tronohjiem & w Marte. Torbjorn Berg from Porsgrund & w Helena. Adam Cramer & wife from Germany.
Torjus Knutson Vesteland, from Saetisdalen & w Margit. Salve Arneson from Saetisdalen & w Gunhild. Iver Olson Strandsronningen from Gausdal & w Ragnhild. John Knutson Gronli from Eidanger (1825-95) & w Maren Nilson. Their oldest son acquired their homestead. Kristoffer Halvorson Riste, from Slidre, (1828-1905) & wife. Their son E. Riste has the homestead. Their other son perished by a train. Amund Olson Kjos from Valdres (1805-95) & w Berit (1795-1891). The first year Amund said he could sit in the door of his hut anytime and shoot a deer. His son, Anders Kjos (1837-67) & w Lisbet Luraas from Telemarken (1843-93) acquired their farm. Lisbet married again to John Egge who returned to Norge and died there. Anders T. Sorgaarden (1824-93) & w Marit Kjos, who die din 1908. Also known as "Andrew Thompson". Their son Julius Thompson & w Sorine Krostu acquired the homestead. Julius died in 1914. Andrew Thompson's father, Thorsten Sorgaarden was from Hurdalen. Young men, Tallef Gunderson, Anders Anderson, Halvor Groven, Beruld Gunderson & Anton Svendsby.
Ove Wilhelmson Vaggetun from Vang, Valders (1819-96) & w Anne Kjos (1820-96). He was assessor for 12 years. Their sons, Anders and Edward have been sheriffs of Waupaca County; William is a blacksmith in the West, and "Buck" postmaster in Iola. Anton & Dina have the homestead. Daughter Anne married August Larson, a Swede in Wausau. Arne Olson Braatveit from Saetisdalen (1819-75) & w Gundvor. Their son Ola sold the homestead to Sigurd Krostu. Erik Olson Skrovik from Valders & w Ragnhild, who was married again to Mikkel Helle.
Ole Olson Helle from Valders & w Ragnhild, & her mother Jorand Helle. Ola Tarjeison Dale from Saetisdalen & w Marie Krostu. Their son Torjei Dale acquired the homestead. Per Hanson Skaflotten from Ringbu & w Karen. Their son Hans & w Marit acquired their homestead. Halvor Svendson from Saetisdalen & w Thorbjorg. Their son Svend and wife acquired the farm.
Anders Iverson Grinaker from Hadeland & w Marte. Later he married widow Sigrid Norenaa. Carpenter, Sjur Tollefson from Jolster & w Anne. Their 3-yr. old son James, drowned in the Peterson Mills pond.
Thomas Gunderson Loberg from Gjerpen (1823-96) & w Anne (1819-81). Their son, Gilbert & w Sigrid had the homestead at one time. Isak Nilson Toldnes & w Anne (1829-63). He later married Maren Gullikson. Ole Anderson Solverud from Slemdal (1796-1881) & w Kari (1797-1880), - two sons, Isak & w Lisa and Nils S. & w Lovise Naes.
Kristofer Olson Saeter from Gjerpen (1815-1902) & w Gunhild Listul. their son, Ola S. has been sheriff & assemblyman & son Kristian S. Saeter (1855-92) was a doctor.
John Johnson Swendholt (1814-80) & w Ingeborg, died 1908. Son JONAS SWENDHOLT has been businessman, mill sawyer, Register of Deeds, Assemblyman, and game warden. A very early settler in Wittenberg. Ola Granberg from Sweden (1819-55) & w Siri (1806-79). She remarried to Anders Skraastad. At one time she operated a grocery & liquor store.
JOHN GRAM (GRAHAM), a machinist from England via Norge, a single man lived with J. J. Torgerson; built a saw mill at Graham Lake; took in J. G. Rosholt as a partner to pay debts for machinery; sold to J. G. R. and remained his mechanist; spent declining years at Holt with Adolph Torgerson; died about19__ and buried in Concordia at Rosholt.
Ola Nottolsson from Drangedal (1817-88) & w Ingeborg Nordbo. His second wife was Marte Saeter. Isak Isakson Saeter, Gjerpen (1814-54) & w Marte (1825-87). Isak was killed November 3, 1854. Marte then married Ola Nottolfson. Kasper Hotz from Switzerland and wife. Their son Herman Hotz & w Emma Hartman got this nice homestead west of Scandinavia. Herman was on the Town Board many years.
Captain Kasper Zwicky from Switzerland & w Anna (1830-64). His second wife, Gunhild K. Thoe from Gransherred (1846-81). Kasper died suddenly in December 1887. Kasper Jr. (1852-1906) also died quite young. His wife was Anne Indlaeggen from Gausdal. Lieut. K. Zwicky was known as "Long Zwicky". Heinrich Weinman from Switzerland (1840-98) & w Elizabeth.
Heinrich Leuthold from Switzerland and wife (Leutholds acquired land in Alban).
Erich Christian, Count de Benzel from Switzerland, born 1819. His ancestors came from a Swedish area. His wife was Anna Regula Aeberlin de Phlugstein (1823). One of his relatives was known as "Oberst", under the Swedish King, Gustav Adolf, in the 30-year war. Lord Erich's parents were Christian Ernst Benzel & Maria Theresa, baroness of Sechendorff-Aberdar. Erich went to Zurich University for two years, and came here in 1854. He was "Justice of the Peace" nearly all the time he lived in Scandinavia. They returned to "Sveits" and operated a Children's Home. Jacob Staub & w Anna Laager have their old home.
Jacob Jakobson Tudal from Gjerpen, born in 1802, & w Gurine Loberg (1804-74). Johan Gunderson Indlaeggen, from Gausdal (1819-89) & w Eli (1817-1904). Andreas Halvorson Lunde, from Lundeherrid (1827-1904) & w Maren Gulset (1829-72). Andreas second wife was Grete Rolfson.
Gunnar Larson Fogner from Gjerpen (1826-1886) and wife bought the A. Lundes farm, former owner being Borre Pederson from Toten. Nils Anderson Toldnes from Porsgrund. On this farm came Thorbjorn R. Voie & w Helene Berg. Even Knutson Greina from Hold (1829-1881) & w Gunhild. Daniel Larson Felstykket from Holt (1822-98) & w Karen (1827-74).
Jorgen Jorgenson Nordbo from Tordal (1827-1904) & w Marit Nyflodt, from Ringbu (1830-89), son Martin has the farm. Erik Jensen, a baker from Naes (1826095) & w Marie (1813-75). Their farm was bought from Elias Eliason & w Maren Murat.
Erling Gunderson Vakkom from Gausdal (1821-1904) and wife. His 2nd wife was Matea Indlaeggen. Shoemaker Torger Mortenson Nyflot from Ringbu (1822-92). His large farm was divided and now owned by Hans Johnson Houkom & w; Peter Hartvig & w; and Jorgen J. Nordbo and wife.
Jorgen Olson Vraalstad from Drangedal, (died in Cairo 1865) & w Asberg Johanne Naes (1813-87)."Wrolstad" was named after the "gard" name in Norge. Jorgen's son OLA O. & w Anne Mortenson from Ringbu, have this old homestead. Elling Larson Wrolstad (or Naas) (1836-76) & w Kirsten Thorson. Nils Larson Greina from Holt (1808-96) and w Kirsten Voie who died in 1909 have the old farm. Elias Johnson Indlaeggen & w Anne Helgeson. Sigurd Pederson Lyskjond from Slemdal & w Maria. Isak P. Lyskjond & w Karoline Pederson. Isak later married Ida Anderson Tveitan. Shoemaker Per Kristenson Enget from Gausdal (1794-1875). Their son Bernt (Barney) Peterson & w Amelia Wrolstad, got this homestead."Barney" has been sheriff & Assemblyman. Their son Hans (1857-79) was a theology student. Per Anderson (Moland) from Holt & w Ingeborg Lia. Lay-preacher, Ola Belgen from Faaberg and wife.
Brynjulf Thorson from Tordal (1814-82) & w Inger (born in 1818). Son Martin Thorson & w Maria Anderson acquired this homestead. Another son, Lawrence is a mill sawyer. Ola Halvorson from Oslo & w Anne. Karl Jole acquired this homestead. Halvor Christianson Skogen from Hjartdal (1825-1902) & w Anne. Son Kristian Skogen has this homestead.
Morten Jensen Nyflodt from Ringbu & w Marte Myhre. Elias Steffenson from Folster and wife. Nils Pederson Eikeland from Forde & w Karoline. Matias Wieson from Germany and wife. Simon Torgerson from Gausdal & w Turine. Ola Thorson Trasrud (1830-1905) & w Sigrid (1827-1908). Son Thorwald was a doctor of sorts. Their son, Anton acquired the homestead.
Kittel (Charley) Evenson Risor and wife Rakel. Their son OSCAR E. EVENSON, is a professor and long time County Supt. of Waupaca Schools. Svend Kristenson & w Gurine Greina. BorrePederson from Toten & w Gina. Anders Person (Moland) and wife. Matea T. Ellingson from Sogn (1816-1900) & w Brita Karine (1811-90). Karen Sorenson Valberg from Kragero (1810-90). Jorgen Nottolfson (1848-81) & w Sina. She married again to Edward Kristofferson of Larvik. Johannes Nilson Nyklebust and wife.
Ola Kristianson Ronningen from Gjerpen (born in 1830) & w Berte. He died September 18, 1889, and she then married Anders Aas, who died soon. Ola Olson Arkaas from Sandavaer & w Sigrid, - also son Knut O. Arkaas and wife. Jonette Iversonfrom Trondhjem, and Arne O. Arkaas (1837-92) & w Guri Riste.
Magnus Brynteson from Sweden & w Ina Olson. Syver O. Jaastad from Hardanger & w Randine Lysne. He was a teacher 20 years. Brothers Peter and Jakob Kjendalen and families. Anders Evenson Riser; son Nils Evenson and wife. Soren Nilson from Danmark and wife. Jens Madson from Danmark (1829-99) & wife Elizbet. Gunnar Voie and wife, Hans Thoreson Hagemoen from Faaberg (1811-99) & w Olia (1810-83). Their son Peter and wife acquired the homestead.
Toger Olson, a mason, from Ringbu and w Anne (1840-1906). Gunerius Syverson from Oslo & w Karen. Anders Saeter and wife from Gjerpen. Soren Gjertson from Holt & w Marte Wrolstad. Also his mother Sara (1814-1892). She was the best in her confirmation class, none on the church floor could read and recite as good as she could!!Ola Moen from Laestorsdalen and wife, Rollef Rollefson (born 1855) & w Maren Dorthea Bestul. He died November 16, 1896 and Maren then married painter Wilmar Nordal from Larvik.
Bernt By & w Karen Hagemoen (died 1909). Hans Winger & w Andrea Tollefson. John Vebbenstad & w Sigrid Floistad. Ola Hanson Kasin (1853-99) & w Oline Hagemoen, who died in 1911. Martin Jensen from Larvik & w Anne Vestli (Wesley), died 1902. Lars Olson from Holt & w Karen (1865-1907). John Bolien & w Karen Rollefson. Alfred Chillerud from Sweden and wife. Andreas Myklebust from Forde and wife. Young man, Martinius Bergan from Lardal. (His nephew Arne Bergen  came here at age 17 and has acquired this farm in E 1/2 of Section 4).
Effie Taylor from Iola and w Ragna Reistad from Harrison. Their 3-year old son died when kicked by a horse.
And thus this long list of early settlers in the Town of Scandinavia comes to an end. I should add that Charles C. Peterson from Laaland, Danmark and Callie Julianna Rosholt rented the Rosholt farm in Section 4 from 1892-1901. Their three children, Agnes (1894), Raymond (1896), and Lester Peterson (July 6, 1899) who is the translator of this book. (He was cashier, Exec. Vice-Pres. and Pres. of the State Bank of Rosholt from 1922 to 1975 and now retired).
The first pastor in the township was Rev. E. A. Preus, who held a service at the home of Jakob T. Rosholt in 1852. The first congregation meeting was held at the home of Amund A. Brekke in 1853. At a later meeting held in 1854, the first Norwegian Lutheran Congregation was organized by Rev. H. A. Preus. The first church building was erected in 1857 and remodeled in 1879 into a huge cross design. (Lester Peterson was baptised in this church by Pastor Nilson summer of 1899). The church was located east of the present Cemetery a mile north of the village, and a new church erected in the village in the 1920's. The first confirmation class was:
Jens Peter JensenHerman Vaasland
Knut JorgensonThora Knutson
Gunhild GreinaInger Hermanson
The first district school was held at the home of Jorgen Postmyr. The first religious school was conducted by Ola C. Wogsland, father of Carl Wogsland of Peru. The first Sunday school was conducted by Torger Anders Torgerson (a son of J. J. T. and an uncle of Callie Rosholt Peterson). The young lads liked Sunday school the best at the Nils Jensen place because of nice hills to ski on!
The settlement was cleared and laid out by Hans Jakob Eliason in 1852, and the logs sold to a blacksmith in Waupaca. The first building right in the immediate settlement was built by Thomas Knof from Kragero (1811-78) and wife Petronelle Romke (1815-59). When "madam Knof" died, Thomas married Birgit Rollefson, who was called "Betsy Knof". Knof's store was a combination of meeting-place, hotel, trading place, and saloon. He was town clerk many years. (Malcolm Rosholt acquired Thomas Knof's record book which discloses names of settlers and prices of things in the '50's and '60's). Whiskey was then 5 cents a shot!!
(note:four pages are missing from the book being used to type this at this point)
In 1854 came Jens Aslakson from Holt, who started a little grocery store and "whiskey-handler", but both he and his customers drank so heavy that things were soon brought to an end.
Nils Anderson & H. B. Pause built the first grist mill in 1856. Adolph Sorenson & Andreas Gassmann built the 2nd store in 1857. The former was married to a daughter of Doctor Dimmock of Waupaca. Isaac Eliasson Venlyst from Eidanger (1815-92) & w Elisabet (1815-1868) built the first hotel in 1857. It was owned and reconditioned by Ola Hasvold later.
Following is a list of people who lived in the village at an early date: --
Carpenter John Paulson Loshaugen & w Anne Trinrud; carpenter Kristian Hanson Loshaugen & w Karen Vaarsaeter from Gausdal; blacksmith Nils R. Aamodt; blacksmith Gullik Thorson Grinderud, from Lunde who died in 1909 & w Inger (1832-74); businessman Lars Nilson from Tromoen (1822-86) & w Kirsten (1822-1906); businessman Ola Olson Wrolstad from Tordel & w Oline Maelom; Young Hans Wrolstad, once county treasurer; also John Johnson & w Hanna; Elias Johnson Indlaeggen; Bendik Olson, a miller; tailor Nils Hansen; shoemaker Knut Pederson Lyskjend (1828-1911) & w Randine Brekke; Johan Nykvist, a tanner; wheelmaker Ola Nilson Wanbon Dr. H. Poppe; Dr. Thorwald Thorson; druggist Gustav Jensen; J. L. Tollefson, a one term sheriff; businessman Temen Peterson; Hanson Bros, hardware; Redwin J. Bestul, banker; miller John O. Wrolstad from Ringbu & w Matea Mortenson.
Adolph Sorenson opened a post office in 1856, and Seely Cornwell carried the mail. The Scandinavia Academy was organized in 1894. The first teachers were Aubol, Tostenson and Hageness. Discontinued in the late 1920's. The Village was organized in 1894. Thor Thorson, 1st Pres; Theo. Paulson, Clerk; Nils Danielson, Treas., Nils Nilson, Supervisor. Trustees:John and Ole Wrolstad, Poppe, Olson, Kjendalen, and Ola Wanbon.
It was organized in 1855 at the home of Caleb S. Ogden in April of that year.
Chairman = Olaf E. Droiser
Town Clerk= Caleb S. Ogden
Treasurer = S. M. Waite
Justices = H. Collier & C. S. Ogden
The first settlers in the early 50's were: --Gjert Hermanson from Holt & w Ragnhild Kristianson from Hjartdal. Erik Hermanson Vaasland from Holt (1814-62) & w Ingeborg (who died in 1854. Eric then married Anne Landsverk from Sauland. He was kicked by a horse and died 02/25/1862. Mads Andreas Olson from Holt (1836-95), daughter Lina & her husband Gustav Gudbrandson Valberget, acquired the homestead. Ole Olson Eikeland from Holt (1823-1903) & w Anne Eline Vaasland (1837-91), their son Hedvin & w Jorgine Larson have this homestead.
Ola Eikeland & Anne Eline were the first couple to be married in the old Scandinavia church. In the following year came Caleb S. Ogden & w Katharina Hoad; S. M. Waite & wife; H. Collier & wife; and Olaf E. Droiser & wife. Also Inge Larson from Holt (1804-89). Her husband Lars Larson Kromla, came to Milwaukee and lived there. Her son Lars Larson Jr. & w Anne. His 2nd wife was Anne Person, a daughter of Little Anders Person. Their son Halvor Andreas & w Lotta Anderson acquired their farm.
The second son, Hans Larson & w Inge Gunnarson later married Asberg Larson Ekra from Holt. Their son Lars & w Anne Lonvik acquired this homestead. The third son, Gres Larson & w Anne Tollefson. After several transfers, Nikolai Eikeland & w Gunda Floistad bought this farm. The 4th son Ola Larson moved to Stevens Point. Ole Olson Vaasland, - senior.
Herman Erikson Bakken, a blacksmith from Holt (1785-1873) and his 2nd wife Elen Sorenson, - his grandson Torgerson now has this homestead. Herman had many children. Soren Erikson (1833-83) & w Karen Rasmusson (1842-1908) and Herman Erikson & wife Anna Larson Klomra, widow of Hans Salveson.
Svenning Gunnarson Ravenberg from Holt & w Ingeborg. Their son, Torger Svenningson (1825-65) & w Marte (1830-1908) a daughter of Herman Erikson. Marte later married to Amund Thorson Trasrud, who died in 1911. Daughter Anette & her husband Gustav Knutson, acquired the homestead. Ingebrit Gudbrandson Dalen from Ringbu (1791-1865) - son Gudbrand Dalen (1825-1901) & w Mari Knappen. Their son Otto & Emil have the homestead. Their son Ingebrit Dalen & w Ambjorg Wasrud (1844-1900) located in the town of Helvetia.
Kristian Olson Lia, a carpenter, (1819-96) from Holt & w Kirstine (1816-91) daughter of Herman Erikson. Son Ola Lia & w Elen Gjertson have this homestead. Kristoffer Torbjornson Voie from East Moland took out a claim, but soon moved to Scandinavia.
Abraham Jacobson Fjelbo from Larvik, (1820-94) & wife. His 2nd wife was Dorthe Ingbretson. Abraham died in Town of Alban. Louis Bennet & wife. Per Torgerson Vesli, fromGausdal (1804-84) & wife. He remarried later to Anne Knappen from Ringbu. Their son Amund Vesli (1847-1902) & w Anne got the Vesli place, which later went to their son Kristian P. Vesli & w Bendika Hanson.
Gudmand Olson Vasrud (1807-73) & w Kari Hole (1811-86). Their children:Amund (1835-66); John (1838-67); Ola (1847-83); Ambjorg (1844-90); & Torger (1841-98) married to Marit Pindlykkjen from Ringbu (1841-1911). Single man Syver Pederson Naerlien (1839-1863). Ola Erikson Vaasland & w Ingeborg Tellefson (1846-1907). Herman & Ola Vaasland got this homestead.
JENS PETER (BLAK) HANSON Sr. (1818-90) from Laaland, Danmark. Went to Hamburg & came here in 1857; bought SW 1/4 - SW 1/4, Section 7, where they lived six years. Wife Maren "Trine" (1818-1884) had the following who were all born in Danmark:
Anne (Mrs. Hans J. Fredriksen, 1846;
Jens Peter (Blak) Hansen, 1850-1910
Hans George Hansen, 1852-1937;
Stena (Mrs. Lars Christiansen) 1856-193_;
JPH Sr. enlisted in the Civil War in 1863 for a man from Town of Lind. They sold this land and lived in Lind during his absence from September, 1864 to June of 1865, when he was released at Appomattox, Virginia at the end of the War. In 1863 "Trine" bought land in Sec. 21 of the Town of Alban from Lieuthold of Iola, which is recorded July 14, 1863, Vol. N, P-314. She deeded to husband JPH Sr. (V-64, P-363). The family may have moved to Alban in 1863, and were about the 6th family to settle in the area. Trine died in 1884, and here husband deeded his land to JPH Jr. in the early '80's, added a room to his log house on the Rasmus Petersen place north of the highway, where the veteran spent his declining years. All of this family except Stena Christiansen are buried in the Alban Cemetery. Jens Peter Hansen married Ellen Katrine, widow of Rasmus Petersen, in 1871. She had three children, Nels, Charley, and Carrie. Jens Peter "Blak" was the father of: 1-Minnie Benson, 2-Kristian, 3-Ida, 4-Anne, 5-Emma, 6-Ellen, and 7-Louie. The log house was small with grandpa JPH Sr. so Nels went to Waupaca, Charley to Jens Rasmussen, and Carrie to Jake Nelson in Waupaca. Charley was the father of LESTER PETERSON, the translator of this book. Jens Peter Blak, was the first treasurer of the Town of Alban; mail carrier; storekeeper; and 1st postmaster (1893) in Rosholt.
Ola Erikson Vaasland & w Ingeborg Tellefson (1846-1907), Herman G. Vaasland died in 1908. His sons Herman and Erik got his homestead. Young man Syver Pederson Nerlien (1839-63). Jens Rasmussen (1811-83) from Danmark & wife. He was married the 2nd time to Helga Kristianson from Hjartdal (1907-74). This 3rd wife was a Danish widow. Ola Johnson from Sandsvaer & w Karoline have the old farm."Little Rasmus" Rasmussen (1827-84) & w Anne (1817-89), son Peter Rasmussen acquired the homestead.
Kristian Knutson from Gausdal (1835-1905) & w Kari. His son Albert Knutson acquired the homestead. Jens Aslakson a single man from Hold. Anders Knutson & w Kari. Kristian Kalvel & w Maria. Per Kjystolfson Solberg from Holt (1807-88) & w Asberg. Son Helman & w Sorine Myhre acquired this homestead. Helman served in the legislature and was a mail carrier.
John Johnson Odegaarden, from Oier & w Marte. Their son Alfred & w Syverine Syverson inherited the homestead. Krinten Mortenson Nyflodt from Ringbu (1818-1907) and w Anne Odegaarden from Oier (1821-1901). Son John Mortenson & w Anne Nilson acquired the homestead, later bought by Jo Mortenson Myflot & w Anne, who in turn sold to a nephew, Thomas Mortenson. John Mortenson died in 1881 and his widow married Herman Erikson Vaasland. Johannes Mortenson Nyflodt (1813-98) & w Anne. Their son Morten (Morten Norde) who married Ingeborg Anderson from Naes Verk, -- he died as a businessman in Alexandria, Minnesota.
Ola Anderson Myhre from Ringbu (died 1913) & w Sigrid Nyflodt (died 1865) - his second wife was Sigrid Jensdatter Nyflodt. Peter Anderson Myhre (1836-89). Bernt Nilson from Holt (1816-92) & w Marte (1820-93). He was a ship navigator. His son Anders acquired the farm.
Peter Severson Rokstad from Hedemarken & w Lisa. Big Syver Hanson Hagemoen from Faaberg & w Gina Naerlien bought his place. Ola Hanson Dybdal from Ringbu & w Sigrid Naerlien (1827-1904). Their son Hans & wife Marit have the homestead. Amund Nymoen and wife from Ringbu. Henrik B. Anderson & wife from Danmark. Coren Bentson from Holt (1828-1902) & w Maren (1832-92).
Mathias Kaalrud from Gausdal (1831-78) & w Helene Trinrud. Their son Torger Kaalrud & w Elise Trinrud obtained the homestead. Lay-preacher Ola Lodson from Lardal & wife was first a farmer, bartender, and businessman.
Lars Raa, or Roa, from Leirdal and w Karl. Son Roa & w Bendika Kaalrud. Lay-preacher Kristopher Danielson and wife. Lay-preacher Nils Ola Erikson Li from Haugesund got their farm. Hans Danielson (1829-93) & w Julia Jokumson.
Tollef Anderson from Tordal (1816-91) and w Asberg (1819-89). He was called "Tollef by the creek". His son Jorgen & w Ingeborg Larson acquired their homestead. Knut Benson from Holt & w Marie Paulson. Ola Paulson Kvisberg from Gausdal & w Matea Dybdal form Ringbu. Tosten Knutson Kvisberg and wife. Simon Knutson Kvisberg and wife. Knut Thomason Rudi from Valders & w Gjertrud (1837-1903).
Ola Taraldson from Tordal and wife, who moved to the west. Anton Danielson Bo from Lardal & w Hella. Anton's 2nd wife was Lisbet Skogen. Isak Boe and wife. Matias Olson & w Elen Valberg. Lars Kristianson Kankerudlykkjen from Gausdal and wife. Their son acquired this homestead. Jens Hanson & w Andrea S. Fiane.
While the settlement in Ogdensburg was laid out in 1853, it did not get incorporated until 59 years later - in 1912.
Ogdensburg was organized April 2, 1912. The following were elected:
President = W. G. Lytle
Village Clerk = Arthur Feragen
Treasurer = Lars Johan Larson
Assessor = H. S. Castle
Trustees = C. Beitzel, Ola Godderstad, C. T. Hufcut,
M. Dumphy, and J. J. Doty.
Justice of the Peace = G. D. Ratcliff
The first child born in the Town of St. Lawrence was Thorine Hermanson Vaasland, a daughter of Erik & Ingeborg Vaasland.
The first sermon was held at the home of Caleb S. Ogden by Rev. E. W. Green in 1854. The first churches, Methodist and Baptist, were built in 1866.
The first district school was built in 1855. Mrs. Sarah Merry was the first teacher.
The first religious school was held the summer of 1864. Thor Helgeson of Iola, and author if "The Indian Land - 1914" was the teacher.
The first sawmill was built in 1853, and finished in 1854, and burned five years later. The first grist mill was started in 1859, but burned before it was completed.
A post office was opened in 1856 with N. Livermore its first Postmaster. Caleb S. Ogden was the first mail carrier.
The Green Bay & Western Railroad built through Saint Lawrence in the year 1873.
The Township of Iola was organized in 1854, and the first meeting held on April 24, 1855, at the home of Knut Erikson Tveitan. Zephania Miller and Samuel S. Chandler, Sr., were tellers, and Milton N. Baldwin was Clerk. Eight resident voters were present. The following were duly elected:--
Town Chairman = Milton N. Baldwin
Supervisors = John Gunderson Heishold and Lars Nilson
Town Clerk = Samuel S. Chandler, Sr.
Town Treasurer = Knut Erikson Tweitan
Assessor = John Gunderson Heisholt
Justice of the Peace = Alvin Willington, Nils Jorgenson, Ole Paulson, Per Greg
Constables = Asa Vanvorce & Knut Tweitan
Town Supt. of Schools = Same Chandler Sr.
Weights & Measures = Sam Chandler
Highways = Knut C. Tveitan
The first settlers in the Town of Iola came in 1852. John Gunderson Heishold from Holden (1825-1880) & w Ane Wimme. His daughter Maria was the first white child born in the township in 1856. She married Eric C. Eikeland from Forde, and acquired the homestead. Jorgen G. Heisholt, a brother of John, drowned while rafting lumber on the Wisconsin River.
Knut Erikson Tveitan from Slemdal (1824-1898) and w Kari Heisholt from Holden (1830-1897). Their son Johan Tveitan and w Hanna Pauline Arveson, acquired this homestead. In the summer of 1852, Knut Tweitan and Johan Heisholt built the first cabin 12 by 14 feet of Tamarack and chinked it with Tamarack bark. Five or six men lived in it for some time. Erik Jakobson Island from Slemdal (1824-1900) & w Maren Jenson from Holt were married Christmas Day in 1858. Bjorn Tollefson from Sande (1824-1911) & w Anne.
From 1853 the following settlers arrived:
Ola Paulson Vormelid from Sondeled (1825-93) & w Thorbjord (1824-98). Their son Ola T. Vormelid & w Ingeborg Larson have this homestead. Per Gregarson Nyhus, from Hiterdal (1814-1908) & w Helga Glittenberg. He was a son of Gregar Nyhus, and married three times. A son Torgrim (1843-61) died in Wausau and son Gregor died in Norske in 1909. Abraham Johnson Lage from Holt and w Inga Evenson bought this place.
Halvor Johanson Sutevju from Hiterdal (1821-1905) & w Birgit (1822-62). His 2nd wife's name was Ingeborg Vougerud. Their son Johan acquired the homestead.
Gregor Gregarson Holla from Hiterdal and his 2nd wife Gunhild Leivson. His third wife was Anlaug Nord-Mork from Lisleherrid. He had several nicknames. His son was known as "Vesie-Gregor" (1840-1908) & w Tone (1844-1907) acquired the homestead. Vesle-GregorHolla died suddenly on a trip into Canada in 1908.
Kristen Kristianson Thoe from Grausherrid (1808-93) & w Anne Hem from Sande, died in 1854. Son Jakob married Margit Tubaas (1830-1910). Kristian K. Thoe married Margit Glittenberg from Hiterdal (1814-86). Both father and son died suddenly.
Johannes Olson Flaata from Hiterdal, died in 1865 & w Ingeborg Vougerud, -- she married Halvor Sutevju. Son Sam Flaata, who was married to Toril Froland from Sauland. Johannes Ingebritson from Porsgrund (1811-94) & w Maren (1818-62). Their son Julius Ingbretson & w Johanna Naes got this place.
Abraham Nilson Naes from Hoijord, died 1857, & w Elen Sofie (1817-97). He was the first blacksmith in the Town of Iola. His wife remarried to Hans Havelson. Nils Kristian Naes & w Karine Brekke acquired the homestead.
Iver Nilson Naes (1829-96) & w Ingeborg Moe. Daughter Amelia Naes and husband, Anton Jacobson from Lardal acquired this homestead. Hans Kristian Anderson from Gjerpen and wife Anne Katrine Bronstad from Sandsvaer. Ed Olson bought this place.
Ovold Person Joistad from Holt and w Ingeborg. His 2nd wife was Mary Olson from Ireland. Nils O. Aasterud & w Gusta Frogner bought this place. Nils Jensen from Hold and wife Karen. Their son Jens Peter & w acquired this homestead, and later sold to Ola Olson Solom, and still later to Anton Svendson & w Karen Olson from Danmark.
Hans Olson Bjaaland from Solum & w Anne (1825-63). Hans married again to Anne Heisholt. Their daughter Karoline and husband Johan Svendson acquired the homestead, -- which later went to her daughter, Edna & husband Paul Jensen from Scandinavia
John Anderson Kaasa from Holden, & w Kjersti. Her son Andreas is a pastor. Ola Jakobson Fjelbo from Larviknaes & 2nd wife Karen bought this place, - later Olette Fjelbo and husband Ola Johnson Lovoen got it.
Kittil Halvorson Tubaas from Hiterdal (1798-1868). His wife died in Norge. His son Ola R. Tubaas (1831-65) & w Asske Siljord (1834-90) & son Halvor K. Tubaas & w Anne Siljord each got their share. Aaste married Torkel Tubaas from Hiterdal. The 3rd son Kittil & w Anlaug Holla (1816-1903). Ola and Andreas acquired this place.
Salve Anderson, carpenter & blacksmith, from Naesverk (1811-83) & w Thorbjorg. She died on a trip and was buried in Watertown. Salve then married a widow Elen Anderson.
Ole Olson Haseldalen from Talemarken & w Thurid Landsverk from Sauland (1813-94). Their son Hans acquired the homestead and later resold it to daughter Hanna and later sold to Ola Budsberg from Gausdal.
Soren Hermanson from Holt (1813-60) & w Inger. Their son Aslak Sorenson (1835-1901) inherited the homestead. He was married four times. The farm then went to Aslak's son Alfred, who later sold it to Johan P. Myhre and w Hanna Holm.
Jorgen Gjertson & w Gunhild from Holt. Their son, Gjert Jorgenson (1826-75) & wife acquired the farm. Later it went to their son Peder J. & w Gina Gudmanson. Knut Knutson Tresnes from Froland (1829-1905) & w Anne Siljord from Hiterdal (1845-1908). Now their place is owned by Gerhard Johnson & w Maria Ellefson.
Ole Knutson Tresnes from Froland (1824-93) & w Anne Kristine Selmer from Eidsvold. Their son, Andreas, got the farm. Their daughter, Elisa, married Anton W. Selmer, who is a son of grand-uncle, book printer Fredrik Selmer, in Oslo. Their son was killed in the woods in 1889, and the widow then married John Buslet from Gausdal. A part of Ola Tresnes' farm was sold to Ola M. Bo, from Sauland & w Amalia Siljord.
Svend Knutson Tresnes from Froland & w Berte. Their son, John S. Tresnes has this farm. His wife is Lina Bo. Andres Knutson Siljord from Hiterdal (1807-82) & w Margit Nyjy (1818-1902) - their son Thor A. Siljord & w Lovise Draland now have this farm.
John Dimmock from Wales, England (1823-1901) & w Mary (1822-85). Oliver Wright from Ireland now owns this place. Ezra D. Valch (Walch) (1828-67) and wife. Gottfried Biederman who died in 1911 and wife acquired this place, which is now owned by his son Albert and wife Esther Wolberg.
James J. Hatch (1816-188) & w Jane. First he was a sawyer, then a preacher, then a farmer and carpenter. At that time his w Jane was the only woman with higher education. His place was sold to Dr. George Dale, who later sold it to Harris O. Solom & w Gusta Listul. Later sold to Kristian Kaalrud.
A part of the old "Hatch Farm" is now owned by Fredrik J. Dimmock & w Mathilde Gutho from Gaaberg. John A. Walch, a miller, (1823-91) & w Caroline (1837-78), who later married a teacher from Wittenberg, Germany. His first home was bought from Kristen Tovson Lovoen, from Lisleherred & w Gunhild. Their son, Tom C. Thompson, is the new owner. The first year K. Lovoen was here he worked for a dollar a month and board plus a pound of tobacco!Israel K. Stoughton & w Marie. Their son Orvill Stoughton now owns their homestead. Wellington C. Adams & wife.
Daniel B. Taylor (1815-86) & w Clara. Their son Byron L. Taylor & w Martha Dufer (1851-74). His second marriage was to Josefine Stanbli (1859-89) and later sold to Thomas Lightbody from Illinois & w Lueretia. He later sold to Henry Paulson & w Gina Dalen.
Henrik Isler from Sveits (1799-1888) & w Katharina (1798-1870). Daughter Elisabeth and husband Torger Gudbrandsen Valberget from Ringbu (1829-1902) acquired the homestead.
Herman Stornes from England & w Salome (1804-88). Osten Nilsen Dale from Valders & w Anne, acquired this place, -- later sold to Oscar P. Hoijord & w Johanne Paulson.
Jonathan Fox from England and wife. Their son Jesse Fox & w Karen Marie Olson. Franklin Thompson from England & w Mary Fox. She lies buried on the "Wollom farm" in Sec. 6. Franklin then married Birgit Lislerud.
Jales Keating from Ireland (1826-1902) & w Jane. Their son Henry Keating & w Carried acquired this homestead. Samuel Krueger from Germany (1820-97) & w Caroline (1821-92). Their son Silhelm Krueger & w Anne Kavel acquired a part of the farm.
Teacher Jacob Bernlie and wife. He was County Supt. of Schools. Lars Jorgenson Wrolstad from Tordal & w Marit Nyflodt from Ringbu, bought the Bernlie farm, which is now owned by son, Johnny and wife.
Ola Bjornson Omnes from Sauland (1824-86) & w Thurid Glittenberg from Hiterdal, plus her mother Margit Glittenberg. Ola Olson Loberg from Gjerpen & w Otea Jorgenson, now own the place. Rasmus Nilson Grekaas from Gjerpen & w Inger, lived a while on the "Bjornson farm". Sveinong Thomason from Lundeherrid (1824-1910) & w Tone Skogen from Sauland (1834-02/03/1895). Their son Henry Olaves Thomasson now owns the farm
Anders Johnson Westeren from Hadeland (1826-1905) & w Anne Anderson from Naesverk. He was also known as "Anders the Carpenter". Thor Helgeson, the author of "Indian Land", from Tind & w Syverine Woldengen from West Toten, acquired this farm, which is now owned by Martin S. Gelgeson & w Helen Sorenson.
Jakob Olson Draland from Farsund & w Maren Erikson, plus Jakob's mother, Gunhild Draland. Their son Isak Draland & w Mathilde Johannesson now own this place. Another son Emanuel died on river floating logs.
Osmund Olson Draland (1820-95) & w Signe from Rissedal. Their son Karl was killed floating logs on a river in 1881. Daughter Oline & husband Paul Paulson, own this place.
Elias Hanson Bakkestuen, from Gausdal, & w Sina Kolden. Elias was killed in the woods, and Sina then married Johanne Ellefson Loka, from Hiterdal.
Martinus Olson from Stange (1810-75) & his son, Ola Martinusson acquired his farm. His wife died in April 1882 and Ola then married Mathea Nylodt from Ringbu. Amund Simonson Forseth bought a part of this farm.
Lars Nilson from Tromoen & w Kirsten Jorgenson sold their place to Hans Knutson Hoibo, who later sold it to Johannes Nilson Krognes from Folster & w Elen Riser. J. K. 1840-02/17/1893. The farm was sold to young Nikolei Berg, who in turn sold to Adolph Bronstad and wife. Nikolei later sold to George and Nelle Griffin. A cemetery was laid out in this place, but is now discontinued.
Kristian Thomasson Skaflestad from Folster & w Oline Krognes (1821-81). Oline fell into a well and drowned. Per Tollefslykkjer from Faaberg & w Olava. He died and was buried in the "Krognes Cemetery".
Torben Larson from Tromoem (1824-1908) & w Gunda Bertine Loberg (1840-1862). Torben then married Anne Aas from Gjerpen. Son Laurits, died from some sickness. His son, Paulus Larson & w Ida Reierson have the farm.
Anders Olson Snurud from Stange & w Kjersit, also old Ola Snurud & w Anne, both of which died within a week of each other. Samuel Paulson Bormelid from Sondeled & w Maria. Their son Edward acquired the farm. He die din 1909. His w Laura acquired the farm. She then married Timan Johnson Grorud from Scandinavia.
Kristian Hanson from Skien (1820-95) and wife. His wife died and he then married Helvig T. Listul from Gjerpen (1827-94). Their son, Jacob T. Hanson & w Anne H. Paulson had the farm for a while where a post office operated for a short time called, "Surat."Now the farm is divided, August & Hanna got one part, and Olaf Herman Westlund & w Ida Naes got the other. Now Julius Johnson Landsverk own the old Hanson farm.
Nils Jorgenson - or Johnson - (1820-____) & w Ingeborg Grine, both from Tromoen. Nils died in 1864 and his wife then married Peter W. Peterson from Trommoen (1817-87). Their son Laurits & w Karoline Bergan got the farm. ON this place there once was a post office called "Petersville" - on Hwys 49 & MM -(1882-1895).
Ellef Herbjornson Nappegarden, from Holvind (1811-94) & w Aase (1816-90). Their son Gilbert & w Maria have this homestead. Lars Knutson from Holt & wife Berte. John Tovson Lovoen from Lisleherrid & w Aslang. John later married Valberg Erikson.
Anders Larson Hoglid from Oier & w Karen from Gausdal. Their place was first owned by Ola Frogner and earlier by A. G. Nelson of Waupaca.
Ola Reierson Naes from Holt (1821) & w Karen (1825-89). Ola died in 1899 & son Reier Reierson & w Ingred Dale, which later went to Mads Danielson & w Karen now own. Jens Anderson Reierson & w Anne Marie Austad (1870-1902), acquired the balance.
Peder Andreas Selmer, a carpenter, from Gidsvold (1814-1903) & w Anne (1827-1902). Peder was a son of Capt. Selmer from Gidsvold; Anne was Swedish. Their son, Karl Fredrik Selmer (1846-99) & w Karine Torbenson Hellebed, and John August Selmer & w Marit Lien, built their own places.
Trond Tronson Hovde from Sigdal (1816-87) & w Margit Hanson from Sauland. Their daughter Anne and husband Nils F. Nilson acquired the homestead.
Reinert Rolfson and wife. Their place was first owned by Anders and Grete Lunde, and before that by Ola Gregerson Kaasa & w Gunhild Nord-Mork. Two of Ola's sons also owned the place for a while.
Kristoffer Bronstad from Sandsvar and wife. Kristoffer fell in a well and drowned. His son, Ola Kristofferson & w Anne Kaasa got the farm. Nils Grundeson from Froland & w Marte. Previously bought from Thomas Mathison Slettene & w Amelia Paulson; once by John & Ola Reierson, and one time by a man named Guy Webb and wife. Now owned by Peter Rostugen.
Knut Gunderson Bergan from Tordal & w Asfte (1830-1907). Their son Gunnar Bergan & w Lovise Heisholt now own one part and Oscar Bergan the rest of the homestead.
Steinar Olson Wogsland from Tordal, (died in 1910) & w Anlaug. He later married widow Karen Solom from Sandsvaer. This old place was bought from Erik O. Wogsland (1844) & w Anne Doxrud (1859-1901). Eric died in 1893. Karl H. Moen & w Maria Wogsland now own this homestead.
Halvor Olson Wogsland from Tordal (1834-1911) & w Anne Guthu from Ringbu (1834-92). Later the place was sold to Ola Hanson Borge from Sauland & w Tone Moen. Hans Nilson Juveland from Sauland & w Kari Borge.
Osten Person Guthu from Ringbu & w Marit Brekke. Lars Pederson Skjeggestad from Faaberg & w Oline Hogsveen. Oscar C. Wogsland & w Anlaug Dalen now have the farm. Hans Kristenson Moen from Ringbu & w Marit (1836-97). Their son Henry Moen has the old home.
Per Olson Dokka from Ringbu (1827-1902) & w Ambjorg Jorgenson. Daughter Gina Dokka Ola Grove from Ringbu have the old farm. Jo Person Melingen & w Matea Wollum from Ringbu. He died and Matea then married Morten C. Lien.
Augustinus Olson from Stange (1828-1909) & w Berte (1828-1901). Their son August Olson & w Netta Kaalrud have this homestead. (Later to Byron Olson, his son).
Ola Paulson Wollum from Ringbu (1822-1907) & w Anne (1824-85). their son Oscar Wollum & w Klara Mork acquired this place. Later sold to Andreas Myhre & w Elise, which later went to his son Eddie H. Myhre. (Clara Mork was a sister of Temen, John, Martin of Iola and Maria (Mork) Togerson. Maria was a god-mother of Lester Peterson, this translator).
Ola Anderson Hesthagen & w Olia. Nils Anderson Hesthagen from Faaberg & w Marit. This old place was bought from Ola H. Oustad, a shoemaker.
Anders Mortenson Nyflodt from Ringbu (died 1865) & w Anne Ellandson. Anne married again to Hans Anderson Myhre from Ringbu.
Mikel Reinert Larson Vesthassel from Vanse on Lister & w Anna Josefine Olson from New Hope. Erik Johnson Aas (Oas) from Gjerpen (1845-1909) & w Ingeborg. (Must be parents of Peter M. Johnson Oas, chairman of Town of Iola many years).
Ola Halverson Hole from Hiterdal and wife. Ola married the second time to a sister of Hans Braaten. Eileve Olson from Hiterdal, bought the Ola Halverson farm and married Grete Torbenson Hellebek (1843-1900). His son Oscar C. Olson & w Josefine Daabu from Alban acquired the homestead.
Hans Evenson Braaten from Lisleherrid & w Gunhild. Jorgen Nottolsson from Tordal bought this farm. Later it went to Even Braaten, who got killed by a tree. Helge G. Lien from Beglid & w Ingeborg Braaten have a part of the old farm.
Gregor Olson Sommenaes from Hiterdal & w Ingeborg Mork from Lisleherred. Ola Johnson Mellem-Mork (1830-1906) & w Anne bought the homestead, which is now owned by Johannes Martin Mork & w Olefine Rollefson from Scandinavia. Ola J. Mork's mother, Anlaug Mellemork also came. Their son Temen L. Mork & w Laura Ganvik from Hiterdal have bought another farm. Ola Peterson Odegaarden from Sauland (1828-1901) & w Anne (1829-97). This place was sold to Ola Gunderson Gaasrud from Lardal (1856-1911) & w Else Stensholt. Their son Hans & w Signe Juveland bought the Ole Gregerson farm in Section 3.
Ola Hanson Kolden from Gausdal & w Anette. Ola is a son of the well known teacher, Hans Kolden, who died in 1868. His grandfather, Ola Johnson (1784-1862) was the first owner of this place.
Johannes Ellefson Loken from Hitterdal (1818-1903) & w Ragnhild Strand. When she died he married Sina Kolden. Their son, "Vesle-Johannes" who acquired their farm, died in 1907. John S. Fiane from Holt & w Anne Dalen from Hiterdal now have this farm.
Ola Olson Bergshaugen from Gausdal & w Karen Kankrudlykken. When Karen died he married Olia Busletten from Gausdal. Their son Mattias Bergshaugen & w Helga Nyhus were on the Ola Tresnes farm.
Amund Halvorson Busletten from Gausdal & w Netta (1833-1906). The old homestead belongs to Gudbrand Gunnarson Stamsted & w Anne Myhre, both from Ringbu.
Per Gregarson Glittenberg from Hiterdal (1821-96) & w Ragnhild Aase. He was also known as "Per Golla". Their son, Andreas Golla acquired this homestead. Ola Bentson from Holt (1843-94) & w Andrea Bjaaland from Solom (died in 1910). Their son Byron H. Bentson and wife have this old farm.
Ambrose Gregerson (son of Greger G) & w Anne Loken. The first owner was Kimball T. Chandler and wife. Hans Hanson Roland from Sauland & w Anne Nord-Mork from Lisleherred.
Kristian Evenson from Gjerpen & w Ina Kjendalen. Their son Theodor Evenson and wife acquired this homestead. Simon Nilson Loberg from Gjerpen (1825-94) & w Sorine Aamodt. Their son Nils Loberg acquired this place, - later it went to Henry Hotvedt and wife. (His widow sold to Rosholt Sales Co., who then sold it to Chas. Shanklin).
Lars Johanannesson Myhra from Gjerpen (1807-97) - their son Nils Theodor Larson & w Ragnhild Loken acquired this place. Single girl Dorthea Erikson Myhra (1827-87).
Herman Olson & w Dorthea, both from Stange. Their son Per Olson & w Gunhild Loken owned the farm for a while - later sold to Adolph Bronstad & w Nikoline Krognes, both from Stange. Later it was sold to Charles H. Emig & w May.
John Hanson Kolden from Gausdal & w Maria Olstad. The first settler here was Anlaug Ellefson from Hiterdal.
Tobias Thorstenson from Gausdal (1839-94) & w Kari Rambek, who died in 1911. Ola Olson Aamodt from Ringerike & w Maria G. Loberg from Gjerpen. Their son Henry Aamodt acquired their homestead.
Isak Olson from Solum & w Gunhild. Gunnar Bjaaland and wife got this farm and sold it to Syvert Ellefson and wife.
Iver Walberget & w Lina. This place was first owned by James Sharp, who sold it to Frank P. Elliott & w Flora Taylor. Single man Hans Bo from Gausdal. This place was first woman by Soren Fiane & w Elen Langtvedt. Konrad M. Pederson from Tronhjem & w Kristine Riste. Fredrik Fredrikson & w Maria (Swedish, 1858-1904).
Halvor Knutson Gjosdal from Tind, and son Knut G. & w Barbo Bjorndalen. Johannes Rindal from Oier & w Sidsel. Their son Anton Rindal & w Anne Fiane from Holt acquired this place.
Ola was on the 7th or 8th of April 1907, poisoned by Bella Gunnes in Indiana (she advertised in Norwegian and got men to go to Indiana, where she poisoned many for their money). His son, Mathias & w Selma Gunderson acquired this homestead.
Ola Olson Landsverk from Sauland & w Marte Olson. When Marte died he married a young woman, Christie, from Oslo, and later to Lina Olson. The farm was sold to Simon Gudmundson Uksom from Gausdal & w Ingeborg. Later the farm went to daughter, Gina and her husband Peter Johnson.
Kristoffer Olson Faldet from Stange (1826-1907) & w Maren (1831-1905). Their son Ola Faldet & w Sigrid Naes got one farm & son Edward Faldet got the other.
Gudbrand Larson Therud from Skedsmo & w Anne. Nils Olson Follov & w Karoline Anderson. Halvor Halvorson Skaarnes from Hjertdal & w Thora. Grandson Gregor Skaarnes acquired this place.
John Peter Svendson Noklegaard from Gjerpan & w Gunhild. Their son Daniel & w Odine got their farm.
Ola Reiserson Nykaas from Lisleherrid & w Lovise Hanson (1856-92). Thomas J. Hanson & w Olga Pederson have this farm.
Gunnar Reierson Ler from Krosherred & w Astrid Anderson (died in 1911). This farm is now owned by Edward Leer in Sec. 9.
Gregor Olson Langdok from Lisleherred & w Kjersti. Their son Theodor & w Marit Rindal from Oier now have this place in Section 9 & 4. (Now Martin Langdok).
Johannes Aasen, or Sanbo from Hiterdal & Anlaug Mork. They sold to Hans Erikson Ronningen & w Maria Wollom, who then sold to J. G. Rosholt of Alban (E1/2 - NE1/4-9).
Reier Olson Nykaas from Lisleherrid & w Anne Mellem-Mork. Their son Johannes Nykaas & w Milla Gilbert from Alban now own the farm. Andres Torbenson from Sandsver (1848-1909) & w Gunhild Anderson Siljord. Johannes Loken from Hiterdal (1821-1901) and son J. L. Jr. & w Gustrue Tone who died in 1910. Halvor Larson from Hiterdal & w Anne Loken.
Ole Anderson Goli & w Guri & son Sveinong Goli & w Regina Gutu. Their son Ola Goli got the homestead. Sons Andres & Eilev Goli settled in Sec. 35 of Harrison.
Ole Kristianson Borgelid from Sauland & w Signe Orvella. Ola Evenson Bo from Sauland & w Anne Orvella. Their son Ola Bo & w Nora Nilson, have the farm which was formerly owned by Ole Siljord.
Hans Nilson Ganvik, or Kaasa & w Margit & also Nils Ganvik & w Anne. Gullik Moen from Hiterdal & w Ingeborg. Their son, Hans G. Moen & W Anne Nilson acquired this farm. (Now owned by his son Ted Moen).
Halvor Loken from Hiterdal & w Anne Siljord. Simon J. Moen from Gausdal & w Maria Gutu bought this place. Gregor Kaasa from Lisleherrid & w Margit. The farm is now owned by Halvor Kaasin from Sunde and wife.
Lars Anderson Skei from Lon & w Thora.
Young Gunnar Olson Hagen from Gausdal died quite young. His farm was sold to Lars Strand and wife from Froen, and then to Samuel Krueger, then to Ola M. Myhra from Ringbu, and then to Ole Amundson from Lom & w Bergit Lien from Beglid. Karl & Nikoline Helgeson from Gjerpen own Gunnar Hagen's homestead.
John Helgeson Lien & w Ingeborg Aasen from Beglid. Torgram Dalen from Hiterdal & w Ingeborg Taraldson. Ola Hanson Kasin & w Anne. John Hogmoen from Hiterdal & w Thora. Oscar J. Olson & w Anne.
Henry Helgeson & son Gustav C. Helgeson and wife. Martin Ellefson & w Anna Bakkom. Gustav Svendson from Sweden & w Jennie bought this place. John Haaberg from Hiterdal and wife.
Its first name was "Chandler's Mills". The first settlers were Samuel S. Chandler & brother W. Chandler built the first house and sawmill in 1854. Samuel's wife's name was Sarah Colcord (1815-72). Milton Baldwin built the first mill but it burned.
The first hotel (and bartender) was Joseph B. Bennett & w Helen (1828-68). The first businessman was C. R. Baldwin, his wife and her mother. He started in 1855 and was Iola's first postmaster in 1856. The grist mill was built by Baldwin, Wipf, and Chandler in 1860. Zephania Miller, Asa Vanvorce, and Alvin Willington.
Hotel man Walter Bailey (1798-1860) & w Paulina (1799-1863). Their son Paul B. (1827-78) and wife took over the hotel. Later hotel owners were:Harry Anton, Frederik Rohde, George Gregarson, Nils Ogren, and Kristian Strand.
Miller Heinrich Wiph from Sweits (1813-75) & w Elisabeth (1811-89), Jacob Wiph (1834-1910) & w Amelia Leuthold.
Conrad Wipf (1836-89) & w Eliza Brand (1841-1903). Lucy Beckwith (1777-1859). Hubbard Beckwith (1801-69) & w Nancy (1809-71).
The first carpenter was L. A. MacIntire & w Mary (1816-56). She was the first white person to die in this settlement. George Robinson (1833-65) & w Dina (1834-68).
Abel H. Dufur & w Clarissa (1822-1903). Assemblyman Andrew Jackson Dufur. Carpenter Austin Alexander Pierce & w Lydia Hopkins (1832-1905). They are both descendants of William Bradford, the first governor of the Pilgrims.
The first saw mill operator was Albert K. Osborn & w Sarah Chandler (1838-68), who were the first to be married in Iola. The first shoemaker was J. M. Rowland (1819-1895) & w Elen (1838-68).
Augustus Chandler & w Emma; Thomas C. Parker & w Harriet. The first doctor was J. W. Noyes and wife. Orris Flint and wife; T. W. Brand and wife; Peter R. Staples & w Adella; S. C. Strikeland and wife; D. P. Mathews and wife; J. M. Carll; G. L. Warren & w Chloe (1799-1860).
Wm. Harrison Warren, a carpenter (1837-1910) & w Ellen Beckwith. C. N. Crosier and wife; A. M. Shannon and wife; G. C. Northey and wife. Jesse K. Cram and wife. Their son Luther Cram & w Mary Danley and her mother, Mrs. Seth Danley. A. M. Baldwin and wife.
Dr. George Dale from England (1844-1901) & w Sarah (1844-81). He married Karen Sether later.
Jacob Stanbli and wife, who was first a preacher and then a druggist. (He was the first one to buy land in Sec. 20 of Alban).
Orin Taylor & w Carolina; Henry G. Taylor & w Harriet; Ruben Hatch and wife; Rudolf Salzman; Thomas S. Parker; Joseph Morby, Harry Anton, and Sam Clayton.
Albert Weinmann, a blacksmith from Sweits & w Elizabeth Hochstrasser. One of Iola's first settlers was Jim Ross. He died in a well, which caved in over him. He held private school in his house. Among his pupils were Jacob and Conrad Wipf, Jim Keating and William Wallace.
The first Norwegians were: -- Ola Larson Kvernhaugen, a tailor & w Olia Busletten, both from Gausdal. Olia then married to Ola Bergshaugen and later to Per Nyhus from Hiterdal. Johannes Gullikson Brobakken from Ringbu & w Berit.
Professor and farmer Knut Ellingson Vaaler, from Tordal & w Ingeborg Taraldson. Businessman Johan Olson Hole & w Anne Langset from Gausdal, and also Ola C. Hole & w Elisa Loberg, from Gjerpen. Businessman Louis Louisson from Lardal & w Liv Kittelsdatter (1846-76). Businessman Kristian Torberson from Sandsver (1837-1909) & w Helene Loberg. And businessman Torgrim Bergsland & w Tone. When she died he married widow Kari Anderson from Winneconne, who died in 1903.
Businessman Isak K. Hunn from Lardal (1842-1909) & w Ragnhild Nilson (1846-86). Isak's second wife was Selina Schwartzenback. Businessman Johan O. Hunn from Lardal (1842-1905) & w Karen Amundson.
Businessman Oscar P. Hoijord & w Johanna Paulson. Johannes Kristianson & w Hanna Flottero from Porsgrund. J. K. married second time to Gina Kalvel. Businessman Hans Johnson and Sina Wrolstad. Shoemaker Henril Sendsen from Kragero & w Anne Wesli.
Shoemaker Peter Gunderson from Eidanger & w Maren. Sawyer and carpenter Ola Fogner from Gjerpen & w Kristiana Pederson. He has been on the town board, and president of the village. Machinist Johannes G. Fogner & w Klara Evenson. Carpenter Lars Fogner & w Grete Kjaer.
Adolph Hanson a blacksmith & w Karen Helgeson.
Cornelius Johnson, a blacksmith, & w Gunmand Amundson, a blacksmith Kirsten Hermanson; and Nils Naes, a blacksmith & w Karine Brekke; O. C. Walstad, a blacksmith and wife; Nels N. Aamodt, a blacksmith & w Ingeborg. Tailor and clothes handler, Ambrose Hegna from Hiterdal & w Anlaug Loken. Nils Vidne from Bos & w Elen Thulien from St. Lawrence.
Simon M. Myhre, a banker from Ringbu and wife, and the following businessmen:J. C. Evenson, a banker and wife; Jakob Evenson Naerstad; druggist J. C. Lang; Postmaster and saddle maker, Buck Williams & w Clara (1867-1900); Barney Peterson & w Clara Hoyord; Kristian Strand (restaurant) from Ringbu & w Amelia Mortenson; Swenson Brothers; C. M. Taylor; Anderson Brothers et al.
Saloon keepers: -- Ola Landsvaerk; Anders Lunde; Rasmus Orekassa; Little Thor Thorstienssen; Olaves Nilson; Otto Beck; T. C. Thompson et al.
The first newspaper entitled, "Iola Messenger" was published by James Hatch in 1883. The first school conducted by Mary Taggart & Mrs. Caldwell from the Town of Lind in 1855. The first school house was built in 1856. The first Norwegian school was held in 1866 by Thor Helgeson the author of this book. The first sermon given by James J. Hatchin 1856.
The Village was laid out in 1855, and incorporated in 1892. The first Village officers were: --
President, Dr. George Dale; Supervisor, Jacob Wipf; Clerk, S. P. Jameson; Treasurer, Alexander Pierce;
Trustees = Lars Fogner, Samborn Taylor, W. N. Parks, W.
Weiman, T. Thompson, et al.
The Town of Helvetia was organized in 1860, and the first election held in schoolhouse, District 1861. Those elected were:
Chairman = Kristian Torbenson Hellebek;
Supervisors = Jorgen S. Fiane & S. Thorson
Town Clerk = John Bliss
Treasurer = James Keating
Assessor = Hans Knutson Hoibo
Supt. of Schools = Johann G. Leuthold.
After 1853 there came many settlers; --Anders Paulson from Larviksnes (D-1910) & w Maria (1826-1908). Their son Henry Paulson acquired the homestead. Later it was sold to Henry Tubaas & w Else Stamstad from Ringbu. Jorgen S. Fiane from Holt (1814-78) and second wife, Melene. Fiane and Paulson came about the same time. The woods was thick and two weeks passed before they knew they were neighbors. Halvor A. Larson has the homestead.
Anders Larson Kvernhaugen from Gausdal & w Stina. When his wife died he sold to Henry Nilson Braennon & w Pauline. Henry later sold to Osten & Anne Dale from Valders, - later it went to Jacob Schwartzenbach from Sveits & w Verona (1820-99). Their son Jacob S. acquired the farm, who was on the Town Board many years.
Nils Brennon & w Anne -- a good deer hunter. He was a teacher and held Norwegian school at the home of Soren Fjelbo . . . John Anderson Bronvald & w Anne. He sold this farm to Andreas O. Lia from Holt & w Matea Flottero, - later sold to Johannes Jakobson from Arendal, and still later to Geo. Sommers.
Jakob Jakobson Fjelbo from Larviksnaes & w Maria. Their son Ola Jakobson Fjelbo & w Karen Olstad moved to Iola. Their son died in Helvetia and his wife Karen moved to Iola. Ola & Anne Lonnevik got their homestead. Their son Nils Fjelbo & w Berte sold their farm to Peter Paulson and moved to the town of Alban. Son Abraham Fjelbo & w Dorthe moved to Alban.
Johan Henrik Leuthold from Sweits & w Fredolina Febr (1821-1872). His second wife was Emma Staub. Their son Johann Leuthold was on the Town Board many years. Johann Henrick Leuthold Sr. from Sweits (179601876) & w Barbara (1796-1865).
C. Gordon from Ireland. A total stranger came home with him one evening and hung himself. He lies buried in Jacob Wipf's garden.
John Bliss and wife. He was the first school teacher in the area. The first school house was built in 1860.
Per Person Hullet from Ringbu (1820-99) & his third wife Marit Knappen. They were married November 8, 1859 and were the first to be married in Helvetia. When Marit died, he married her sister, widow of Per Vesli. He was a war veteran who had lost an arm in an engagement. His daughter Anne and husband Emort Thulien now own the homestead.
Kristen Gudbrandson Valberget from Ringbu & w Ragnhild from Fron. They were parents of the first child born I Helvetia. Kristen bought the "Warren Farm" which is now owned by Gustav Wasrud and wife Aletta Kaalrud.
Erik Evenson Gulset from Gjerpen & w Klara, who sold their place to Jacob Staub & w Anna from Sweits. From them it went to Kristian Torbenson of Iola. Later it was sold to Ola Nerlien from Ringbu, and then to Erik Gulset from Koshkonong. A single girl, Anne Severine Fjelbo.
Gunnar Gudbrandson Valberget and wife bought the farm of Skibskaptin Hans Sivertson. He was born in 1824 and die don January 16, 1878. His son Gudbrand acquired the farm, which is now owned by Ola Anderson from Farmington.
Per Olson Iversli from Gausdal (1812-80) & w Anne (1811-67). Their son acquired this farm but sold to a Danish family and went to the western states.
Per Iversli was a member of the Town Board. Another son, Thomas & w Bolette Torgerson from Naesverk, sold their farm & went west. (I believe this is J. J. Rogerson's daughter).
Paul Jensen Barlundstuen (1835-1911) & w Guri Rustugen (1808-79). Their son Jens (1835-1911) & w Anne Kankrud, acquired a part of the homestead, and son John got the balance, which he sold to Johannes Valberget of Ringbu.
Hans Knutson Hoibo & w Marte Barlundstein (1842-65). Hans moved to Minnesota where he died in 1908. Stain Thorson from Tordal (1811-83) & w Gunhild. He was on the Town Board many years and was the first to conduct Sunday school. their son Thor Thorson acquired the farm.
Torbjorn A. Hellebek from Sandsver & w Maria. Their son, Kristian Torbenson, sold this place to Ola Bjornson Omnes from Sauland (1824-86) & w Turi Glittenberg. Johannes Skogen acquired this homestead.
Cyrus Churchill -- was the first postmaster in 1856. William Wallace (died 1910) & w Mary Jane (1835-80). Henry W. Carli (1820-1906) & w Dina (1834-68). He was a "Justice" in Helvetia a long time.
Wm. Jones from England (died 1909) & w Marilla (1840-60). When she died he married Miss Hopkins from Ogdensburg. Their son Josephus B. Jones & w Alice live in Iola. Pastor Harlan D. Stone bought the farm.
Anders Jensen from Danmark & w Ruby Brownell. Anders has been lumber dealer, member of the Town Board & Assemblyman.
Per Olson & w Kari Knappen, both from Ringbu. Their farm went to son, Ola J. Olson & w Sofia Fjelbo - then to Otto Olson & w Marte Hanson. Edwin Olson acquired another farm owned by his father.
Kristian Jacobson Fjelbo & w Ingeborg Thorson.
Ola Person, a son of Per Person, & w Anne Thoe. Their son Peder A. Person & w Martine Rudi have this homestead. Ola was married again to Anne Knutson. When she died he went west. Abraham Eliason Stulen and wife from Eidanger.
Paul Olson Onstad from Ringbu & w Marit Dalen. Paul was on the Town Board. Ole Nilson from Sweden & w Bergit Kruse from Oslo.
Thorsten Nilson Kvie from Valders & w Sidsel. Severin Bestul & w Gustine Kittelson Tubaas have this homestead. Peter Jansen from Sweden and wife. Ludvig Krause from Germany and wife. He was the first saloon-keeper in Helvetia.
Wilhelm Krause from Germany and wife. He died in 1909 and in 1910 his widow married Aug. Faehling of Big Falls.
Ingebrit Dalen from Ringbu & w Ambjorg Wasrud from Gausdal (1844-1900). He was a Town Board member. Their daughter and son-in-law acquired the farm.
Per Hanson Krogsven from Ringbu & w Berit Knappen. Johannes Strand and wife. Their son Mathias & w Mathilde Grove acquired this farm.
Johan Olbu from Trondhjem & w Anne Person from Ringbu. They went west and Johan became a pastor in the Hauge Synod. Syvert Thulien (1821-1906) from Ringbu & w Anne (1831-1906) acquired this farm which later went to their son, Per Thulien.
Per Guthu from Fraaland & w Ronnog. Tobias P. Guthu (1839-85) and second wife Sonnove Brobakken from Gausdal. SIMON P. GUTHO was a tailor, blacksmith, and County Surveyor for many, many years. (He drafted a blue print of the Village of Rosholt in 1922-23).
Kristian K. Thoe from Gransherrid (1836-1883) & w Margit Flaata. Their son Kristian Jr. acquired the homestead. Gullik T. Moen from Hiterdal & w Hilga (1846-98). Their son Torjus inherited this farm.
Torkel Bestul from Sandsver (died 1908) & w Karen Solom (1828-97). Edwin Olson bought this farm.
Amund Olson Grove from Ringbu (1828-1902) & w Mari (1828-1902). Their son, Julius Cove & w Clara Olson and daughter Eilov Olson, now have this farm. Nils Nilson from Gausdal & w Anne. Morton Norstevoldbakken from Gausdal & w Agnette Kolden (1841-97). Eliv Peterson Odegaarden and wife.
Kristen Bjornson from Hiterdal & w Gina Flaata. Ola Person Vesli (1863-1902) & w Guline Paulson. Nils Juveland from Sauland & Aslaug Juveland.
Realf T. Bestul & w Inger Rasmussen. Julius Bestul & w Inga Syverson. Thomas Olson & w Clara Bestul. Anton P. Vesli & w Malene Olson. Robert Botwell from Ireland & w Anne Bestul. Also Anders Rasmussen, Ferdinand Pederson, Nils Pederson, & Gustav Olson.
Other settlers that came later were:Phillip Shell, S. W. Stevens, L. F. Hopkins, E. G. Clapp, Heinrik Much, John Sneiderwirth, August Schultz, Ovid Buell, P. R. Pope, L. J. Lenning, Frank Thurston, Herman Albenas, Fred Klott, W. Krueger, and H. Gerke.
Also George Eastman, Frank Eastman, Peter Eastman ________, J. Trice, T. Stevens, Heinrik Nollenberg, John Pidde, John Polzin, G. Praus (Price), Gust Sonnenberg, C. Johanknecht, G. Zimmerman, F. N. Ayers, and others.
(Note:AT this point Helgeson lists Town of Harrison, which had been contained in Town of Iola, Northland, Norske, & Big Falls instead of picking up Amherst, New Hope, and Alban).
The town of Harrison was partly settled while the Town of Iola was opened, so it was not organized as a separate township until 1890. Its first election was held 04-07-1891, when the first Town Board was elected:
Chairman = Mads Hanson, father of James H. Hanson of Rosholt.
Supervisors = Wright Lashua, grandfather of Robert Lashua, and Isak Omit.
Town Clerk = Ola A. Buslett
Treasurer = Nils J. Aamodt (or Omit)
Assessor = Alf Knutson
Justice of the Peace = Ola A. Buslett, Robert Maney, & Isak Omit
Constable = Frank Lashua, Isak Omit & John Reierson
The first settlers of "Harrison" were OLA OLSON WROLSTAD, who built a log house and a saw mill on the "Flume River" in Section 31. It was the "beginning" of the community called "Northland". A few years later, John Maney and wife, son John Maney Jr, Robert G. Maney, & C. A. Reamer moved to the Little Wolf River at the eastern boundary, but they were away for several years. (Dam built called "Reamer Dam" in Sec. 24).
In the middle sixties came:John Smith (1813-1901) & w Carolina (1815-90). S. Davis acquired this place. George W. Smith and wife. Anders O. Goli bought their farm, and his brother Eilov Goli bought the north portion.
Daniel B. Taylor & w Clara. Harlan P. Hatch bought this place.
Johan Olson Wrolstad from Tordal (1839-1907) & w Matea Nyflodt from Ringbu (died 1910). Johan was mill owner and lumber dealer.
John Potterud from Sadsver & w Trine (1833-76). She was the first Norwegian to die in Harrison. Ole O. Dalen (a sergeant) bought a part of the farm - his wife was Gunhild Ganvik. Ole Dalen raised a family in Norske, then moved to Rosholt, and was treasurer of Rosholt Creamery many years. (Father of Norman, Fred, Gertie, et al).
Jens Olson Loberg from Gjerpen, a son of Gjerpen and Skien's mail carrier Ola Loberg and wife. This farm was acquired by Olaves Loberg & w Martha Naerestad. The Oscar Loberg got the farm in NW1/4 of Section 30. Oscar is the father of Mrs. Joe Ferg, Mrs. Ike Moore, et al.
Anders O. Solom from Sandsver & w Else. Elsa later married Kristian Wogsland. Their son Ola A. Solum & w Hanna Listul acquired this place. Ole O. Solom Sr. died on his farm rather suddenly, which was acquired by Reir R. Leer (SW1/4-18) & w Birgit Ganvik.
Erik Evenson Braaten from Lisleherrid & w Kjersti (1812-93). Their son Even Erikson Braaten & w Kjersti Vallendalen. She was the first to be buried at the Northland Cemetery. Hans Evenson Braaten & w Gunhild. Kristian Erikson Braaten & w Tilla Lovoen. Erik Erikson & w Hanna Braaten.
Johan Ellefson from Sandsver (died 1911) & w Anne Solum. Anne Leer and husband have this place. Hans Kjaera, a young man from Saude, has the Johan Ellefson place. Isak Jakobson Ammodt from Eidanger ----- this place was first owned by Anders Anderson & w Bolette Naerlien from Gausdal. Nils J. Aamodt & w Etta Waller, are on the old Hans Braaten place.
Stephan Statler from Ireland, wife and brother Burt Statler. Matias Johnson Skaterud & w Johanne Stubberudlien acquired this place in Section 33.
Anthoney Lashua from Canada and wife, a widow Mary (Maney) Newman. Jerry Lashua from Canada (1836-1904) & w Theodate (1839-1905). Franklin Lashua & w Flavey, who both died suddenly. WRIGHT LASHUA & wife. Their son, Lee Lashua and his son Robert Lashua acquired this farm in Section 33.
Alf Knutson (1851-90) & second wife Gunhild Goli who became separated. Ola O. Tubaas & w Gusta Gregorson Holla got this farm, which later went to Johannes Halvorson (1833-1905) -- later moved to Alban.
Anders Kristenson Reistad from Faaberg & w Pauline Guthu. John Aasen from Hiterdal & w Ragnhild bought this place. Thomas McGinnis and wife. Ola Johnson Bo from Sauland (1844-1906) got this farm.
Mill man and lumber dealer Albert Weinmann Jr. & w Mina Knutson. John McKay & w Rosa Weimann. Jacob Jacobson Ronningen from Lardal, known as "Jacob Rosholt". (Possibly a relative as many by this name lived in Lardal).
Anton Danielson Bo from Lardal & w Hella. Later this place was owned by Jorgan K. Bergan & wife. Anton Selmer & wife, Sec. 36.
Halvor J. Loken & w Anne Siljord. Hans Torgerson Vinbek from Kongsberg & w Anne. Mads (Matt) Hanson & w Anne Draland now have this farm on Highway 49 and County Trunk C.
Reier O. Langdok & w Kjersti Nymoen. Edward T. Lovoen & w Lina Langdok. Kittil Barikmo from Lisleherrid. John Draland and Ella Anderson from Stockholm bought the Hans Finnemyr farm (1880-1912).
John Merde & wife; son Andreas Merde & w Emilie Vik. Blacksmith Ingbrit Kristianson & w Marie. Siman Ellefson from Sandsver & w Anne Torgerson. Ole Siljord now owns this farm in Section 18.
OLA BUSLETT from Gausdal & w Anlaug Reierson from Lisleherrid. Jesse Fox and wife Karen Marie Olson. Kittil Nymoen from Hiterdal & w Helga Ganvik. (Parents of Ole and Norman Nymoen). JOHN BARIKMO, a finishing-carpenter from Lisleherrid & w Ragnhild. (Parents of Otto and Olaf Barikmo)
Carpenter John Reierson from Lisleherrid & w Anne Bo from Sauland. His son Rudolph was also a carpenter around Norske.
John A. Buslett from Gausdal & w Elisa Tresnes of Iola. Charley Hess and wife. Ola K. Tangen from Hiterdal. Nils Anderson Hesthagen & w Marit. August Draland & w Matilda Olson had this farm previously.
Anton Nilson Hesthagen and wife; Kittil Naerstad; Nils S. Loberg; Mill machinist Pete Paulson Gelga Nyhus; Halvor Saeter; and Helge Naes & w from Gransherrid.
Theodore Isakson Hjendalen from Eidanger & w Elen. Theo died August 20, 1914. Eilev Olson Hellem from Hiterdal & w Tone Hilla. Young man Johannes O. Hellum. Johan J. Mork & w Hanna. Hans Kalkaas Olson & w Guro Shipperud. Ole Kittilson Lapbakke & w Anne Sanaurlia, who died December 13, 1914.
Later settlers were: -- Lars Matson & w Ingebjorg; Hans Anderson Myhre & w Anna Erlandson; Ola G. Langdok & wife; Otto Lund & w Pauline Wollum; Martin Matson & w; Osten Par Guthu & w Anne Leer; Otto Guthu & w Malene Erikson; Josef Brobakken & w Oline Naerlien; Martinius Erikson & wife; blacksmith & wagon maker Karl Anderson from Stockholm (W1/2-NW1/4=32) and wife; and Hageman Hanson from Smaalenene & w Anne.
The first businessman in the community of Northland was O. A. Buslett. He was also the first postmaster and John Reierson was the first to carry mail.
Buslett has been businessman, farmer, editor, composer, town chairman, Assessor, clerk, supervisor, and assemblyman.
Otto Lunde was the first blacksmith & John Reierson the first carpenter. John O. Wrolstad built the second store and first creamery, -- he sawed lumber, ground feed, and planed lumber. His business was turned over to his sons.
The popular "Martin Erickson" was the handy man of Northland. He once told a farmer, "It is unusual how many potatoes you have in your hay field!!!"
A railroad from Marion to Big Falls was extended to the "Comet" for logs and to Norske for logs and potatoes, about 1895, plus or minus. Byron Taylor built a warehouse to handle potatoes and other farm produce. John Reierson even had a small hotel there. Businessmen were Kittil Naerstad, followed by Gustav Helgeson, A. Braaten et al. Naerstad was the first postmaster, and Ola Langdok the first blacksmith.
A number of houses were built west and southwest of the store.
The first election of the township was held on April 9, 1891. The following residents were elected:---
Chairman = George H. Fox
Supervisors = Aug. Fahling & Hans Lien
Town Clerk = F. C. Perkins
Treasurer = Ola H. Lien
Assessor = A. W. Whitcomb
Justices = W. Berndt; Peter Vesli,; F. Perkins
Constables = M. Bates; P. McCallum; G. McNints
Early settlers were: -- Ola Lien Sr and wife Eli Djupdal. Ola died October 16, 1892. Ola H. Lien Jr. . & w Theresa Aefra from Iola; Hans H. Lien & w Nanna Aefra of Iola; Matias Olson Sveen & w Gina; Ola Gunnarson & w Sigrid; Otto Hanson and wife; John Johnson & w Gunhild Goli; Ole Mork & w Augusta Draland from Iola; Martin Forseth and wife; Peter Vesli & w Malene Olson, et al.
Also:August Opperman, Albert Fahling, A. W. Whitcome, J. C. Perkins, W. Behrent, Charley Dagan, John Staub, John Polzin, H. Reamer, W. C. Bemis and others.
Whitcome & Company built the first saw mill, and now a large dam has been built for electrical power.
The first hotel was operated by Pat McCallen; the first postmaster was Stephen Mont, and the first mail carrier was John Johnson. Of tavern-keepers there were:August Opperman, Pat McCallum, Torkel Tubaas, Kristian Selmer, John Selmer, Johnny Solom, and others. The railroad came in 189_ and remained until 1910.
Portage County was at one time a very large area. Following the initial organization, the first election was held in Plover on April 18, 1845. (Plover Portage). Plover was the County Seat until 18790 when it was moved to Stevens Point.
The first settlers in the county were:S. A. Sherman, Peter L. Brown, John DuBay, M. Benjamin, and others.
The first marriage was John R. Mitchell and Fanny Luther. The first Circuit Court was held on the first Monday in April, 1845 by Judge David Irvin.
In 1849 County Supervisors were elected instead of County Commissioners.
Note: Stagecoaches soon operated from Portage and Berlin, and later a connection made at Medina which went to Fremont, Waupaca and to Plover. Soo Line came to Stevens Point in 1872 and the Green Bay & Western to Plover in 1873. The "Portage Branch" thru Plainfield, Hancock, Coloma, and Westfield soon thereafter. . .
Alban, New Hope, Amherst, and Lanark townships at one time belonged to Waupaca County, but soon added to Portage County.
The Township of Amherst was organized in 1854, and the following were elected: --
Chairman = Ed Smith
Supervisors = John L. Phelps & Wm Spurs
Town Clerk = William G. Rice
This was all that was elected according to the records.
In 1858, Captain Johan G. Gassman was elected Chairman of the township.
Heil Heaton was the only Story-teller (fibber) in the entire township. Jacob Childs and wife, Phillip Bangle (1813-73) & w Polly Loing (1820-78). Wm. Stanton Bangle (1842-84) & w Melissa (1839-1900). He died in a train accident.
Lieut. Jerome Nelson (1829-97) & w Marilla Yerkes (1835-99). He was the first man in Nelsonville where he built a saw mill and later made it into a grist mill.
Oliver Yorkton (1827-1906) & w Marcia Spaulding. His father was in the war of 1812, and his grandfather in the Revolution.
Clare Bushwell (1837-1905) & w Ruth (1832-76). U. O. Micham and wife.
Enoch Webster (1813-97) & w Lydia (1818-92). Dr. Thomas M. Clark (1812-93) & w Mary (1815-77). Dr. A. G. Guernsey & w Sarah (1841-72) & Dr. W. T. Atwell (1849-1907).
Pastor C. C. Carpenter & w Jane Wilstie (1839-1904). Pastor Herman Ellis and wife. Pastor Perry Miller and wife.
Charles C. Buck a carpenter & w Harriet Darling, Ed Smith and wife, and W. D. Spurr and wife.
Settlers in the immediate vicinity:IN 1854 Monroe Moyers bought 160 acres where the Village is now located. IN 1855 he sold this tract to Robert Wilson, who built the first hotel called the "Amherst House". When he died, his widow married John Een, a Swede.
Later John Een built & operated a hotel in Amherst Junction called "Summit House".
In 1854 and later, many settlers came to the area, namely:
Thomas Fleming (1793-1855) & w Rachel (1792-1864), and Benjamin Fleming and wife.
Asa Bancroft (1819-78) & w Eliza (1820-81). Fleming P. Grover & Asa Bancroft built the first saw mill in Amherst. Later it became a grinding mill.
Arch Bishop & w Christiana (1842-99). Isaac R. Grover (1817-83) & w Rozilla (1825-73). Peter Grover (1818-95) & w Celia (1823-1909). A. T. Ryerson (1815-89) & w Permelia (1820-89).
W. W. Sherwin and wife, Ret Harvey & w 1-Julia (1832-63, & 2-Jane (1850-72). Wm Bigelow and wife. John Van Skiver and wife. Joseph Diver (1815-92) and wife. Richard Hartman and wife. J. C. Hoffmann (1817-88) & w Christiane (1817-84).
Wilhelm Bobe and wife. He fell into an open well, and was rescued after three days. Heinrich Tophorn from Germany & w Guro.
Businessman Frederich G. Ingvaldson (1791-1865) and wife. Christian Vogt and wife. Businessman Johann C. Endlich & w Emelie.
John Blasky and wife. John Stoltenberg and wife. Anders Moberg, a saddle maker from Sweden & w Prudence Buck.
Hans Hilstrom (1799-1884) and wife, also Daniel Hilstrom. Tuue O. Een (18-8-93) & w Inga (1811-73). Carl A. Een (1834-05) & w August (1854-1904). Businessman August Peterson & w Kirsten Onneland.
A. Sandholm and wife, A. G. Sondergreen and wife, A. Skogland and wife, and Capt. Johan G. Gasman from Fossom (b 1796) & w Charlotte (1799-1872).
Captain August G. Gasman and wife, and Gotfred G. Gasman (1827-76). Businessman, Nils Gasman and wife. Moller Meeks from England & w Maren Vaggetrn (1821-1909).
Voie Wilhelmson Vaggetun from Valders (1831-72) & w Matilde Gudbrandhaugen (1832-1901). He operated a "bar" in Amherst. Wilhelm Wilhelmson Vaggetun and wife.
Businessman, Jens Jacob Nilson Toldnes & w Juanita Patton Andrews. Businessman Anders M. Toldnes & w Agnes (1851-75) and Andrew Howen and wife.
Jakob Foxen, a banker from Gausdal & w Mariane Jensen from Scandinavia. Businessman Martin S. Murat & w Caspara Jensen from Scandinavia. Ola Iverson Avelsgaard from Stordalen (1828-92) & w Anne from Stromdalen.
Ole Iverson Jr., a carpenter, and wife, John Iverson (1834-90) & w Ingeborg, Ola Iverson Jr, and John Iverson (1834-90) & w Ingeborg.
Blacksmith John Siverson, Gudmand Kjos from Valders & w Kirsten Hermanson. Louis Nilson a carpenter and wife, Iver Olson and wife, and Ola Iverson & w Birgitte.
Businessman Lars. L. Loberg & w Oline Rustad. Harness maker Hans Hanson from Gausdal and Willie Waller.
Gilbert O. Gullikson & second w Anne Leer. Theodor Johnson & w Anne Loberg. Nils J. Loberg & w Dina Bo, who taught school in Alban in 1870's. Theo. Loberg & w Julia. Ola H. Bakke, a tailor and wife. Ola O. Vold from Orkedalen (1822-93) & w Johanne (1844-98).
Businessman Ola L. Gaarden and wife. Andrew Anderson a shoemaker from Valders and wife. Nils Rollefson and wife. Iver Johnson a mason and wife. Carpenter Torkelson & w Helene. Isak Solverud and wife. Nils Solverud & w Lovise Naes. Big Knut Solverud & second wife Signe.
Torbjorn Gunnarson from Satisdalen and wife. Halvor Kristianson Riste from Valders (born 1796). He was in the Swedish Was in 1814. Ton Valde from Valder & w Ingeborg Riste. Knut Kvie from Valders (1827-87) & w Sigrid Riste (1829-1908).
Evind Johanson from Stavanger & w Berta Malina. Gudmand Martinson from Stavanger & w Marta. Betle Valerdalen. He was later married to Gudman's "Marta".
John Olson Vallerdalen from Gjerpen & w Karen Haarstad from Gausdal. Nils Olson Vallerdalen & w Anna.
JENS MORTENSON & WIFE MAREN RASMUSSEN (1825-1905) both from Danmark. Moved to Alban and was an early settler in Sec. 28, - sold in 1892 and retired in Amherst Village.
Tollef Olson Hoifleiv & w Karoline Rollefson (1843-92) and son Hans. John Thorstenson from Sandherred (1831-1901) & w Maria (1825-95). Gudmand Kristofferson Riste from Valders (1813-95) & w Ragnhild (1808-92) and son Kristoffer & w Randine Nilson.
Rasmus Olson from Danmark (1823-96). He left his wife in Danmark without separation; married Marte Haugen from Scandinavia and divorced her. (The rascal). Tollef Haavardson from Saetisdalen and wife.
Torgjorn Gunnarson Borgen from Satisdal (died 1907) & w Anne (1827-94). Anders Mattison Natkjem (1811077) & w Ingeborg.
Bertil Johnson (1830-1903) & w Kjisten Sorenson from Holt (1838-95). Lars Tollefkouen and wife. Thorten Tellefkouen from Slemdal (1828-89) & w Karen.
Klaus Person Stensland from Slemdal and wife. Jakob Overbo from Eidanger and wife. Jakob Isakson Aamodt from Eidanger & w Elisabet. Halvor Loberg & w Nettie.
Johan Peter Murat from Hedrum (1815-97) & w Berte Helene (1824-1908). Gabriel Abrahamson, a blacksmith, from Farsund (1825-61) & w Grete. He later married Stina Olson, and she later married Hans Jorgenson from Ringbu.
Amund Stenerson Sveen from Gausdal & w Anne (1828-1903). Nils Nilson Kvie and wife. Soren Halvorson from Gjerpen and wife. Nils Evenson from Gjerpen and wife 1-Karen, 2-Maren, and 3-Karen Thorstenson.
Lasse Ingbretson from Lardal & w Brita. Lasse died on the road to Nelsonville. His son Louis Louison & w Live Tubaas. Iver Nilson Borkhus from Gausdal & w Eline (1838-98). Ivar Ingbretson (1811-91) & w Marte (1813-91). Nils Gudbrandshaugen and wife.
Ola Olson Haarstad from Gausdal & w Karen (1819-63), William P. Hoijord & w Karen Gronlid acquired this farm. Per I Roe from Gjerpen & w Anne Helvig (1855-94).
Nils Rasmussen Orekassa from Gjerpen and wife acquired this place which was formerly owned by Alfred P. Hoijord. Sondre Olson Houen & w Marie Loberg. Their son Isaac Olson now own this place.
Andres Anderson from Valders (1822-1904) & w Mari Baardson Nedorlo from Borgund (1830-1912). He and family came from Muskego in a covered wagon on Christmas Day, 1853. Their son Martin Anderson acquired this farm - wife's name Petra. Another son Albert & w Ida Seveerson live close by.
Johan Nilson Loberg (1836-85) & w Kari. He was a businessman in Nelsonville. Anton Loberg and wife acquired this farm.
Knut Skouen from Gjerpen (1808-81) & w Anne (1806-83). Their son Isak Skouen and wife now have this place. Lars Skouen's is occupied by his daughter and her husband Thomas Houen.
Henrik Olai Lysne from Lardal (1820-1901) Kjisti (1824-90), and old lady Sonneve Lysne. Their son Edwin & w Marta acquired this place. David Knutson Bo from Lardal (1826-96) and wife.
Adam Pederson from Kongsberg & w Anne Kristine (1826-97) - son Carl Pederson & w Nina Waller. Kristian Anderson & w Marte. Johannes Kristenson from Faaberg and wife. Ola Kristenson from Faaberg and wife. Johan Aamodt from Faaberg & w Oline. Jens Nilson from Lardal and wife. Their place is now owned by Einar Olson and w Kristine Anderson, both from Faaberg.
Asbjorn Naa from Lardal and wife. Their son Ola Naa & w Kjisten acquired the farm.
Jens Aslakson and wife. Nils Rasmussen and wife now have their farm. Halvor H. Waller from Eidanger & w Marie (1839-99). Nils H. Waller from Eidanger & w Marie, he died suddenly November 2, 1895, and wHelene (1842-99). Kristian Amundson Skogen from Gausdal & w Inger Hermanson from Naesverk (1827-1904). Ola Simonson from Gausdal & w Randi (1829-78).
Knut Grorud from Slemdal & w Camine Tresnes. Knut married again to Ingeborg Skrovik from Valders. When he died she married Edward Johnson from Trondhjem.
Shoemaker Sugurd Olson and wife. Gudbrand Mortenson from Faaberg and wife. Jens Jensen Jenjum from Sogn & w Berte Grinstul. Per M. Abrahamson (1849-92) and wife. Even Henrikson and wife.
Ola Halvorson (Hullet) from Hiterdal and wife. Ola Aslakson Mo or Moe and wife. Ingeborg Simonson (1800-84); Berte Waller (1805-76); Maren Waller (1814-1900); and Ola Gudmanson and wife.
Isak Nilson Kjendalen & w Inger. John Madson and wife and Lars Johnson and wife.
Amherst Junction became organized as a Village in 1911. The first election as held April 2, 1912, when the following were elected: ---
President = H. N. Nelson
Supervisor = H. H. Hoffmann
Trustees = Fred Ellinger, C. H. Rickman, John Koziczkowski, George Larson,
George Starkad, & A. H. Glisczinski
Clerk = Albert Pidde
Assessor = M. P. Kjer
Treasurer = L. L. Nelson
Constables = H. J. Fletcher & Felix Drifka
Justice of the Peace= M. P. Kjer & H. H. Hoffman
Amherst was organized as a village in 1900, and the first office holders were as follows: --
President = O. J. Smith
Clerk = Carl I. Iverson
Trustees = Carl Hardel, S. F. Foxen, George W. Smith, F. C. Webster,
On April 1, 1913 it became incorporated as a village. First officers were: --
President = Carl O. Doxrud
Clerk = H. Stoltenburg
Treasurer= Ludvig H. Johnson
Assessor = Ola Naa
Constable = Hans Berg
Justice of the Peace = Ola L. Gaarden & Gilbert O.
Police Justice = Theo. Loberg
Trustees = Dr. H. Raasoch, George Diver, Carl J. Loberg, Ed Gordon,
Supervisor = John S. Loberg
Its first name was "Peru" but later it was changed to "New Hope". The first meeting was held at the home of Fredriek Reinhart in April, 1856. The following were elected: --
Chairman = Ola O. Wrolstad
Town Clerk = Peder Halvorson Houen
Assessors = David Sanders, Nils Stainson, & Simon Iverson
School Supt. = Leonard Perry
Justice of the Peace = Ola O. Wogsland, Fredreik Reinart & J. Hole
Constables = Washington Sanders, And. Horton, & Endre Haatveit
Evidently something was not done according to state law, and a second meeting was held on December 12, 1856. Those elected were as follows: --
Chairman = Leonard Perry
Town Clerk = Ola O. Wogsland
Treasurer = Per P. Kjaera
Supervisors = O. O. Wrolstad & S. Iverson
Assessors = David Sanders, Nils Stainson & Johan O. Hole
School Supt. = William W. Buck
Justice of the Peace = Ola O. Wogsland, Ola O. Wrolstad, Sondre Loberg, J. Hole,
Constables = Ben Patterson, Wm. Patterson
They met again on January 17, 1857 and elected the following: --
Supervisor = Ola O. Wrolstad
Supt. of Schools = Wm. Buck
Constables= Hellef Fos, Simon Blehovde, and Klaus Bergan
The first English settlers were: --- Hiram N. Morrison, Granville B. Sherwood, David J. Sanders, Wellington Sanders, Ben Patterson, Wm. Patterson, Augustis Allen, Edwin Palmer, Leonard Perry, J. Horton, George R. Lawton, Samuel Perry, and Wm. Buck. Many soon moved out again.
Of the Germans were Fredriek Reinart and wife, Karl Joseph and wife, Frederich Wenzel (1821-89) & w Ulrike (1816-86). Wm. Berger & w Karen Stainson. Karl Joseph's son was shot by Indians on this way west.
Of the Norwegians there came: --- Nils Stainson from Tordal (1812-84) & w Alette (who died in 1909). Per Knutson Hiller from Lardal & w Anne Bestul from Gjerpen (1844-85), also his mother Margrete (1790-1872).
Jens Johannesson Woldengen from West Toten (1804-94) & w Marie Andersdatter (1811-87). Their son Hans Peter & w Oline Berge from Gausdal have the old home. In the old home that was first built, the daughter Johanne Marie Woldengen & Edw. Helgeson from Kongsberg were married by O. F. Duus.
Johan Andreas Woldengen & first wife Marte Nysveen from Gausdal (1835-67); second wife Mari Froisnes from Saetesdalen (1843-82). The old homestead is now owned by Martin Hiller & w Oline Oustad.
Martin Halvorson Akerhaugen from Sande, & w Gunhild Lia. Their daughter and husband Jens Pederson, from Kvitseid acquired this homestead. .
Gunnar Olson Wimme from Holt & w Berte Rambek. They were married in the first home of Wimmes by Pastor O. F. Duus.
Ola K. Wimme (1789-1867) & w Ingeborg Gunnarson. Lars Nilson Loberg from Gjerpen (1810-90). His son Nils L. (1840-1901) & w Ronnog Ellingson from Gausdal got this homestead.
Gerulf Grimmeland from Holt & w Gundborg Wimme (1820-1903) and oldest son, Jorgen (1847-1903).
Aamund T. Grundstul from Holt (1819-1901), first wife Inger Anderson (1822-77), second marriage to Gunhild Aamodt, from Ringgerike (1820-82), - her daughter Maria and husband Robert Thompson, got this place.
Young man Hernik Haatveit and also Simon Amundson. Svenning Anderson from Holt & w Anne Joistad. Endre Nilson Haatveit from Gjerpen (1826-96), first wife Grete and second wife Anne.
Rasmus Anderson from Holden & w Gunhild Aslaksdatter from Sande. Halvor Rollefson from Naesherrid (1823-86) & w Karen Kjendalen from Eidanger.
Hans Johnson Landsverk from Sauland & Mathilde Stainson from Tordal (1842-1904). Aslak Olson Moe & w Marte. Knut Storemo and wife from Holt. Abraham (1820-96) & w Sara Tangen (1827-77) from Eidanger.
Amund Syverson, a tailor from Gausdal (1820-86), & w Kari. Their son Karl Syverson and wife acquired their farm.
Tailor Johan Syverson from Gausdal & w Ingeborg. Abraham H. Waller, from Eidanger, & w Ingeborg (1838-95). Blacksmith Anders Grote from Lardal (1823-98) & w Guri. Their son Benjamin & w Emma Loberg, got this old place.
Kristian Johanneson from Vardal (1824-89) & w Johanne Hagemoen from Gausdal (1829-1903). Ingebret & w Karen Roe from Slemdal acquired their farm. Later it went to Per Roe & w Emma Helgeson.
Klaus Gunnarson Bergan from Tordal & w Anne. Even Hanson Kolden from Gausdal bought this old farm.
Elling Johnson Sjurrud from Gausdal & w Anne. Their son Kristian got the farm. Gudbrand J. Wolden from Gausdal (1811-73) & w Anne (1811-93). Their son Johannes & w Hilde Hageman got the farm.
This old farm is now owned by Ole Ellingson & w Maren Brekke from Sandsvaer. Johannes Wolden has been on the Town Board 15 years.
Henrik Larson from Aurdal, and second wife Marit Wolden from Gausdal, third wife Ragnhild Riste from Valders. Gudbrand Larson Vold, (Wold) from Stange (1797-1875) & w Anne (1805-71). Daughter Andrine Wold & husband Johannes Aas (Oas) from Vardal acquired this homestead.
Halvor Nederlo from Borgund (1822-1907) & w Berit Riste from Valders. Hans P. Brondstad from Sandsver & w Lovise Fjelbo from Larvik. Gunnar Satre & w Marte got this homestead.
Ellef Fos from Numedal (1818-91) & w Torgun. Ola O. Fos and wife. Tailor Hans Kankrud from Gausdal (1818-1901) & w Ingeborg Nerlien, both from Gausdal. Jens Hanson Aas (Oas) from Vardal & w Marte. Kristian Ekern from Guasdal. Johan Ekern from Gausdal & w Ronn Rokvamrirt.
Carpenter Johan Reitan from Gausdal (1819-90) & w Marte (1818-95). Their son Gudbrand & w Kristine Fonstad have this homestead. Johannes H. Rambek (1812-89) & w Maria Nilson (1802-91).
Jorgen Person Kjer from Gjerpen & w Maren. Jonas & Pauline Roe have acquired this homestead. Johan Thorson from Vamle (1825-95) & w Karen have acquired this homestead.
Johan Skjeggestad from Gausdal & w Matea. Erland Odegaard & w Mari acquired this farm.
Johan Moen and wife, their son Karl Moen is a pastor. Johan I. Midtlien & w Anne who died in 1908. Simon Midtlien & w Kjersti from Gausdal & w Anne.
Hans J. Hagemoen from Gausdal & w Marte. Ole Johnson Kolden from Gausdal (1784-862). Jorgen Torjuson from Satesdalen (1821-91) & w Kari. Their son Johan & w Julia Bestul got this homestead. Haakon Johnson & w Sonneve Naa, both from Lardal.
John Hanson Hagemoen from Gausdal & w Karine Valberg from Kragero. Ola Juv from Hiterdal (1817-1906) & w Ragnhild Hjertsjo. She was born in 1820 and die din 1862. Ola Juv married the second time to Gro Gryte from Tind. Leiv Skaarnes from Hjertal (1821-1906) & w Torgen.
John Stainson from Tordal. Previous owners were "Little Rasmus" and Jens Riste.
Johannes Aamodt from Gausdal & w Matea Hagemoen. His son Martinius got the part now owned by Andrew Haatviet & w Aletta Naes. Jacob J. Tudal from Gjerpen & w Gurine Loberg.
Knut Kleiven from Gjerpen (1829-95) & w Anne. Mathias Blehovde from Gausdal. Ola Lund from Fossum & w Anne. Their son Olaus Lund & w Anne got this place. Nils G. Sirkeland from Eidanger & w Karen. Mathias Strand and wife now have this farm. Halvor Doxrud from Tordel & w Anne. His son now has this farm. Ola H. Waller from Eidanger (1829-83) & w Kirsten Loberg.
Ola Flom from Sandfjord (1816-1900) & w Marte Gryte Ola Fykse from Gausdal (1818-77) & w Sigrid (1818-88).
Ola Kvisbardslien and wife from Fran & wife Dorthea Bjorlien.
Ola Serkeland from Eidanger (1823-97) & w Anne Loberg (1832-95). Olaus Rambek from Vardal & w Randi. Ola O. Wrolstad, from Tordal (1810-84) & w Aashild Sneas (1814-86). Martin Wrolstad acquired this homestead. Per Olson Berge from Gausdal & w Ingeborg Wolden.
Per Houen from Slemdal (1824-1902) & w Tharand Loberg from Gjerpen (1828-98). Their son Julius died suddenly. Olaves O. Olstad from Gausdal (1816-1908). Amund Olson from Gausdal and wife. Gunnar Amundson from Holden and wife.
Per Kjaera from Gjerpen (1826-1905) & w Inger (1825-1903). Gilbert Serkeland acquired this homestead. Per Reistadstuen from Gausdal (1820-1904) & second wife Marte.
Sondre O. Hauen from Holden (1815-1903) & w Maria Loberg (1819-1907). Former owner was Isaac Olson & w Maren Skonen and later Per Budsberg & w Lisbet Hallestad.
Simon T. Blehovde from Gausdal (1815-99) & w Karen (1836-95). Sondre G. Loberg from Gjerpen (1815-99) & w Berte (1813-96). Daughter Julia and husband Theo. Loberg acquired this farm.
Thoe Maelom from Faaberg & w Randi. Their son Simon & w Karen Aurstad got this farm. Jens Maelom, a teacher from Faa (1817-93) & w Marit Hogsveen (1819-88). Their daughter Oline and husband Syver Erikson from Lardal acquired the farm.
Isak Kjaer and wife. Thor Amundson from Holt & w Helga (1812-79). Thore Langstad from Gausdal & w Matea Vaarseter.
Hans J. Rambek from Vardal & w Astrid Reine (1832-99). Mikkel M. Reine acquired this homestead, and Hans Rambek went west. Johannes Bjorge from Gausdal & w Berte.
Per Holebakken from Gausdal (1801-82) and wife from Gausdal. Martin Brobakken from Gausdal (1801-82) & w Sonneve (1816-75), and Martinius Brobakken. Ola Nilson Berge from Gausdal & w Marte (died in 1912). Nils M. Brathovde from Gausdal & w Karen. Ola Brathovde & w Eli. Nils Brathovde & w Kristine. John Brathovde & w Randi.
Big Osmund G. Onland from Satersdalen, & w Anne Sannes (Moved to Farmington). Herman Jansen, a mason & w Karen.
Johan Kaalerud from Vardal & second wife Ingeborg Syvertson. Ole Hanson Nerlien from Gausdal (1848-1905) and wife.
Simon Rustad, a blacksmith, from Faaberg (1809-1901) & w Sidsel Land (1811-1904). Their son Martin & w Pauline have taken over the homestead. (Simon is a great-grandfather of Melvin Rustad).
Gunnar Rosrugen (1819-96) & w Ronnog from Gausdal (1822-98). Their son Peter Rostugen has acquired this homestead. Old "Paul" was the father of Ronnog.
Teacher Ola O. Wogsland from Tordal (1825-79) & w Gunhild from Hiterdal. He was one of the first members of the Town Board, and Portage County Register of Deeds. His son Carl Wogsland took over the homestead a mile south of Peru.
Martin O. Wrolstad & w Hanna was a son of Ole O. Wrolstad, and father of Rev. Oliver who went to Wittenberg Academy. Also father of Ed, Elmer, Alfred, & Willie. He took over the homestead back of the Peru Store. He must have lived at the mill in Sec. 35 of Alban for a while as he was the first treasurer when the town was organized in 1878.
Halvor Wrolstad G. ----- & w Maren Roe - parents of Emil and Ben, who acquired their homestead a half mile north of the Peru Store.
Hans Wolden a carpenter from Gausdal & w Elia. She later married Ola A. Brekke. Johan Engom & w Anne from Gausdal.
Johan Olson Hole (1819-99) & w Anne Langset (1809-83) from Gausdal - father of Ola, Amund & Bernt. They lived west of the Garfield store.
John R. Vesli (1835-1905) & w Sorine. Nils Abrahamson & w Maren Lund from Gjerpen, second w Maren Holt. Andreas Gresen and wife.
Nils Nysveen from Gausdal & w Marte. Son Lars & w Karen. Their son, Johan, drowned in the Mississippi River, while rafting lumber.
Edward Helgeson from Kongsberg (died 1910) & w Johanne Woldengen from Toten. Johan Jorgenson from Sandsver (1818-95) & w Karen Nysveen.
JOHANNES KROGVOLDEN from Gausdal (1818-95) & w Ronnog (1822-78). His second w was Sigrid Brekke from Gausdal. He is RUSSEL KROGWOLD'S GRANDFATHER who settled on Russel's farm SW of Garfield.
Ola Fogner from Gausdal (died 1908) & w Anne (1843-99). Gunnar Bauk and wife and son Ola Bauk. Amund Mortenson from Gausdal (1825-93) & w Sofie Anderson (1828-89). Amund was on the Town Board for 20 years.
Svend Olson Hagen from Gausdal (1834-98) & w Maren (1839-97). This old place in Sec. 1, was bought by Norman & Hanford Nelson's parents. They had a son Olaves Hagen who settled north of Lake Helen in Alban.
Ola E. Jevne from Gausdal (1813-99) & w Marte (1815-92). Their son Even & w Karen Sierstad from Totem (1851-91), got the homestead east of Peru at county line.
Kristian Olstad from Gausdal (1834-92) & w Ingeborg Vaarsater (1831-1906). Andreas and John Stansrud. Even P. Kalstad from Gausdal. Wife was Karen Forseth. Here some woman married E. P. Kalstad on January 1, 1893.
Ola Kalvel and wife.
Lars E. Gordon from Gjerpen & w Maren (1827-1904). Kristian Hansen from Maribo, Lolland, Danmark, & w Fredrika. He was the father of Markus & Nels Hansen, and an officer of the Town Board many years, Jens Hogsven & w Johanne.
Halvor Brua from Kongsberg (1838-1902) & w Jorand Fos. Per Klauson & w Andreas Svendson and wife acquired their homestead.
Iver Aanrud from Gausdal (1818-1903) and wife, father of the talented Hans Aanrud. Olaves I. Aanrud, father of Martin Aanrud, acquired the homestead a mile north of Sunset Lake. Ola Haukdal from Sondeled & w Karen. Elias Berg from Gausdal and wife.
Soren Solid & w Katrina. Karl Gustav Gunneldson Flaaten from Eidanger. In the middle '70's a cemetery was laid out on the "Roe Farm" (No. New Hope Cemetery) and a few were moved here. The "Kankrud" cemetery was also discontinued. The first one buried was a daughter of Johan Woldenger; Ragnhild Hjartsjaa, 21; Ida Hjartsjaa, 11; Ola Flom's first wife, Marte Gryte; Elland Olstad, a brother of Christian Olstad; Karl & Gustav Ula; two children of Johannes Krogvolden; and two children of Johan Vesli, et al.
Amund Mikkelson was known as a "cemetery pastor" while studying to become a pastor.
North New Hope church was built in 1864 and dedicated on Good Friday of that year. (My father, Charley Peterson, walked to North New Hope to be confirmed in 1879, a distance of eleven miles).
No record appears for South New Hope, but this church must have been built about the same time, and cemetery laid out on both sides of the church.
The "wilderness" of Alban belonged to the Town of New Hope before they had population and assessed value enough to organize as a separate municipality in 1878. Quite a number lived in the south half from the late '50's, and a few above the present Highway #66. The first election resulted as follows:---
Chairman:Anders A. Brekke
Supervisors:Anton Kirsking & Jens Rasmussen
Town Clerk:Martin O. Wrolstad
Treasurer:J. Peter Hansen
Justice of the Peace:J. P. Hansen & Ola Oas
Constables:John Meyer & Thomas O. Lystul.
(Note:A settlement grew in Section 20 in the sixties where Jens Rasmussen had built a grist mill on "Flume" creek. Mail had been delivered to "Alban" store a half mile south of State Hwy 66, but in 1893 a post office opened at Rosholt, and J. P. Hansen became the first postmaster. Jens Rasmussen was the first one to haul mail once a week (later twice a week) from Stevens Point. Later J. P. Hansen took over hauling of the mail.
J. G. Rosholt started buying land in Alban while sawing lumber at Graham Lake in the Town of Iola. By 1884 he had bought enough to consider moving to Alban. He bought ten acres from Jens Rasmussen and the later permitted him to build a saw mill joining his grist mill in 1883. He then moved his mill up from Graham Lake, sawed lumber and boughtmore land with his meager profits. By 1903 he sold his timber (60 odd forties along County I) to Brooks & Ross Lumber Co. on condition they build the railroad to the Village. Many million feet of virgin timber was hauled daily for about ten years.
ALBAN'S FIRST SETTLERS:The first white settlers to come to Alban was HANS HENRIK SCHRITZMEIER and wife, both from Danmark, who settled on the Flume River in Section 35. Two infant children were buried someplace on their farm. They lived there several years after 1857. They then sold to Mads Nelson Smaadal & w Janiken from Sondfjord, who in turn sold to Johannes Berge about 188_ or 1890. He died in the 1920's and turned the farm over to his son James Berge & w Alma. Several of their sons are still on this land, or on land near the homestead. Hans H. S. became lonesome for the old country and returned to Danmark, while his wife went to relatives in the western states. Mrs. Johannes Berge was Oline Johannesson Hjertjo from New Hope.
The next early settlers were the "Klinoki" family and some of the Anderson's. Hans R. Klincke settled on the SE1/4-NE1/4 of Sec. 34. The abstract company is unable to locate their deed, BUT, -- they find estate proceedings which conveyed this forty to daughter Dorthe and her husband Hans P. Anderson, grandfather of Harold P. Anderson, one time Chairman of Alban. Dorthe's wedding, performed by Rev. A. Mikkelson, was the first marriage in the Town of Alban. No dates available for Dorthe, but her husband Hans P. Anderson was born in Danmark in 1844 and died in 1906. His friends were Jens Lorentson & w Johanne Fjelbo from Holt. From the county records, the next settlers were, Gottlieb Stanbli - 1858; Paul Anderson - 1860; Jens Mortenson - 1861; J. P. Hanson Sr. & family - 1863; Hans Geo. Fredericksen - 1869; Jens Rasmussen - 1867; Rasmus Petersen - 1868; and the Fjelbos in 1870. (The Fjelbos came early, but no earlier dates can be located).
Paul Anderson and Jens Mortenson settled on the N-SE1/4 in 33 & Mortenson on the E1/2-SW1/4 on Sec. 28.
Jens Peter Hanson (Blak) (1818-90) and family left Lolland, Danmark, and went about a hundred miles southwest to Hamburg, where they boarded a sail boat for America. They bought the SW1/4-SW1/4, Sec. 7 in the Town of Saint Lawrence in 1857. (Vol. 9, Page 445) and lived there six years.
Jens (Sr) then went in the Civil War for a man from the Town of Lind east of Waupaca. (Sept. 1863 to June 1864, and was discharged at Appomattox). Not a bullet grazed him during the 9 or 10 months he was in the war. He is buried in the Alban Cemetery a mile east of Rosholt . . . JPH JR, was also an early settler; first treasurer of Alban; first postmaster of Rosholt in 1893; and second storekeeper. Jens Rasmussen & JPH were the first to haul mail to the post office. He married widow, Ellen Katrina Petersen, grandmother of Lester Peterson, this translator (1870).
Jens Rasmussen, farmer & miller, & w Anne Kristine of near Maribo, Lolland, Danmark. They had two daughters, Mrs. Ole O. (Rasmina) Dobbe and Mrs. Andrew Ostenson (or Austin). They were the first residents in the immediate village on north Main St.
Thor Helgeson list of settlers appearing [above] are not in proper sequence, but they are listed as they appear.
Jorgen Pedersen (1813-88) & w Maren (1819-84), the parents of Rasmus Jorgensen & w Lina Hansen (1856-193_, - lived in Sec 21
Anders Rasmussen & w Bente. Hans G. Fredriksen & w AnneHansen, (1844-98), Jakob Jensen & w Forthea & son Rasmus.
Jens Mortensen (1826-96) & w Maren, a sister of Jens Rasmussen, - settled in Sec. 28. Paul Anderson (1829-94) & w Karen (1825-1903), parents of Hans C & Julia, Mrs. Nels Petersen.
Rasmus Petersen (1834-71) & Ellen Trine Jensen (1887-1913), both of Maribo, Lolland, Danmark -- came in 1868, and settled on the E1/2-SW1/4 of Sec. 21. They are grandparents of Lester Peterson, the translator of this article.
Hans C. Anderson & w Inger (1858-95). Anders Paulson and wife. Hans Larson and wife. Nels P. Jorgensen and wife.
The first Norwegians to settle in Alban were as follows:-- Ole P. (Klope) Klappen & w Sofie from Gausdal, second wife Marte. Ole P. died February 9, 1885 at age 50. (Son Martin).
Anders J. Oas (1834-1906) & w Anne (1829-93), both from Gjerpen. His second marriage was to widow Berte Ronningen from Scandinavia. The first religious service was held in his house by Rev. Mikkelson.
Ola J. Oas from Gjerpen & w Turine (1836-82). Both Anders and Ola were early Town Officers, and church trustees.
Nils Amundson from Holt (1818-93) & w Maria Gudbrandson.
Per Ostenson Gutu (1841-1903) & w Berte, both from Ringbu.
ANDERS A. BREKKE & w Ingeborg Kjendalen, both from Scandinavia.
Abraham J. Fjelbo from Larsviksnaes (1820-94) & w Dorthe. Their son Ingbrit died from a fall in an open well. Anders Kristiansen from Arendal (1844-87) & w Sigrid. He was the first storekeeper at the junction of Hwy 66 and County A.
OLA O. WROLSTAD (1810-84) & w Aashild, both from Tordal. Latter born in 1814 and died on August 7, 1886.
O. O. W. operated a saw mill on the Flume River in Sec. 35 with his son Martin, but in later years he sold it to Jorgen Wrolstad & w Pauline, the parents of Mrs. Carl (Sina) Rosholt. A post office was opened at one time at this mill. Later the mill was sold to Hans Johnson Landsverk.
Knut Ellingson from Holt (1812-90). Ola A. Brekke (1821-91) & w Maren. Son Ola A. Brekke Jr., all from Sansver.
Nils Jacobson Fjelbo from Larvik and w Berte (1816-1903). Aslak Anderson & w Sofie Fjelbo got the farm in S1/2-SW1/2, Section 22.
Benjamin Fleming and Bardon from Amherst built the first saw mill in Alban on the Flume River in Sec. 35. Others from Amherst who owned portions were Jerome Bancroft, Ret Harvey, and W. Sherman. They sold to Simon Stenerson & Pauline Haarstad, who sawed and planed lumber, and also ground feed. He dismantled it in the 1920's.
Hans Li (Lee) of New Hope built a mill on the Flume River in the SE1/4-NW1/4, Sec. 33, but sold it later to James H. Bigler. He operated it a long time, and then sold it as a farm to John Augustina.
Lars Strand & w Karen from Ringbu. Olve Ingbretson from Holt (d-1911) & w Marte. Ola Person Lindland (1843-72) & w Anne. Andreas Lindland & w Kirsten, acquired this farm in Sec. 15.
Ola P. Kvisla (Quisla) from Slemdal (1848-1903) & w Helene Daabu -- parents of Peder, Ole, Arne & Nels Quisla, Sec. 10.
Ola Person Daabu from Vegaardsheien (1818-84) & w Mari (1815-94). Per Olson Daabu & w Anne Lindland. John Olson Daabu & w Karen Brekke from Sandsver. Jens Haraldson & w Ingeborg Daabu. Knut Lia (Lein) & w Maren Daabu.
Knut Thorson Fure & w Anne (1819-94). And Thor Knutson & w Ingeborg Lindland. Knut Erikson & w Gunhild.
Thomas O. Lystul from Scandinavia & w Maria Aamodt of Amherst (1850-1902). Parents of Ingolf, Holberg, Ed, Oleanne, Cora, et al. John Larson from Gjerpen (1837-1906) & w Lina Listul of Scandinavia. Knut Syverson and wife. Per J. Naes & w Ambjorg. Jakob Vaage & w Emma Lindland.
Karl Kristian Gudbrandson from Oslo & w Marta Kristine (1837-92). He took the name "Kristian Gilbert". He was a farmer, store-keeper, and post master at Alban. Parents of John Gilbert, Nettie Gilbert Lee, et al. John was Village Supervisor for twenty odd years.
Sten Olson & w Ingeborg. Halvor Knutson Aasen & w Margit Brekkepladsen. Knut Halvorson & w Berte Kolden. Osten Kolden (1826-82) & w Margit Brekke. Amund Ostenson (Austin) & w Karen Rasmussen (1894-93). Bernt Kaalrud & w Inger Maria Kolden (1854-1903). Bernt got run over by a train in Minneapolis.
Martin N. Bestul & Lina Gronli, both from Scandinavia. Ola Nilson from Eidsvold & w Karen Halvorson from Sandsver.
Jorgen Olson Kroken from Vegaardsheim & w Mathilde Halvorson (1864-91). Anderson Tallakson Kjendalen & w Anne.
Johan Olstad from Gausdal (1821-91) & w Ingeborg (1823-1905). Ola J. Olstad & w Karen Lia. Carpenter Otto Halvorson & w Sofia Olstad. Also Olaves Olstad, John Olstad, and Gutorm Olstad.
Gunard Lia (1834-91) & w Anne Jorstad, settled at Lions Lake in Sec. 16. Gustav C. Halvorson & w Caroline Naes.
Mathias Knutson Haarstad & w Maria Helleberg, both from Gausdal, - parents of Carl M. Knutson. Jorgen Li (Lee) & w Nettie Gilbert. Halvor H. Wennersberg & w Helge Anonsfaas, both from Hiterdal.
[Note:Lester Peterson was: 1 - village trustee many years, 2 - village president 1961-1964), and 3 - Portage county park board from 1935-1977. ]
Anders Johnson & w Anne. Their two sons were drowned in the lake June 26, 1913 - in Section 22. Lumber man Ola Leklem & w Randine Nyflot from Ringbu. Nils Brasten (Brown) & w Anna Daabu.
John Rasmussen Vesli & w Inberg. Martin Rasmussen & w Asberg parents of Oscar & Nora Look. Peter Rasmussen and wife.
Carl Stenerson & w Sofia Ruud. Isak Houen & w Aase Knutson. Karl Halvorson & w Alvina Knutson. Anders Erikson, a mason, & w Anne Halvorsdatter. Karl Evenson & w Marte.
The first Germans were: -- Jakob Stanbli, Anton Kirsling, August Kirsling, Jakob, John, and Louis Simonis, Windorff brothers, the Marquards, and others.
The first Polish settlers were:Jakob Liebe, John Golomski, Joe Glodowski, Joe Zaborowski, Frank Rybicki, Frank Zywicki, Frank Gozonski, Joseph Sabana, and John Zywicki, et at.
The Alban Danish-Lutheran Congregation was organized in 1878, the first pastor being Nils B. Berge. When the church divided, they built a church in the SE1/4 of Sec. 15, which was then moved to Rosholt in 1908. The creamery near the town hall was also moved to the village about 1906-7.
During the 1890's the nearest railroad was at Norske, which was over five miles by road and four miles along the "Bailey" creek. Conlee Lumber Company kept up a logging road from County Trunk A and east to Norske. It was an ice road from this camp and east. Logs, lumber, and some potatoes moved over this road in the winter months.
The Village was incorporated on October 10, 1907, and the first election held on April 7, 1908, when the following were elected:
President - John G. Rosholt
Clerk - O. F. Meyer
Treasurer - Martin B. Wolding
Supervisor - C. J. Gilbert
Assessor - Ole Leklum
Justice of the Peace - Chas. Weller, Hy Goe
Police Justice - John Himmes
Marshall - George Philbrick
Streets & Fire - Peter Rasmussen
Trustees - George C. Nelson, Oscar Olson, Carl Rosholt, J. C. Hansen,
!st Miller - Jens Rasmussen
1st store-keeper - Adolph J. Torgerson
1st Postmaster - J. Peter Hansen Jr.
1st Engineer - John Graham
1st blacksmith - Ola Nilson
Machinery dealers - Wolding Brothers
1st Shoemaker - Halvor Skia
The State Bank of Rosholt was opened in February 1904, which operated in the frame building until 1921 when the new building was opened on December 19, 1921.
Dr. H. Raasock held office in Rosholt in the early days. The first resident doctors were Dr. R. H. Dunn, Dr. Baird, and Dr. Vernard A. Benn, who came in 1934.
Dr. A. H. Gillett was here about World War I to the '30's, followed by Dr. Kruzicki, and Winfred A. Jensen for a short time. State Highway #66 was paved in 1934, and Highway #49 paved in 1942.
The "town" was organized in 1846 and the first officers were as follows: --
Chairman - Abraham Brawley
Supervisor - Orrin Maybee
Town Clerk - John S. Young
Assessor & Treasurer - Lea Vaughn
Supt. of Schools - M. Holden
Justice of the Peace - R. F. Bliss
The Origin of Stevens Point:One day in 1845, George Stevens proceeded up the Wisconsin River from Portage to Wausau, with a load of provisions, as he had started a saw mill there. He drove a span of oxen, and in places he had to chop down trees in order that his wagon could get thru the thick woods.
A little below present Main Street at the edge of the river was a point, which extended into the water. From here he transported his provisions by a dugout canoe to Little Bull Falls, which was later called "Mosinee". The camping spot became used by Stevens and others, so it got to be called "Stevens Point".
First a warehouse was built on shore, then a boarding house, then a store, and soon a saloon. Then came one building after another, and it wasn't long before the settlement became known as "Stevens Point".
Later a little steamboat operated between Stevens Point and Mosinee, and the better known "Machine Pederson" of New Hope was its operator.
Stevens Point was laid out in 1846. IN that year Justice Abraham Brawley Married the first, (Henry Blancher and Mrs. Rome) couple in the area. Brawley also built the first saloon. In addition to Brawley, the first settlers were Mathias Mitchell, Charles Maddy, Henry Mularkey, Hiram W. Martin and his wife Hanna Conklin.
Other settlers who came in the forties were the following: -- Ira Vaughn (1784-1871), Merrit Raynolds & w Adeline; Frank M. Wylie & w Lina; W. S. Brown & w Millia; P. H. Ruckley & w Adeline; John C. Clark & w Anna Margaret; Philip Field; James Masterson; Melanchton Wylie & w Elizabeth; David Bentley & w Mary; David Fletch & w Nancy; M. F. Bliss & w Mandana; James Wiswell & w Mary; H. Boyington & w Anie; David McMillan and wife; Lieut. Daniel; Capt. O. T. Johnson & w Augusta; lumber man Edward Dexter Brown & w Hellen; Nathan Blake and wife; Eliphat Bean & w Nilla; Dr. Gregory & w Olive and several others.
The first hotel was operated by a Mr. Kingsbury; first grocery store, Robt. Bloomer; the first doctor was Dr. Bristol, who died in 1848 and was buried there; the first saw mill by W. L. DeWitt, Thomas Moreman, and John Delaney. The first banker was John Willard; the first teacher, Miss Amandina Hale; the first carpenter, Anton Rood; the first shoemaker, Seneca Harris; the first post master, William Griffin, and several others.
In the 1850's we find iron handlers, Mathias & John Campbell; hotelman Joseph Phelps who ran the "Mitchell House"; Brown & Granger, "City Hotel"; also Francis Lamere, James Grandal, John Young, and O. Wiswald.
Walton & Wadsworth ran the "Star Saloon", Sailor Jack & Watts, the "Ocean Wave". In 1849 the first school house was built, and in 1850 sixty-six children attended.
In 1853 a land office was opened with Abraham Brawley as Register and A. G. Ellis as Receiver. In 1858 Stevens Point was incorporated as a city with the following officers: --
Mayor - Wm. Schofield. Later G. L. Park
City Clerk - J. J. Pine
City Attorney - G. L. Park
City Treasurer - B. Martin
Police Justice - C. B. Jackson
City Marshall - A. J. Aldrich
Assessor - J. J. Cone.
Council - Anton Rood, president, B. Brown, H. Furgeson, M. Perkins,
This same year a large part of the city burned.
In 1860, Stevens Point had 9 dry goods stores, 7 grocery stores, 22 hardware stores, 2 clothing stores with tailors, 6 hotels and a saw mill, a band saw, a grist mill, a planing mill, 7 carpenters, 2 printing shops, 4 blacksmiths, 5 shoe shops, 2 furniture stores, one harness shop, 2 jewelry stores, 2 ladies apparel, and wagon shops.
There was one high school, 3 grade schools, 3 churches, 6 doctors, 5 lawyers, 4 surveyors, and 4 preachers. The Episcopal Church had a ladies seminar called, "The Western Institute" and a newspaper.
During the Civil War in 1861 they organized a home guard called, "The Pinery Boys". Officers were, Capt. Samuel Stevens, First Lieut. M. J. McKait, 2nd Lieut. Homer Drake.
Of newspapers in the early years we can name the:"Wisconsin Pinery", "The States Rights", "Wisconsin Lumber man", "Stevens Point Journal", "Stevens Point Democrat", Plover Times", and others.
Of the saw mill operators in the early days, the most popular names were: -- Lawyer Lamoreur; Hon. George W. Cate from Vermont (1824-1905), was married to Lavara Brown a daughter of lumber man, Daniel Brown. G. W. C. studied law in Vermont, came to Eau Claire & worked in a saw mill in 1845, moved to Plover where from 1848-54, he was Register of Deeds and County Clerk. In 1854 he was elected Circuit Judge, which position he held 24 yeas. He had a very nice farm in the Town of Amherst.
Hon. Gilbert L. Park from New York State (1824-84) married to Mary D. Beach (1834-93). In 1840 he went to work for the Hudson Bay Company, then attended the Millville Academy, Orleans County, New York, where he graduated. He gave up the lumber business, went to Kalamazoo Michigan, where he was inducted as a law student under Hon. N. A. Walch in 1851. Then he went to Wisconsin where he sawed timber, and then to Plover where he was associated with JAMES S. ALBAN in the mill business until 1855. He was then elected District Attorney in Portage County. In 1858 he became mayor of Stevens Point, and in 1861 he enlisted in the Civil War. In 1875-83 he was County Judge.
Of the lumber men of Stevens Point, a few were:Edw. Dexter Brown; Daniel Brown; Hiram Martin, Matthew Wadleigh, Lars Moe, John Vik(Week) and many others.
The first Norwegians to come to Stevens Point was Maria Scott (1796-1885) & her Scots husband who operated a hotel. Nils Jensen & w Karen from Holt; Thor Aamundson & w Helga, both from Holt, -- moved to New Hope. Hotel man Kristen Haakenson from Kongsberg (1822-99) & w Anna Maline (1827-94). Knut Kvie from Valders & w Sigrid Riste. Bertel Johnson from Oslo & w Kristen Sorenson from Holt. Blacksmith & lumber man, Lars Iverson from Hardanger (1828-1901) & w Karen Moe (1836-64). His second wife was Stina Pouse from Scandinavia, -- parted later.
Halvor Halvorson from Lardal and wife -- second marriage to Karen Hanson of Iola. Hotelman Kjystolf Gustavson from Holt (1824-88) & w Anne. Known as "Charley Gustaves".
Hotel man Jans Johnson Landsverk & w Mathilde Stainson from Tordal. Per Lia & w Ingeborg Anderson, both from Holt. John Rasmussen Dalen from Haugesund & w Anne.
Hotel man OLA O. WROLSTAD, sometimes called "Ole Lansverk".
Hotel man Kristian Olson Loberg (1842-1904) & w Johanne Wolden. Hans Gunnerson Heisholt from Nesverk (1835-94) & w Siri Anderson from Nesverk. Carpenter Anders Vesteren (1826-1905) & w Anna Anderson from Nesverk. Shoemaker Ola Jakobson & w Helga Sorenson from Holt.
Knut Jorgenson from Holt & w Randine Larson, a daughter of Henrik Valders of New Hope. Herman Torgerson from Holt & w Aase Anderson, plus young brother Lars. Shoemaker Ola Saeter and wife.
Johan Kristianson & w Aase Kromla. He was also called, "John Manitowoc". Shoemaker Anders Kristofferson & w Lina, also his brother Guldbrand. Harold J. Akervold.
Ola O. Wogsland from Tordal (1825-79) & w Gunhild. Ola was Register of Deeds. Martin O. Wrolstad & Bent Halvorson, both of New Hope, have been County Treasurers.
County Judge John A. Murat, a son of John Peter Mikkelson Murat & w Berte, both of Hedrum. He was first Register of Deeds, who understood German and some Polish. He was County Judge a long, long time.
Lumber man Gerhard Dahl, a son of a church pastor T. H. Dahl. Isak Olson Loberg from Gjerpen (1857-81) and wife. Nils N. Moller and wife. Steiner Virom and wife. Hotel man Thorvald Olson from Oslo & w Gunda.
Hans, Ludvig, & Kristian Moen (brothers) from Kongsberg. Bergit Waller, a widow of Tollef Waller (1820-99). Olaus K. Bronstad & w Birgit Lia (Lee).
Lumber man JOHN J. VIK (Week) from Hardanger (1818-91) & w Gunhild Luraas. Hotel man Ola Reitan from Gausdal & w Gunhild (1845-97). Shoemaker Halvor Torgrimson from Sauland (1806-69).
Matias A. Hjelmstad (1859-84) and Osten Hjelmstad (1862-84). Kristian Olson Jevne, from Gausdal (1849-77) & Hans Grodal.
Ola Halvorson Hullet from Hiterdal and wife. Ola Robjeld from Sundalen & and wife. Andreas Dokka and wife. John & Svend Dokka. Ola Larson Kromla from Naesverk & w Anne. Peter Jarns and wife. Hans Orbek and wife. Miller Matias Vek, or Week & Emma Ingbretson from Iola. Andreas Greson and wife. John Olson Lien and wife from Gausdal. Ola Olson Knasbaug and wife. Brothers Mads, Andreas, and Peter Danielson.
Daniel Vaaserud, Ola Vaaserud, Hans Langbu from Sandsvar & w Johanne Enjom from Gausdal. Martin Augstad and wife from Porsgrund. Many Norwegians have settled in Stevens Point and quite a few have moved out.
The first Norwegian sermon was held at the home of Pastor Nils Brandt in 1857. At the celebration (50 year) held on November 7, 1909, Pastor Brandt, appeared in his 80th year at the Norwegian church and delivered a good sermon with a strong voice.
In 1872 they organized a Norwegian Lutheran congregation, - Nils Berge being the first pastor.
The Village of Plover was laid out in 1845, and by 1860 there were over 500 people. At that time there were many business men, two preachers, and five saw-mills.
The little settlement called "Springville" was laid out at the same time. The first grinding mill on the Wisconsin River was located there.
The first parties in the area was when John L. More built his mill at Mosinee, and George Stevens operated his mill at Wausau in 1839. It resulted in bringing in settlers so that Marathon County got organized in the year of 1850.
The first settlers were as follows:-- George Stevens, Thomas Lynch, Martin Lynch, & G. G. Greene who came in 1839. Then came Frances Brusette & w Jane, Milton M. Charles, John B. LaFontaine, and C. G. Plumber with family.
The settlement was first called, "Big Bull Falls", and laid out in 1852; and incorporated as a city in 1872 as "Wausau", meaning "Far Away". The following were then the city officials:--
Mayor - August Kickbusch
Aldermen - J. Schneider, C. A. Single, August Lembke, R. P. Manson, & F. Rew
City Clerk - John Patzer
Back in 1850, 350 people resided there.
In the forties can be name: -- J. Ferel & w Elizabeth (1801-60); Karl Kolter (1805-80); John Calkins (1775-1862); Allen Hill, died 1862; C. P. Grout (1821-87); Jan LeMessurier (1800-85) & w Elizabeth (1799-1869); Moses Turner and wife; Soloman Trudeau and wife; Mr. _ Paff (1818-90) & Mrs. Paff (1820-1903); Pastor Gifford (died 1902) & w Elizabeth (died in 1877).
Also Ernst Schulze & w Augusta; Andrew Knox and wife; Carl Zemke & w Henriette; Herman Marquardt & w Maria; Joachim Treau & w Fredricke; George Deck (1782-1881); Daniel B. Wylie (1827-91) & w Josephine;.
James Single; Wilhelm Bardeld & w Cloe; Christlied Baerwald (1810-78) & w Emma Maria (1812-79); M. F. Kickbusch (1802-73) & w Katharina (1803-75).
Walter D. McIndoe from Scotland (1819-72) & w Katharina (1825-1901). He was a big lumber dealer. He was a member of Assembly in 1849, and voted a Congressman in 1863 to 1869; and Alexander Stewart, a Congressman. Walter Alexander & w Sarah; Gen. John A. Kellogg; Milo Kelly (1804-70); W. P. Kelly (1832-77) & w Mary (1843-85); Ludwig Wenzel (1815-92) & w Augusta (1823-1906).
Peter Plumer; Dr. S. G. Higgins, Schofield; Niel Brown and others. Bartholomues Ringle from Vaieren, Germany (1814-81) & w Magdeline Pick. He was County Judge for many years.
The first Norwegians were as follows: -- Simon Vik, Hans Vik, & Ola Vik (or Week); Nils Hanson and wife; Even Hanson and wife; Andres Hanson and wife. Hotel man Hans O. Berg & w Guro, both of Gausdal. Hotel man John Hanson Wolden & w Karen Guthu. Anders Iverson Grinaker from Hadeland & w Marte. John Orbek & w Sofie.
Torger Borrelson from Gausdal & w Lovise. Hans Hanson & w Karoline Kjendalen. Torger Romsaas and wife from Ringbu. Kristian Spakerud and wife. Edward Brekke & w Marit Nyflot.
Ola Johnslien from Gasdal. Jacob Olson Kjendalen from Scandinavia & w Berit Kvie from Amherst. Ola Skredeer (tailor) and wife. Painter Simon Enge and wife. Young man John Braun and Hans Dyrbo. Gullik Dyrbo and wife, Ola Stemming and wife, Abraham P. Eikeland and wife, and Rasmus Ellingson and wife.
Karl Henrikson Berg and wife who returned to Norway. John Carlson Berg and wife, Diderik Carlson Berg & Anette Borreson his wife. .
Innkeeper John Nilson & w Karoline Eliasson from Scandinavia (1845-1910). The Norwegians and Swedes had a nice church together, but now each have nice churches.
The churches in Wausau & Merrill were organized by Pastor N. Forde, who was also their first pastor.
TOWN OF BERGEN (West of Knowlton)
Town of Bergen was organized in the '50's and the first settler was Andreas Vik (Week) from Eidsfjord in Hardanger. He was one of the first settlers (Norwegian) in the Wisconsin Valley. He built a mill in the late forties called "Week's Mill", on the Big Eau Plaine River, about 25 miles northwest of Stevens Point. The road from Dancy on the Milwaukee , & Saint Paul Railroad was nine miles to the "Week's Mill".
In 1849 the gold hungry, Andreas Vik, sold his holdings to his brother John J. Vik and went to California. The mill was commonly called, "The John Week Mill", or "Vikens Molle". Many Norwegian men went there to work, and many fascinating stories have come from them while at the "Vik mill".
The mill burned and Vik had a huge loss, and was not rebuilt on this location. He moved his operations to Stevens Point, where his sons took over operations. In the beginning, his brother Nichol Vik and Olaf Droiser of Waupaca, had an interest in the mill.
Norwegians who put in many years for Vik Lumber Company were, Ola Clemmenson, Steffen Nygaard, Knut Olson Lia, Lars Gjertson, Soren Hermanson, Hans Heisholt, Knut Jorgenson, Lars Gjertson & w Gundvor Lia, Andreas Greson and wife, Isak Aamodt, and many others.
Of the settlers in Bergen can be named, Knut Olson of Iola & w Matea Brathovde, Ingebrit M. Brathovde & w Sigrid, son Matias & w Anne Olson, and Peter Engbritson, Ola Flathvad & w Guro, Markus Iverson & w Ragnhild, Aleksander Iverson & w Kristine, Jens Anderson & w Trine, Ola Peterson & w Eli, and Lars Olson.
Some Danish and Swedish families also settled in Bergen, plus a few Germans.
It is quite certain that C. P. Day was the first settler in the Town of Elderon. The settlement in the Village was laid out in 1900. Lumber man Olaves Jakobson Kjendalen from Scandinavia, built the first house in the settlement, and G. Karschney operated the first mill. Timon Thompson operated the first grocery store, and Elmer Benson from Iola the first hardware store. Later come Olaves Halvorson from Alban & w Anne Kristenson, Walter Torgerson and wife and several others. Kristian Svendson was the first blacksmith, and C. P. Day the first mail carrier and post master.
Addenda:The railroad was built south from the Ingersoll branch about 1902, and a bank was opened about 1912 (more or less) with Harry Hermanson from Scandinavia as cashier. It is believed that A. J. Plowman came about 19__.
It was organized in 1901. First officers: --
Chairman - Adolf J. Torgerson
Supervisors - Ola Leklem & Frank Cottrell
Clerk - Ed Day
Treasurer - Dan Danielson
Assessor - W. B. Thorpe
The settlement of "Holt" was named by Adolf J. Torgerson, which lies west of Galloway in Section 19. He built the first house on the NW1/4 of this Section. With the help of Olaves J. Kjendalen, they built a saw mill on the creek south of the house.
AJT got a post office established in his store and was appointed post master. When the railroad came to Galloway, a spur went to Holt up along Holt Creek and was used 10-12 years.
Galloway was first called "Spencer's Camp". The pine was floated to Manawa and Oshkosh through a series of dams. When the railroad came, Moore & Galloway & Hatton Lumber. Co. did extensive logging and loading on "spurs". Lester Peterson sold the remaining land owned by Moore & Galloway for them.
Adolf Torgerson platted an area in 1904 in Sec. 22 while carving out a farm north of the lake. John Western from Stevens Point & w Andrea Nottolsson from Scandinavia was the first store keeper and post master. Other early residents were Anders Torgerson, the Pugmires, and Amy Seely a camp cook & w Hanna Haraldson from Alban, Peter Nerdal & w Karine Guthu of Alban.
Also Dan Danielson, Ole Leklem, Ed Day, W. B. Thorp, and Alfred Brekke of Alban & w Emma Loberg of New Hope.
Jean Nicolet, the Frenchman landed in Green Bay in 1634. Indians guided his party up the Fox River and down the Wisconsin to show him the huge Mississippi. Helgeson thinks they started a settlement at Berlin about 1655 to buy fur, and another pelting station at Tomahawk Lake.
In 1661 the French Jesuit Pierre Menard, explored the Mississippi, the Chippewa, Black, and Wisconsin. In 1680 the Jesuit Missionary Hennepin and Du Luth traveled the Mississippi, Wisconsin, & Fox to Green Bay and on to Makinac Island. It is believed these early explorers also went UP the Wisconsin to Mosinee, Wausau, Merrill, and Tomahawk Lake.
In 1829 the white man came up the Wisconsin Valley, but the Indians would not permit them to stay as they wanted to have it for their hunting grounds.
The first that the war department permitted was Daniel Whitney of Green Bay, who had made a deal with the Indians for a strip of land on both sides of the Wisconsin River from Grand Rapids to Big Bull Falls. The strip was surveyed by Gen. J. Hathway in the early thirties.
Grignon & Merrill built a saw mill at "Grignon Rapids". Bloomer, Strong, & George Cline took Grand Rapids; Harper & McGeer built on Plover River (Jordan) in 1837; John L. More at Little Bull Falls in '39; & George Stevens at Big Bull Falls the same year. In the spring of 1841, the first lumber was floated out of Wausau to points along the Mississippi River. Rafting continued until railroads came in the 1870's.
The first settlement was made by Farnworth & More who built a saw mill on Shawano Lake in 18__. Charles D. Wescott & w Jane Driesbe, came the same year. Mrs. Wescott carried the first Bible into Shawano County.
Western Shawano was not opened much before the C & NW extended their railroad from Oshkosh to Antigo. A few settlers were in Wittenberg when Evan J. Homme & w Ingeborg Swenholt from Scandinavia laid out a settlement. Helgeson states he arrived in 1880, and built the first house in 1881. In 1881 he opened a "Children's Home" with four orphans. In 1883 he built a school, and in 1884 he started a mission for Indians [line appears to be missing from original text] and 3-1/2 miles west of Ingersoll. In 1885 he started a large mission boarding school with Pastor Tobias Larson in charge, and Axel Jakobson as teacher. After a few years it was taken over by the government, and moved the "mission" to Ingersoll.
In 1885 Pastor Homme began publishing a periodical entitled, "For Young & Old", which financed his operations. In 1895-6 he built a large Children's Home a mile north of the village (capacity 90) and used the original in town for old people. Then he built a dam and a saw mill on the Embarass River, which he operated for some time. He died at an early age on June 22, 1903.
Jonas J. Swendholt from Scandinavia & w Anne Lysne from Amherst was the first store keeper and post master. The first blacksmith was T. Dahl; the first shoemaker was Johan Huser and wife; first hardware, Rud. Puchner; first innkeeper, George Brunner; first mill, R. B. Glaubitz; first carpenter Hans Anderson Valstad & w Sofie Houen, and the first hotel man, Herman Meisner & w Augusta Hitzke.
Others were: -- Axel Jacobson & w Amelia; Karl Jakobson & w Ella; Syvert Hakleberg and wife from Lardal; Hans Westgor & w Julia; Ole (Vestgaard) Westgor and wife; Osmund Olson and wife; I. J. Rice & w Hannah Halvorson of Alban; Wilhelm Heins and family; Will Carnahan and wife; Herman Meisner and wife; Henrik Bloecher and family and many others.
Others were Erick Anderson & w Laura; Edw. Nilson from Kongsberg and wife; John S. Klovdal and wife; Tom Vertgaard (Westgor); Nils Anderson; Helge Ovrun and wife; brothers Andreas, Jakob, John, and Anton Gunderson and families; Andreas & John Grimstad and families; Ola Lysne from Lardal and wife; Thomas Lysne from Lardal and wife; Olaves Jakobson and wife from Scandinavia; Strom Torgerson & w Maria Mork from Scandinavia; Ola Johnson and family; CHARLEY PETERSON & Nannie ROSHOLT FROM ALBAN, parents of Lester Peterson; Ola N. Hagen & son Ole B. Hagen; Ledvig Slotten and family; Ole Nelson and family; Ole R. Wilson and family; A. Heistad; and Ludvig Falstad and family.
Also Joseph Borin and family; Ola Carlson; Hans Madson; Gullick Madson; Martin Anderson; Hans Helgeson from New Hope; -- their families and many others.
Of the Germans were Frank Welder; Aug. Hanke; John Nueske; Weiland and families.
Pete C. Schlytter (insurance) and Peter Olson also came quite early. The Wittenberg Academy was built in 1887 and discontinued in 1913. Milton Rosholt was the first graduate in 1902.
And so this fine record of the "pioneers" comes to an end. the translator of this book has learned a great deal from it to add to his own knowledge about the old timers who came to the "INDIAN LAND" of Waupaca and Portage Counties, plus some of the Wittenberg area. Two trips to Europe and Scandinavia have also added to his knowledge of the "BEBYGGELSEN" beginning in the Indian Land.